We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great views”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mt. McKinley Princess Wilderness Lodge
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
67 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed just one night here, and I think it was suitable for that. Our room for 3 guests had a king and bunk bed. The bunk (I thought) was kind of fun given the camp-like feel of the place. Large bathroom. A bit of a hike around the grounds but nothing I couldn't handle. Two outdoor hot tubs with panoramic views of the Alaska range. I took a horseback riding tour as well. Pretty expensive horse ride, but it was a nice venture. The main lodge had ample indoor and outdoor seating all staged around viewing the mountain when she's out which was probably 80% of the time we were there and the view is unreal!

Some comments toward the negative include below average service in the Grizzly Bar (ordered an appetizer that never came), a broken screen panel on the main door to lodge 5 (easy entrance for skeets), and no bar soap provided for the sink in our room--handing washing, anyone?

It the mountain had hid from us I would not have been so understanding, but that was an experience I'll never forget.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Abakinzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

875 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    267
    354
    176
    51
    27
See reviews for
208
464
18
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Somerville, Texas
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

The room was comfortable but there were several details that hampered our stay here. We arrived around noon and were given keys to our room but the maintenance staff were not expecting us until 3:30 and had not unclogged the toilet from the previous visitor, so that was a pretty messy welcome. The hotel manager paid for our lunch which helped take the edge off the problem, until the toilet clogged again at 11:30pm. The staff were quick to arrive and fixed it properly this time. The restaurants have similar menus so there is not a lot of variety in the food, but most of it was well -prepared and prices were okay for the location. We ate breakfast at the most formal restaurant and were very disappointed - our waiter removed an uncleaned water glass from our table before serving us and the next one he picked up was also dirty, and the food was substandard. The restaurant manager took notes on the issue and paid for our breakfast, and was going to meet with his staff about our experience. The property is well-maintained and there are several hiking trails, but it is an hour away from most of the attractions in Talkeetna so if we return to the area we'll probably look for a hotel in town.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
133 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

We stayed here as part of a Princess Cruisetour and it was our first stop. The property is a little spread out and as it was raining, most people chose to take the shuttle that moves around the property. Apparently, there is this huge mountain within viewing distance of the lodge. ;) However, the rain kept us from viewing Denali and we learned that only about 30% of the people who visit Alaska ever get to see her. The main buildings were lovely and our room was a suite with a living and eating area separate from the bedroom. There was a refrigerator and microwave as well as coffee/tea making equipment. We ate at the Mountain View Dining Room and had a fantastic dinner. The lodge was very efficient, as was Princess in general, in handling our luggage and having our excursion vouchers ready for us. Our excursion bus driver already had our names and was ready to whisk us off. The entire Princess experience was run like a well-oiled machine!

Room Tip: If you have any mobility impairment, request a room close to the lodge in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kgoley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surprise, Arizona
Level Contributor
131 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

Just got back from an Alaska cruise with land portion. We stayed at the Mt. McKinley Princess Wilderness Lodge. Staff was friendly and helpful. I have some limitation due to a former broken back so luckily we were placed within a close walk to the main part of the lodge. The lodge was clean and the decor fit right in. Only complaint I have is the only chairs in the room were hard wood with no soft cushions to lean against or to sit on. Makes those of with bad backs a wee bit uncomfortable! It was wonderful that one can put luggage outside and it magically appears at the next destination! :O)

Room Tip: If one has any walking problems request a room close to the main part of the lodge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TrvlHawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

We asked for a handicapped room as my husband has a bad back, knee, and foot and I have back problems also. Instead, we got 1609 which is probably the only building the bus could not take us to so we lugged our own heavy carry ons up the back road. The room was nice but not handicap equipped. We were too tired to argue so we just went to bed. The next day a nice driver by the name of Polly spotted us waiting in the road for a bus (after we walked down the service road). We were battling skeeters and looking frustrated so she came over and stood with us waiting for her son to bring the other bus. Another guest commented that he felt Princess herded us like cattle which was the exact remark I had made to my husband earlier. They are good at organizing and they are told to be nice but it is almost too big of an operation to be personable. We did see a moose and her twins outside our window.

Room Tip: If possible avoid 1600
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rose F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benson, Arizona
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

My husband I stayed here 2 nights as part of our land tour. Our trip here began wonderfully because Denali was visible on our arrival. We went to the viewing deck before we even went to our room so we could be sure we got pictures. The hotel has a great location- 40 miles away from Denali and the view is spectacular. We were lucky to see the mountain that day and the next morning. The hotel will even call you if the mountain is visible but you must go to the front desk to get on the list.

Our room was in a building not too far from the main lodge. It was an easy walk though there is a shuttle. We took it once when it was raining. The room was a bit dark and tired looking. I was disappointed we were given a room with 2 beds rather than a king since there was only 2 of us. It was clean but some of the towels in the bathroom were threadbare in a few locations and one of the loops on the shower curtain was broken. No lotion was provided, only shampoo, conditioned and body was in large dispensers in the shower.

We did have one problem with our room. After we got back from an excursion, neither of our key cards worked. I was able to call the front desk from the building lobby and they delivered new keys to us in about 10 minutes. It was prompt service but looking back, they didn't even ask our name or verify it was our room. So the security wasn't quite there because someone could request keys to a room that wasn't theirs...

We did eat on site. The first night we ate at the bar and grill. It was warm enough to eat outside on the patio and enjoy the mountain view. The quesadilla and burger were yummy. We ate breakfast one morning at the coffee bar and the pastries and drinks were delicious. The other morning, we ate at 20,320. We enjoyed our meal here too- sourdough pancakes and a griddle meal with eggs and potatoes. The breakfast service was slow though. We also ate dinner at 20,320 and we disappointed in our meal. We ordered pizza and salad and the pizza was edible but below average.

The hotel also has fire pits and have fires lit in the evening. It's free to go and enjoy them. Princess does sell food and drinks there. We bought a s'more kit ($3 for a kit that serves 2) and it was a fun experience. We also went to a talk the lodge hosted given by a man who climbed Mt McKinley. It seems this is done two times a day and its free for guests. It was very interesting. The hotel has hot tubs, computers with Internet for use and games to check out. We didn't use these services but they are available.

We did 2 excursions from the hotel- horseback riding and a rafting tour. Both were great excursions. However, I had a question about a tour so I went to the tour desk. The girl there was rude and while she did answer my question, she needs some customer service training. The hotel also offers a bus ride to Talkeetna, which is about an hour away. It costs $10 per person. But, if you have a tour that ends in Talkeetna, I recommend staying longer in town after the tour ends and then you can take the bus back to the lodge for free.

Overall, it was a mixed experience here. It was definitely not the cruise (we were on the island princess) but its Alaska and I expected something 'rustic.' The location is definitely a plus if you get lucky and Denali is visible.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Gabrielle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
california
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

Normal hotel room, but best of the Princess Lodges we stayed at (Copper River, Denali). Lodge is wonderful and Mt. McKinley is visible from many locations around the property. Shuttle available for getting around the property. Large, like Denali Lodge, but doesn't feel so much like Disneyland.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CathyOfCal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trapper Creek
17.8 mi away
Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge
Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge
#2 of 5 in Talkeetna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 851 reviews
16.6 mi away
Swiss-Alaska Inn Talkeetna
16.6 mi away
Talkeetna Cabins
Talkeetna Cabins
#3 of 5 in Talkeetna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.9 mi away
Denali Overlook Inn
Denali Overlook Inn
#1 of 17 in Talkeetna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
16.7 mi away
Talkeetna Roadhouse
Talkeetna Roadhouse
#3 of 17 in Talkeetna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
17.4 mi away
Grace and Bill's Freedom Hills B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mt. McKinley Princess Wilderness Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mt. McKinley Princess Wilderness Lodge

Property: Mt. McKinley Princess Wilderness Lodge
Address: Mile 133 Parks Highway, Denali State Park, Trapper Creek, AK 99683
Region: United States > Alaska > Trapper Creek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Trapper Creek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mt. McKinley Princess Wilderness Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 238
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers so you can book your Mt. McKinley Princess Wilderness Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mt. Mckinley Princess Wilderness Hotel Trapper Creek
Mt. McKinley Princess Wilderness Lodge Alaska/Trapper Creek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing