We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WONDERFUL, WONDERFUL STAY!!!”
Review of McKinley View B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Trapper Creek
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
McKinley View B&B
Marshfield, Missouri
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“WONDERFUL, WONDERFUL STAY!!!”
Reviewed 8 June 2013

Our stay at McKinley View B&B was wonderful! Renee was very friendly and put us right at ease (we hadn't stayed at a B&B before.) She told us places we might go to view wildlife and good places to eat in the surrounding area. We stayed in the Moose room. The bed was the most comfortable we had ever been on, including our own. Breakfast was delicious, with plenty of food. Renee fixed a different meal each day. We enjoyed her company and that she shared stories about their experiences and ones told to her by friends. The view was fantastic! We are part of that lucky percentage that got to see Mt. McKinley. We were able to see it three days in a row from the deck at our back door. Wonderful, wonderful stay!

Room Tip: The Moose room is a good choice. It is at the back of the B&B which faces Mt. McKinley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pamela K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
30
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2013

We only stayed here for one night but would have stayed more after knowing how nice it was. The breakfast in the morning was delicious. The view from the back porch on our room gave the best view of McKinley we had on the trip. Only 1 out 3 nights will have that view though. The house itself sat on land that had wildlife. My girlfriend saw a fox, and the other couple there saw a moose.

Room Tip: There are only two rooms I believe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago IL
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2012

Renee met us at the door - she is warm and friendly. Felt like we were staying with friends. Gave us a tour of the B&B - once settled she was helpful in finding a place to grab a quick meal. We brought back Subway and sat in the common room - it was the first time in our trip where we sat & relaxed, and ate our meal not in a restaurant - felt like home.
We stayed in the Moose room - the most comfy bed yet, decorated simply, yet tastefully with a moose theme, awesome shower, great TV, free wifi. Our breakfast was delicious - quite a spread of eggs, ham, bacon, hash browns, toast with a variety of home made jams AND great conversation. Renee shared some great stories about living in AK, esp the wildlife, transportation in the winter time, fishing, hunting, berry picking - we were sad to leave.

Room Tip: We were very happy with Moose room, has own private entrance in back with a deck and seating to sit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank riccar79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Commodore, Pa.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 August 2012

I agree exactly with the other comments. Gracious and friendly hosts, great breakfast, great setting. Just a wonderful place to stay. My wife and I stayed there in the bear room July 7th & 8th 2012, the weather was not good for 2 days. But on the morning we were leaving to go down south to the Kenai the weather changed overnight and the morning dawned bright and clear. The view of the Mountain was spectacular and we became members of the 30% club.

Angela's Heaven is a place "NOT TO BE MISSED" just up the road a couple of miles on the right (115mm). From the road it doesn't look like much, but don't let that fool you. One inside, it's clean, warm and friendly, great, great food! Angela was very busy when we were there but she took the time to explain everything to us. Just a wonderful lady.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level 4 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2012

We stayed here for one night on our way from Denali to Seward and wished we could have stayed longer. We had a room facing Denali and the lovely view at the back of the house. Our room led directly on to a deck where we just sat and watched the birds and wildlife - and would have liked time to take a walk. The room was spotlessly clean and breakfast was ample and good. The only snag was that we hit the one night when the local pizza restaurant was closed - so we opted to take the drive to Talkeetna.

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank 77alex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buena Vista
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2012

This B&B is just off the highway, but gives a real remote feel in location. A great way to break up the trip from the Anchorage area or MatSu Valley to Fairbanks, the McKinley View B&B exceeded all expectations with a very comfortable room, modern bath,great TV selection variety, free WiFi, kitchen/common room with TV (restaurant choices in Trapper Creek are slim to none in off season), delicious, hearty breakfast, and friendly hosts who are happy to visit and share local knowledge. Seems like thay have thought of everything you might want or need!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank retiredprofsuzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulsa OK
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2012

Located about a mile south of Trapper Creek AK right off the Parks Highway, this little treasure should be considered by anyone who wants a great value in a B&B heading anywhere north of Anchorage. Renee, the host, is extremely gracious, and communicates very well in advance of your stay. The B&B is just as described. There are 4 rooms, two with an incredible view of Denali. The day I went, it was clear, and have attached a picture which does not do it justice! The rooms were clean, comfortable and fitting, esp considering the cost per night in winter is only $75. This includes a full breakfast of all you can eat eggs, bacon, toast, juice and coffee. That alone would run you $15 at most restaurants in AK. The breakfast was excellent. The two rooms in the back open up to a deck with chairs that allow you sit and enjoy the awesome view. Since it was -10F when I was visiting, I didn't spend too much time out back, but the view is truly amazing. I used this B&B as a staging site for viewing the Northern Lights, with its great exposure to the north. Unfortunately, mother nature did not cooperate the night I stayed, but I would come back here in a heartbeat. If I wanted to be super picky, the only possible complaint I might have were the somewhat thin walls allowing you to hear the people next door to you, but the positives of this B&B WAY outweigh the single negative I could find. I would 100% recommend this place. It is about 2 hours north of ANC, and two hours south of the entrance to Denali.

Room Tip: The two rooms on the north side of the house have the view....ask for them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gsx1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trapper Creek
4.8 mi away
Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge
Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge
#2 of 5 in Talkeetna
1,003 reviews
4.7 mi away
Swiss-Alaska Inn Talkeetna
5.2 mi away
Talkeetna Chalet
Talkeetna Chalet
#3 of 17 in Talkeetna
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Meandering Moose Lodging
Meandering Moose Lodging
#5 of 17 in Talkeetna
178 reviews
6.1 mi away
Denali Overlook Inn
Denali Overlook Inn
#1 of 17 in Talkeetna
269 reviews
4.5 mi away
Susitna River Lodging
Susitna River Lodging
#1 of 19 in Talkeetna
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to McKinley View B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about McKinley View B&B

Property: McKinley View B&B
Address: 24606 S Parks Hwy, Mile 113. 6 Parks Hwy, Trapper Creek, AK 99683
Region: United States > Alaska > Trapper Creek
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Trapper Creek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming B&B on the Parks Highway in Trapper Creek, Alaska. We are just two hours north of Anchorage. All rooms feature private baths, private entrances, satellite TV, WI-FI and a guest computer in the common area. A great place to start your drive north to Denali National Park we are two hours from the park or plan a hiking adventure at beautiful Denali State Park. We do apologize but this facility is not set up to accommodate children 7 years of age or younger. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
McKinley View B&B Alaska/Trapper Creek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing