We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stop overnight for Denali trip”
Review of McKinley View B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Trapper Creek
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
McKinley View B&B
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good place to stop overnight for Denali trip”
Reviewed 19 October 2013

If you like to break up the journey, or are arriving late afternoon into Anchorage like we did, this is a great place to sleep overnight and beats any roadside motel for cleanliness and comfort. It was also very good value, with the nice hot buffet style breakfast.
Our beds were very comfortable, and the free wifi internet worked well.

The weather was kind to us, we saw the mountain in all its glory, and I was amazed at how huge the mountain appears from that distance away. The next morning we only had to drive about 120 miles or 2 hrs to reach the Denali Park gates.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brizzyguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
29
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
JedC
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Wonderful place to stay halfway been Anchorage and Denali. The room was homey, the breakfast outstanding. Renee could not have been nicer. I was only there one night and it was drizzly, so I didn't see McKinley, but that certainly wasn't the fault of the hosts. The driveway is right off Parks Highway, so it is easy to find, but the building is set back from the road just enough and shielded from the road by trees, so it is very peaceful. When you're travelling to a place for the first time, you often have to make planning decisions without knowing how they are going to turn out. This was my first trip to Alaska, and the decision to drive leisurely north, stopping to see things on the way (Eklutna for one) and staying here, rather than pushing to get to Denali turned out to be an excellent one.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JedC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Very friendly reception by the owner. She led us to our room ( the bear room). It's very comfortable. The view is stunning and the breakfast was more than great. The fireweed Jelly/Jam was a first for us!

Room Tip: Get the room looking out over their backyard!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LaurensRotterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawley, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
71 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

This is the second time that we stayed here. What can I say I love this place. The hostess Renee is just wonderful. The rooms are sparkling clean, and the view from our room which was the Moose room was fantastic. We could see Mt McKinley from the window. The breakfast was abundant and good. I would recommend this B&B to anyone. You will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Stay in the rooms that face the mountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marcosheller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central NJ, USA
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

We slept here one night, on our way from Denali (where we had spent 6 nights and it drizzled the whole time) to Homer. We were tired and dirty.
We were warmly welcomed by our host, and shown to our room. We had a beautiful view of the mountain (which we never saw while we were in the park), a lovely porch, a wonderful shower, and a very comfortable bed. The lower floor has a kitchen for guests to prepare their own meals, and a small computer station, as well as the larger area where breakfast is served. Breakfast was excellent.
We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank weezie711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Lyon, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed 29 June 2013

We loved the McKinley view B&B. It was the best place we stayed during our trip to Alaska, and we stayed 7 places. The room was very comfortable and spotless. Renee was very friendly and shared information about the area with us. Great breakfast, Renee inquired twice about food allergies, which was nice to see. The B&B is convenient to Talkeetna and half way between Anchorage and Denali. Perfect mid way stop. Lodging in Alaska is expensive by midwest standards but this place was reasonably priced and better than other more expensive places we stayed. HINT: If you are rolling into the area around dinner time, eat in Talkeetna. There is nothing in the area of the B&B.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nlwlfp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2013

Great spot for views of Mt McKinley from afar. Very nice rooms. Great breakfast. Very friendly and helpful hosts. Adequate parking. Main floor has the breakfast area and a kitchen area for the guests. A tall mini fridge, microwave, sink available for use. She also has paper plates, etc stocked.

Room Tip: Book a north facing room to get early morning clear views of the mountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trapper Creek
4.8 mi away
Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge
Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge
#2 of 5 in Talkeetna
955 reviews
4.6 mi away
Denali Fireside Cabins & Suites
4.7 mi away
Swiss-Alaska Inn Talkeetna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Talkeetna Chalet
Talkeetna Chalet
#3 of 17 in Talkeetna
260 reviews
10.4 mi away
Talkeetna Denali View Lodge & Cabins
4.5 mi away
Susitna River Lodging
Susitna River Lodging
#1 of 19 in Talkeetna
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to McKinley View B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about McKinley View B&B

Property: McKinley View B&B
Address: 24606 S Parks Hwy, Mile 113. 6 Parks Hwy, Trapper Creek, AK 99683
Region: United States > Alaska > Trapper Creek
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Trapper Creek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming B&B on the Parks Highway in Trapper Creek, Alaska. We are just two hours north of Anchorage. All rooms feature private baths, private entrances, satellite TV, WI-FI and a guest computer in the common area. A great place to start your drive north to Denali National Park we are two hours from the park or plan a hiking adventure at beautiful Denali State Park. We do apologize but this facility is not set up to accommodate children 7 years of age or younger. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
McKinley View B&B Alaska/Trapper Creek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing