We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is what I imagined Alaska to be.”
Review of Gate Creek Cabins

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Trapper Creek
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gate Creek Cabins
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 December 2010

My wife and I had never been to Alaska. We were hoping to see Russia but we did not see it. But of all the places we stayed in Alaska. Gate Creek Cabins was absolutely-hands down-the best. It is secluded. On a beautiful lake. Our cabin was clean as it could be and very comfortable. The owners were very acomodating. You could not find a better place to stay in Alaska. Alex & Maria Hall; Wilmington, NC

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank attyalex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (69)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 69 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2010

We were in Alaska for 24 days. Gate Creek Cabins was our favorite!! The 1 mile of gravel road was in good condition by Alaska standards. Easy to find. It was remote; and beautiful, and comfortable and immaculate. Craig and Suzie and Coozie make you feel at home and do everything to make you very happy!! Wonderful hosts. The cabins are beautiful!!! Their lake is beautiful. We rented atvs in Wasilla and spent 2 days riding in the mountains- 260 miles. Craig drew us a map- the trails were amazing. The view was awesome!! This place was our favorite of the places we stayed during our 24 day adventure. WE loved it!! They had a huge bonfire while we were there. Craig taught my kids how to play crochet. They loaned us dvd's allowed me to scan some docs I needed to send back to the office. Just absolutley the best you could ask for!! We want to come back in the winter and snowmachine!!! My boys loved the kids loft!! Our queen bed was super comfy!! The futon in the living room that the teenager slept on was comfy and clean!!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sookeylynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2010

We just returned from 3 weeks traveling in the most beautiful country on the planet. After many years of wanting to get to Alaska, we finally made it a priority on our 40th anniversary. We started our vacation at Gate Creek Cabins with our hosts Craig, Susie and Coozie. We could not have possibly been more pleased with the cabin, the area, the wildlife or the convenience of location. The grounds were beautifully kept with flowers everywhere and a large and well manicured lawn in the middle of a remote pristine forrest. The cabin was spotless and comfortable, quiet and located on a beautiful lake. We were able to witness a couple of newborn moose just yards away from the front deck as the mother led them to the lake for the first time. The views of Mount McKinley were breath taking. Craig and Susie were most helpful in directing our travel in the area and beyond as well as keeping up to date on road conditions and forrest fire status in the eastern part of the state which was the next stop on our trip. We will be back to stay at this lovely hideaway and will be recommending it to all our family and friends.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank The_MN_Clarks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2010

Craig and Susie extended the warmest welcome and continued to offer their expertise and experience throughout the stay. We are locals from Wasilla and pulled our own sleds up to enjoy the scenery from a warm cabin! We were given easy directions and precautions to use on the trail. When one of our sleds broke down, my wife was offered a sled to borrow from their Skidoo collection! We enjoyed the remaining day, without having to "double up"! How nice is that!?

We will be contacting them again this summer to plan a four wheeler adventure up to some picture taking territory. Thanks again for a wonderful stay!!

Gary and Kathy Moore

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Retiredwasilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2009

Our family chose Gate Creek Cabins in Trapper Creek to host my August wedding. Over 30 family and friends stayed the weekend at Gate Creek and enjoyed Susie and Craig’s warm hospitality and cozy picturesque cabins. My experience could not have been better. The ceremony took place on one of the lawns surrounded by beautiful flowers and ferns. The day was picture perfect. Susie and Craig were an absolute joy to work with and went out of their way to accommodate and anticipate our every need. I would highly recommend a stay at the cabins whether for just the weekend or for a family function.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlaskanGrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2009

The grounds of this campus are beautiful. You could not ask for more friendly or accommodating owners. Our extended family attended a wedding here and stayed for 2 nights. There were about 30 of us. The owners were meticulous in their preparation for the wedding. It was a beautiful place for a wedding. There was a lake nearby with a canoe and a volleyball net.

The cabins were pretty but the bathrooms weren't the cleanest. The hot water was sporadic and frustrating. There are no microwaves in the cabins which made reheating food difficult. The cabins are pretty secluded which is great if that is what you are looking for. There are not really restaurants or grocery stores very close. Cell phones don't work very well and there is no onsite internet access.

Overall, this is a good place to stay. We've been told it is more crowded in the winter for the nearby snowmobiling activities.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jandbwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2009

My wife, Jill and I are from Eagle River and this is the second time we have stayed with Craig and Susie. The first time we stayed, we had been 4-wheeling; it was pouring down rain and we did'nt want to have to set up a wet camp. We pulled in to Gate Creek Cabins and found Craig, who set us up in a really nice new cabin for the night. We stayed with them again because of the accomidations and the friendly owners. Craig and Susie also have cabins available so you can bring your pet, we brought our beagle, Charlie.
It was 80 above when we arrived and after talking to Craig and being shown to our great cabin, we decided to take him up on his offer to use one of their paddle boats at his pond and try some trout fishing. It was quiet and relaxing, just what we wanted.
That evening I talked to Craig about some of the wheeler trails in the area and he drew me a map of a trail I hadn't been on before, it's called 4 lakes. He told me at the top (about 20 miles from the cabin) we would have a different view of Denali and an overveiw of the Dutch Hills, where gold mining takes place. We reached our destination in about 2 hours and what a view; the mountain was out and we had a view most tourists will never see. We sat there and had a sandwich and a pop before riding back to the cabin (Note to Craig: The wheeler and I are no worse for wear; we both ended up with some scrapes and bruises but nothing serious, thanks for asking).
We stayed in the Loon's Nest cabin. It is a brand new cabin with a bedroom loft, main floor family room and kitchen, and a full basement with a bath and bedroom. The place was spotless when we arrived. It had everything you could want including coffee and charcoal for the grill. They have the most comfortable bed we have ever slept in; it sure was nice after a day of riding (we knew this from our first visit).
We can't say enough about Craig, Susie and Gate Creek Cabins. They operate a very nice, clean compound and they are the nicest people you would want to meet.Jill, Charlie, and I will definitly be going back.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 111Disappointed049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Gate Creek Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gate Creek Cabins

Address: 21800 South Towns Place Road, turn right at Mile 10.5 Petersville Rd, P.O. Box 13390, Trapper Creek, AK 99683
Region: United States > Alaska > Trapper Creek
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Trapper Creek
Price Range: £87 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Delivering the "Alaska Experience" with all the comforts of home. Open all year, with road access 10.5 Scenic miles off Parks Hwy 3. Large furnished 1-4 bedroom cabins, full kitchens and baths. Decks have charcoal grills. View of MT. Denali. Beautiful gardens, fishing in stocked trout lakes, wildlife viewing with gold panning in the area. Snowmobile rental and trail rides in winter. Access to 100s of miles of groomed snowmobile trails. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gate Creek Cabins Hotel Trapper Creek
Gate Creek Cabins Alaska/Trapper Creek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing