We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place to stay!”
Review of Gate Creek Cabins

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Trapper Creek
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gate Creek Cabins
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 August 2012

The Gate Creek Cabins are well worth the drive in. If you are looking for a place to relax and be away from the crowds, this is it! There are 8 cabins and all are wonderfully furnished and very clean. We stayed in the Trapline which looks over one of the ponds. There were loons calling and a bull moose visited every day. There is another pond you can walk to and canoes are provided. Small trout were jumping all over while we paddled around. You can fish there - it is a stocked pond. There are BBQ's provided; no food is available, so bring your own or drive out the 10 miles to some restaurants. All linens and cookware are provided. The Petersville road continues on 33 miles beyond the cabins and is very well worth the drive! Be ready for some bumpy parts though! I recommend a sturdy vehicle, and be sure to gas up before you head out. The road eventually crosses a small stream ,and there are the Cache Creek Cabins at the end - very rustic. Food is available there. Keep your eyes open along the way for moose, bear, and ground squirrels on the road!

Room Tip: Any cabin is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fdoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (67)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 67 reviews

Reviewed 13 February 2012

We just returned home to Wisconsin after a week in AK we rode 4 days using Gate Creek rental sled (2012 Ski Doo Summits). To say we had a wonderful time would a huge understatement. Craig and Susie were more than accommodating. We got wonderful directions as to where to find the best snow,being it was our first time in the area they were awesome. The cabins were very nice and spacious. I cant say one bad word about our entire trip. They even gave us tips on where to go for good food. (Excellent). I would highly recommend Gate Creek Cabins.

Nate S.
Wisconsin

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nate3aa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2011

After travelling around Nth America from Australia for a month we took the recommendation from some other Australians and stayed at these beautiful Alaskan holiday cabins. Suzie & Craig as hosts were interested & really helpful , but above all considerate of the travellers needs. The cabin we stayed in was perfect. It was relaxing whilst maintaining "log cabin overlooking a lake" (which is what it was) feel. We saw moose and enjoyed the morning serenade of native birds as they scurried around the garden having their breakfast of insects. (Needless to say the insect population was held in check by the birds so we didn’t need spray, “brilliant"). If you are an Aussie and want to taste real Alaska don’t miss this must visit destination. We will be back in Winter in the future to enjoy the Snow Machines. They sound like a lot of fun and we cant enjoy them in Australia so it sounds like its back to this awsome destination when the snow falls.

Room Tip: If you are a gardener, Craig has done a beautiful job of creating a gardeners delight & leave ti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank charlesBundanoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2011

Had a wonderful time at Gate Creek Cabins. The facilities were great, the hosts helpful and friendly. We stayed for 6 nights. We did an ATV trip into the mountains, went on a jet boat trip on the river, and up thru Hatcher Pass. Wish we had more time, way more to do and see. Would highly recommend staying at Gate Creek Cabins. Craig & Susie you guys are the best!

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Renjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2011

Site was peaceful; a great Alaska experience. Was there for a friend's wedding on the neighborhood. Would definitely return!

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Matsuvalley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2011

We stayed at the lovely Denali Cabin with a complete kitchen and view of a lake and the mountain (behind the clouds). We were fortunate to see the mountain the past two days, so that was ok! We enjoyed cooking in the kitchen. Had a nice deck -- peaceful too.

What was most unbelievable was the beautiful landscape and flowers. Craig, who has to be a master gardener, gave us a private tour of the flower gardens and prestine yard. Susie and Craig are delightful hosts. We would highly recommend!

Would be a great place in the winter too, but we enjoyed 24 hours of sunshine!!!!!

Room Tip: Call early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OhMarriedForever_55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2011

My fiance and I spent 2 nights at Gate Creek Cabins last June, and I cannot possibly say enough great things about the location, property and especially the owners! Intially we were a little skeptical, because to get there you have to drive for what feels like a year down a dirt road, but once we arrived it was totally worth the trek! We stayed in the Beavers Hideaway and we surprised to find how large, clean, and well appointed it is! They even have the daylight blocking shades in the bedroom which made for a great nights sleep. There is also a great (and very private) deck on the back with a path down to the lake where there are canoes and paddle boats for use. Craig and Susie were the perfect hosts, even going so far as to draw us a map to some local hiking spots we never would have known about without their help. My only regret is that we only stayed for two days. I have been going to Alaska every other year since childhood, while this was my fiance's first trip, and we both found Gate Creek to be beyond expectations. Highly Recommended!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank nadiashirin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Gate Creek Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gate Creek Cabins

Address: 21800 South Towns Place Road, turn right at Mile 10.5 Petersville Rd, P.O. Box 13390, Trapper Creek, AK 99683
Region: United States > Alaska > Trapper Creek
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Trapper Creek
Price Range: £90 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Delivering the "Alaska Experience" with all the comforts of home. Open all year, with road access 10.5 Scenic miles off Parks Hwy 3. Large furnished 1-4 bedroom cabins, full kitchens and baths. Decks have charcoal grills. View of MT. Denali. Beautiful gardens, fishing in stocked trout lakes, wildlife viewing with gold panning in the area. Snowmobile rental and trail rides in winter. Access to 100s of miles of groomed snowmobile trails. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gate Creek Cabins Hotel Trapper Creek
Gate Creek Cabins Alaska/Trapper Creek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing