We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Middle Of Nowhere”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mt. McKinley Princess Wilderness Lodge
Reviewed 16 September 2012

You are in the middle of nowhere when staying here. You can't even see it from the main road...which has nothing on it for miles and miles. Talk about captive audience. The lodge is huge with restaurants, a gift shop, theater, and fireplace. The rooms are standard hotel rooms spread across the campus, 2-story. There's a bus system that roams the grounds taking you to each building. You have to schlepp your bags a ways from the car and there's no elevator to the 2nd floor. Nothing to do here except hike (who's gonna do that) and wait to go to the next hotel. Talkeetna is a crappy little town, so don't bother with the shuttle. No internet in the rooms....UGH!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doug A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,015)
There are newer reviews for Mt. McKinley Princess Wilderness Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

797 - 803 of 1,015 reviews

Reviewed 15 September 2012

Well, your out in the middle of no where and the great land of Alaska is all around, but your like 100 miles from the closest hospital. The property is clean and nice with good food and reasonable prices considering your location. However, the property is dated. I remember my hotel rooms at the Motel 6 being just one step below these. But Hey for one night you can do anything as long as it's clean and tidy. And they are that.

Room Tip: Bring an umbrella or rain gear as you walk everywhere and the weather is unpredictable.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2012

This is actually just a Princess stopover point. My room was 680 steps from the lobby, in the pouring rain. No shuttles in sight. Some rooms closer, many still farther away. Spartan room, plastic cups and tiny towels. Nothing special. Surprising for Princess-their other properties far exceed his one.

Room Tip: Demand a room in lodges 1 thru 10. Unless you are a hiker.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lermndo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2012

Although I am a huge fan of Princess Cruises, I can't say I am a huge fan of their hotels. We were on a whirlwind vacation in Alaska. After having the time of our life on the Diamond Princess Inside Passage Cruise, we took a fun 5 hour train ride to the small town of Talkeetna, AK, from there it was another hour by bus to the Lodge. The Main Lodge is fabulous, huge stone fireplace in the center of the main building, wall of windows framing Mt. McKinley (when it's visible) in the main section of the Lodge, with ample seating inside and out to view the spectacular scenery. The main lodge also houses a great little coffee shop, a gift shop, activities desk, wilderness information desk, two restaurants; The Grizzly Bar and the Mountain View Dinning Room (which is by far the best restaurant at the Lodge). Do not miss the free lectures in the "theater" through out the day. (It's really just a conference room in the basement, but they call it a theater). These lectures are extremely interesting and very informative, we listened to two; one on the history of climbing Mt. McKinley and the other on the 1964 Alaska earthquake.

I'm talking a lot about the Main Lodge because this is where we spent most of our time. Our actual hotel room left little to be desired. Although it was large and very clean, it was just your basic motel room with very stark accommodations. The thing we really didn't like were the walls and ceilings are paper-thin. We heard all the activities the couple above us were doing all evening long. We heard doors slamming all day and night. Also, we were there two nights, and our room was not cleaned until about 4:00 pm the second day, we saw only one person cleaning rooms that day. This is what I don't understand, Princess cruise lines are almost over staffed and the Lodges in Alaska seem to be under staffed. I do realize you are in the middle of the Alaskan wilderness, I just expected better construction of the hotel buildings.

Now, even though I wasn't a fan of the actual hotel room, I must say Princess knows how to run things very smoothly. When we arrived on the bus we were given a packet that had our itinerary, keys and room number. It was kind of like camp, you had to find your building and then your room. It was fun and you didn't have to wait in line at the hotel desk at all, more time to explore the vast wilderness all around.

We then went from here onto Denali Princess Wilderness Lodge, now this hotel could teach the McKinley Lodge a thing or two.

Room Tip: Thin walls, but the views of Mt. McKinley make it worth while.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gbutlerfan2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2012

The setting is really great at this lodge. We had a real bonus as we had a beautiful clear day and Mt McKinley was worth the trip. The lodge was very comfortable. Great restaurant and great service. it is set in a very wilderness area and that makes it even nicer.

Room Tip: Rooms preassigned
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nevada_Travelers_R-B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2012

The best of the three Princess properties we stayed at (Fairbanks Riverside, Denali Wilderness, McKinley Wilderness). Great secluded location without outstanding views of Mt. McKinley. The property is miles away from anything and about a 45-60 minute bus ride to Talkeetna but that's okay. On-site restaurant was good, though we only ate dinner there and had all the rest of our meals while out and about. Mainlodge is surrounded by a dozen or more smaller buildings, each with 10-12 rooms. Property is very spread out given you a sense of quiet and islolation and seclusion. PRetty small rooms with an attempt at "rustic cabin" but they really just came across as small rooms. Not a big deal, though, given the location.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hermosa90254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2012

This review is really about the whole Princess cruise and land tour, but I don't find any such category. We enjoyed everything about our Alaska trip. Princess lines takes very good care of you. At each stop there was a variety of day trips to choose from, or you could explore on your own. The 2Princess lodges we stayed at in Denali National Park were great, offering many choices of activities. The staff were friendly and accommodating, the rooms were very pleasant, several restaurants were available. The view was spectacular, we were fortunate in that Mt. mcKinley was out and visible during most of our stay. The lodge offers a call service to alert you when the mountain is visible, evidently most of the time it is hidden in clouds and fog. If you have never cruised I highly recommend Princess and Alaska, be sure to do the land tour also.

Room Tip: They all seemed good, spread around the property with shuttle service running frequently.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SmitchKansasCityMO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trapper Creek
17.8 mi away
Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge
Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge
#2 of 5 in Talkeetna
1,072 reviews
16.6 mi away
Swiss-Alaska Inn Talkeetna
16.6 mi away
Talkeetna Cabins
Talkeetna Cabins
#3 of 5 in Talkeetna
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.1 mi away
Talkeetna Chalet
Talkeetna Chalet
#3 of 17 in Talkeetna
265 reviews
21.9 mi away
Denali Overlook Inn
Denali Overlook Inn
#1 of 17 in Talkeetna
277 reviews
17.4 mi away
Grace and Bill's Freedom Hills B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mt. McKinley Princess Wilderness Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mt. McKinley Princess Wilderness Lodge

Address: Mile 133 Parks Highway, Denali State Park, Trapper Creek, AK 99683
Region: United States > Alaska > Trapper Creek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Trapper Creek
Price Range: £76 - £76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mt. McKinley Princess Wilderness Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 238
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers so you can book your Mt. McKinley Princess Wilderness Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mt. Mckinley Princess Wilderness Hotel Trapper Creek
Mt. McKinley Princess Wilderness Lodge Alaska/Trapper Creek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing