We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Remote & Rustic”
Review of Caribou Cabins

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tok
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Caribou Cabins
Ranked #1 of 7 Tok B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
United States
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Remote & Rustic”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

You like remote places, but you dont want to drive for hours to get to the main highway and to a restaurant? This is definitely the place you want to go. Okay, you are perhabs not alone, but there is only a small bunch of cabins in the woods.
You like it rustic but want all the comfort a cabin can possibly offer? This is definitely a good choice. You dont expect such a high comfort and such a nice and beautiful equipped cabin in a place like Tok.
The host is there when you need him. But only then. Just perfect.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GeraldUtahUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    23
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
40
49
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

Good night sleep in a cute little cabin! Bed was comfy and the black out blinds were an added bonus! We didn't do the breakfast as the selection was a little weak, but I am a ham and eggs kind of breakfast eater. Options included toast, store bought pastries, and frozen egg sandwiches. However, the coffee was awesome! Best cup-o-joe in Tok!

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashley_O83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eagle River, Alaska
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

This is the best place to stay in TOK. The cabins are clean, comfy, and well built. Everything you would need is in the cabin and they even have nice little decks to relax on before heading to bed. It's off the main highway back in the trees. It's nice, quite and close to the one major restaurant in town. If you are looking for a nice place to stay before making the final drive to anchorage, this is the place you should pick.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Ptarmigan Cabin. It was smaller with no upstairs area like the other units, but it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2Pankakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

A lovely log cabin with fridge, microwave, coffeemaker, jacuzzi, shower and private deck. Breakfast is available in the main house, where you get your keys when checking in. Very friendly hosts! On the property, between trees, are several cabins. We had the Denali-type cabin which was big for the 2 of us.Parking for the car right next to the cabins, quiet location, but just a few miles from Tok center/restaurants.A great place to stay!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pascalle965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013

Private cabin, nicely decorated and very warm and cozy. Fully furnished with all the comforts of home. Very friendly host and hostess and many choices for breakfast offered. We will definitely be repeat customers if our travels take us that way again!!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lindatravelgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverly, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

After 12 days on the road we finally reached Alaska and the Caribou Cabins were the perfect welcome. It was a pleasure to stay in the sturdy, spacious, clean and comfortable cabin and the Beeman's are wonderful hosts. All of the 5 star reviews here are merited and if Tok is a stopping point on your journey then by all means stay here!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank James A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Too bad TOK isn’t a premier destination by any means, as this is a comfortable, quiet and nice featured lodge. Decent room space (for a solo traveler or a couple), clean, comfortable bed, in room microwave and refrigerator and a nice 42” LCD TV reversible to watch from the bed or inside the jacuzzi featuring one of the best cable selections of all the hotels I’ve stayed in during my 2 weeks trip to Alaska. Now, the reality check; this is in the middle of nowhere (there’s a small deli/liquor store half mile down the road and that’s it). Every cabin has its own porch and it’s a good place to sit back and relax but that’s it. The fare includes breakfast but I can’t comment because I didn’t try. I do recommend in case you’re passing by TOK or want to clear your head in a remote yet comfortable place for a few days.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FredBueno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tok
2.4 mi away
A Mooseberry Inn B&B
1.7 mi away
Tok RV Village
Tok RV Village
#4 of 8 in Tok
57 reviews
0.0 mi away
Alaska Copper River B&B
Alaska Copper River B&B
#1 of 5 in Glennallen
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Sourdough Campground
Show Prices

Been to Caribou Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caribou Cabins

Property: Caribou Cabins
Address: 5 Borealis Avenue, Tok, AK 99780
Region: United States > Alaska > Tok
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Tok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the best lodging Alaska has to offer by staying in your own private log cabin. Located on a quiet, wooded setting just over a mile from Tok, All of our cabins inclue private bath/shower, front porch/deck, Wi-Fi, satellite TV, refrigerator, microwave, and coffee maker. Continental breakfast is also included. Pets and large families are welcome. Our Denali Cabins with Jacuzzi tub and are open year round! Located on Borealis Ave, Tok (half a mile from Tok Cut Off/Glenn Highway). ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Caribou Cabins Tok, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing