We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nicest stop in Tok”
Review of Caribou Cabins

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Caribou Cabins
Ranked #1 of 7 Tok B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Spotlessly clean cabins in the woods includes a light continental breakfast. Very modern. Probably not the lowest cost place, but the owners give top notch service, the beds are very comfortable, and bathrooms are large. Just south of the AK highway, about one mile.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JLDCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (125)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 125 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2013

Great cabin, off the highway in Tok. Superb business model, queen bed, jacuzzi tub, loft with bed for kids if needed. They say Continental breakfast, but that is a major understatement....great coffee, many different creamers, fresh fruit, variety of cereal including special granola, yogurt, OJ, other juices as well. All varieties of breads, bagels, English muffins for toasting. Indoor / outdoor seating. Wood burning stove for cold mornings. Even frozen items for microwave if you have want sausage, eggs, biscuits. Very quiet, 1-2 miles from AK hwy. on Tok bypass toward Anchorage.
5 min. from only decent restaurant in Tok, Fast Eddy's, which was very good as well.
Highly recommend.

Room Tip: 4 cabins, jacuzzi if desired. Don't think all had them. We did, very nice, plenty of hot water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ross W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013 via mobile

My husband, myself, dog and cat stayed here on our journey out of Alaska on the Alcan. These cabins are ABORABLE! I would stay at a place like this over a hotel any day. The bathrooms were clean, there was a hair dryer, shampoo, ect there. Plenty of towels and more beds than we actually needed. There was a cute little porch where my husband and I sat in the evening and the wifi was fast and effective.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marisa O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

After a long afternoon drive from Anchorage we were ready for a quiet, nice place. The cabin was clean and well maintained and roomy. The bed was the best we had during our 27 day trip to Alaska and back home -- it had a 3" memory foam topper on the nearly new mattress. Breakfast was self-serve and great with the usual muffins, cereal, fruit... plus breakast "sandwiches" like hot-pockets, egg-sausage biscuit...

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ralph P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013

The cabins are beautifully fitted out with everything you could want and were very comfortable. Tok has little if anything to offer so we were really pleased to find this place. Breakfast is all left out in the main building for you to help yourself to and was adequate. It's a lovely quiet location in the woods on the edge of town.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrsPF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013

After a very long drive from Haines, we arrived late, tired and cranky and needed a clean room with a hot shower and comfortable bed. We were very pleasantly surprised. Our cabin was everything we needed it was very clean and stocked with everything we needed. The bathroom was spacious, clean and had plenty of hot water. The upstairs loft had 3 twin beds which my boys said they slept well in. DH and I slept like babies in the full bed downstairs-the bed and linens were great. There was coffee, microwave, and mini fridge in cabin. The breakfast was self-serve all morning and included just about anything you would want , except fruit. We appreciated the military discount and put this on our list of places to stay when we're up this way again. We've stayed at other motels in tok before, and thought that this place was a steal considering what you get for the money.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank greertl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2013

We stayed here after a long drive up from Haines. After our previous night's stay, this place was a very pleasant surprise. We were the only ones staying here, since it was November, but I get the feeling they are usually booked up in the summer, as they should be. The cabins are beautiful, with plenty of room inside. The Denali cabin we stayed in had a bed on the first floor, and another bed up in the loft. Although it was cold that night (-29 F), the inside of the cabin remained warm and comfortable. They also have outlets outside the cabin so that you can plug in your block heater, which you'll want to do if it's going to be that cold. An added plus is that they are a pet-friendly establishment. Breakfast is served in the morning in a room attached to the house. It's nothing fancy, just a standard continental breakfast, but it was very good. Our only complaint was the hot water, or lack thereof. We both attempted to take showers, but after around 15 seconds of hot water, it turned ice-cold. This was probably because it was so cold outside, and I'm sure it would work fine in the summer. Overall, it was a great night's stay, and we would definitely do it again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Falcon164016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Caribou Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caribou Cabins

Address: 5 Borealis Avenue, Tok, AK 99780
Region: United States > Alaska > Tok
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Tok
Price Range: £87 - £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Caribou Cabins 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the best lodging Alaska has to offer by staying in your own private log cabin. Located on a quiet, wooded setting just over a mile from Tok, All of our cabins inclue private bath/shower, front porch/deck, Wi-Fi, satellite TV, refrigerator, microwave, and coffee maker. Continental breakfast is also included. Pets and large families are welcome. Our Denali Cabins with Jacuzzi tub and are open year round! Located on Borealis Ave, Tok (half a mile from Tok Cut Off/Glenn Highway). ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Caribou Cabins Tok, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing