We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Glacier viewing - up close and amazing”

Worthington Glacier
Ranked #1 of 23 things to do in Valdez
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: An accessible glacier with a hiking trail that offers spectacular views.
TX
Level Contributor
96 reviews
62 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Glacier viewing - up close and amazing”
Reviewed 3 October 2013

We traveled the to the Thompson Pass and stopped to see the Worthington Glacier. We were shocked to see that it was possible to actually walk up to the glacier's edge and touch it. If you are in the area it is worth seeing.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Txgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    231
    91
    18
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
Reviewed 1 October 2013 via mobile

Outstanding. Signs say proceed at your own risk so you can hike wherever. We went all the way to the glacier and touched it. Great hike and views.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Brogee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Tahoe (Nevada), Nevada
Level Contributor
60 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Not really impressed”
Reviewed 13 September 2013

The first time we drove past the Worthington Glacier along the Richardson was 1994 on our way to Valdez and did not stop. However, we did so these last two summers. We have seen many glaciers in Alaska and by comparison Worthington to us isn't that impressive. However, if driving by do stop for a visit

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank k2iks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rockford ,IL
Level Contributor
246 reviews
97 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Come to Alaska and touch a glacier”
Reviewed 8 September 2013

The Worthington Glacier is on the Richardson Highway about 20 miles from Valdez. There is an information center and nice "bathroom" facilities. The viewing area is a very short walk from the informational signs. DONT STOP there. Go around the fence and follow one of several footpaths that lead up to the glacier. The hike up the right side is easier. You will have to step over some running water and maneuver among rocks, but it is an easy climb. We went on a dreary, misting day and had no trouble. you can walk right up to the glacier and touch it. There is a roaring waterfall right next to you. A wonderful experience!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank teachem4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Going, Going, Gone”
Reviewed 2 September 2013

If you haven't made a trip to Alaska to see glaciers, you should do it soon. With global warming, you will have to walk farther and farther to see one as most of them are retreating up the valleys that they made in the ice age. Worthington is an easy glacier to see. It is visible from the road, there is a viewing platform that is about 0.5 miles from the parking lot on a paved walkway and then if you wish to get closer you can take off across the braided river and climb up beside the glacier. We got some fantastic photographs.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank jkmdgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Worthington Glacier also viewed

 

Been to Worthington Glacier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing