We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"absolutely wonderful"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mt. McKinley Princess Wilderness Lodge
Reviewed 21 August 2011

We had the good fortune of traveling to Alaska with Princess cruises and as part of the land tour were put up for one night at the above lodge.
Words cannot describe the beauty of this place; built in the heart of wilderness and outside the power range, this hotel has it's own generator and supply of purified water.
With the Mt Mckinley in the backyard literally, we got the best views possible.
You can take little or long walks down the Denali State Park. The rooms were extremely clean and comfortable.
Would love to stay here again!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Quest522
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,030)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

897 - 903 of 1,030 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2011

This hotel, Like the Princess Denali, is well run, efficient and in a magnificent location. Staff knowledgable, helpful and courtesous.
Be sure to take in the lectures they offer at the hotel and also take advantage of the transportation to the Information Centre which offers sightseeing trips, an excellent museum and movies.

Room Tip: Assigned room ensures you luggage goes where you go upon arrival and departure
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sidewalk1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2011

After emerging from 2 days camping in Denali, we booked this hotel mainly for its location. About 100 miles south of the park entrance, it gave us a good start on our drive to Anchorage the next day. This hotel is for cruise people and people with their own car only. It is in a remote location and you need transportation. There is nothing else around so once you enter you are pretty much stuck. This was fine for us as we only wanted a shower, wifi and a place to sleep. Also we ate a big meal before arriving and had snacks (& wine) so we didn't need to buy a meal at one of the three restaurants on site. The wifi was accessible in the hotel's great room so we spent the evening there drinking wine and planning the Seward/Homer part of our trip with our laptop and their computer and phone. The great room is quite beautiful and has a large picture window to view Denali. Unfortunately it was raining the entire 14 hours we were there so there was no view of the mountain. The rooms are spead out in different buildings in a campus like setting. We had no complaints about the distance because we were in the closest building to the parking lot. The rooms are basic and have seen their fair share of wear and tear. However it was clean, comfortable and affordable for us.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jams33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2011

Had a good coupon for buy one night get one free so we stayed 2 nights Have to comment that they had also just opened a few days before Our arrival .
There is very Limited Parking and hours to get food & drinks.
Room was clean and nice but NO COFFEE POT,& VERY SMALL TV WITH BAD RECEPTION One can assume they probaly want you to buy it @ there exspresso spot for more income and many people dont watch tv when on adventure vacations.
For the prices of the rooms you'd think they do a little more upgrading.
Food was good but nothing spectacular & not many choices allot of the workers are tourist themselves so we knew more about the area then them so to make a long storie short If your an Alaskan this probally isnt the place for you It is a clean place & full of tourist including the workers but does have an awesome view of McKinley from the back deck.

Room Tip: Want coffee when you wake up bring your own pot and something to do in your room while relaxing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lizzypooh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2011

We stayed at the Lodge with my partner, We were given a wonderful room as part of our tour, The restuarants were great for eating & dinning as well, The walks around the wilderness lodge were great and great view as well. If you have time, i would recommend you stay here and enjoy the views.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cboswell35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2011

lodge 21 was our place to stay.peaceful and stunning we overlooked a lawned area dropping down to a lovely wildflowered area.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jbritishtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2011

This is a very clean and reasonable hotel. It has fantastic riding trails, lodge sitting areas and the best view of Mt. McKinley around. It is excellent for families as well. We were able to get the room for 3 for $89 per night. Incredible given the high prices in Alaska. Also, it is only a 2 hour drive from Anchorage. It is only open from May-September as many places in the area are.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MasonsDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trapper Creek
17.8 mi away
Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge
Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge
#2 of 5 in Talkeetna
1,091 reviews
16.6 mi away
Swiss-Alaska Inn Talkeetna
17.4 mi away
Grace and Bill's Freedom Hills B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.9 mi away
Denali Overlook Inn
Denali Overlook Inn
#1 of 17 in Talkeetna
279 reviews
17.3 mi away
Susitna River Lodging
Susitna River Lodging
#1 of 18 in Talkeetna
297 reviews
0 mi away
Cabins at Denali
Cabins at Denali
#4 of 6 in McKinley Village
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mt. McKinley Princess Wilderness Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mt. McKinley Princess Wilderness Lodge

Address: Mile 133 Parks Highway, Denali State Park, Trapper Creek, AK 99683
Region: United States > Alaska > Trapper Creek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Trapper Creek
Price Range: £74 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mt. McKinley Princess Wilderness Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 238
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers so you can book your Mt. McKinley Princess Wilderness Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mt. Mckinley Princess Wilderness Hotel Trapper Creek
Mt. McKinley Princess Wilderness Lodge Alaska/Trapper Creek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing