We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oh, Alaska how I love you”
Review of Mountain Sky Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mountain Sky Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Valdez
Reviewed 5 February 2010

Had a great stay at Mountain Sky Hotel with my boyfriend and thoroughly enjoyed time spent photographing the incredible scenery and bald eagles. The staff was friendly and accommodating to us and our room was clean and comfortable. If we're ever lucky enough to visit Valdez again, Mountain Sky can plan on seeing us! Thank you for everything!

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank calymo81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (214)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

174 - 180 of 214 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2009

Sadly this place is about the nicest FACILITY you can stay in, in town, but the MANAGEMENT is the worst in town. The front desk manager Sheila I believe it was, oh what a twit. This lady couldn't manage a facility to save her life. It's a top down issue that effects all of the staff - so the rooms don't get cleaned that well, and everyone walks around with a frown instead of a friendly smile. Seriously, if this place could get decent management it would be worth it. Till then, check elsewhere.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TravelinMan006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2008

I have been a frequent traveler to Valdez Alaska for years now. I enjoy the summer activities and obviously the fishing is excellent! I have stayed at every hotel the town has to offer and although none of them have SUPREME standards this IS a smaller town. Luxury is not necessary when you have beautiful scenery for free. If your looking for a Mandarin Oriental or a W Hotel look in a larger city.

Sheila Compehos the new on site manager of the Mountain Sky Hotel was informative, accommodating, friendly and EXTREMELY professional. I read previous reviews and have concluded that many have stayed under other management. I have no complaints with my stay at the hotel and hope others experiences are equally as pleasant.

Stayed: November 2008
Thank ae_singer04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2008

this hotel was not stunning in anyway but the service was great. the rooms were clean and comfy..a little stuff at times but overall clean. the only pool in town and breakfast needed help but i would stay here again. bestwestern has cheap furniture and gross restuaurant

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank jkjakey517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2007

We stayed one night in Valdez at the Mtn. Sky Hotel and Suites (Aspen Hotel) in a suite for $180.00; We were told it was the LAST room they had; smoke detector was going off when we entered the room; called the front desk and ask if someone could fix it; was told the gal from front desk will be RIGHT up; waited 10 minutes; called again; and went to front desk; finally, the front desk gal came up with batteries and handed them to us to fix the smoke detector. It was a built-in smoke detector (means someone with a LICENSE needs to change it; thank god my husband just happens to do this for a living and has a state license) and was the one of two in alarm. Showed the gal the filthy suite; jam in freezer from who knows which prior renter; sign on window saying it was BROKEN: DO NOT OPEN. The top rail on the bunk bed has the bolts that just come right out. Moved the small daveno in room and under it was M&M's; bobby pin; ozium, dust, dirt; end tables by bed had filth under them.
Staff doesn't care about you or YOUR STAY there; guess $ grows on trees for them; sure don't care about the GUESTS.
WILL NEVER STAY THERE AGAIN AND WILL TELL EVERYONE I SEE HOW DISGUSTING IT WAS AND THE DISCONCERN TO ME AS A CUSTOMER. YUK

  • Stayed: September 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank AK1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MountainSkyHotel, Owner at Mountain Sky Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2010

I am sorry to read that your past experience with Mountain Sky Hotel & Suites was not positive. The hotel has been under new ownership since the summer 2009 and we are working hard to ensure that our guests are taken care of when they stay at Mountain Sky Hotel & Suites. If you do come to Valdez, AK again, please give us a chance and prove ourselves to you.

Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2007

There's been some sort of change of ownership, so the exterior sign has had the "Aspen" removed, but you will see "Aspen" still on most items in your room (soaps, placards, etc.).

We stayed there one night before catching the early morning ferry to Whittier.

By using a booking website, we got a very fair price for a midsummer hotel in Alaska, in my opinion.

Room was standard sized with typical middle-of-the-road decor. You could be in Anywhere, USA: no idea that you were in Alaska, unless you took a look out the window and caught a glimpse of the spectacular landscape surrounding Valdez and the hotel's unpaved back parking lot.

The room *was* stuffy and we left the window open at all times with the provided fan blowing.

Using the shower, be careful as the faucets run ice-cold or scalding hot, tending more toward the glacial temperatures.

The front desk staff were pleasant and helpful.

If you are a member of the Alaska Airlines Mileage Plan, you'll earn miles for your stay.

* WARNING * If you are mobility-impaired, keep in mind this hotel has three floors of guest rooms and *NO* elevator.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank PR-00969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2007

This hotel was very grim. Room was small and in dire need of renovation. The bed was soft, blankets old and dirty looking, sheets not even tucked in. The internet did not work in the room and when I asked about it I was told "Oh yeah, it's been down for the last three weeks." Not exactly what a business traveler wants to hear. Breakfast was meager - cold cereal, weak coffee, a waffle machine and some apples.

Staff wasn't unfriendly, just not very engaged.

My advice would be to check into the Best Western across the street. For a few bucks more you'd get a much nicer hotel, clean and modern.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank peterbasson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Valdez hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Valdez Harbor Inn
0.3 mi away
Totem Hotel & Suites
Totem Hotel & Suites
#2 of 5 in Valdez
142 reviews
27.2 mi away
Tsaina Lodge
Tsaina Lodge
#2 of 14 in Valdez
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
House on the Rock B & B
House on the Rock B & B
#1 of 14 in Valdez
85 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Sky Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Sky Hotel

Address: 100 Meals Ave, Valdez, AK 99686
Region: United States > Alaska > Valdez
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Valdez
Price Range: £75 - £165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mountain Sky Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the head of the Azure waters of the Prince William Sound, nestled beneath the Chugach Mountains - Mountain Sky Hotel & Suites is the perfect choice for the adventurous traveler and the home-away- from-home vacationer alike. Enjoy the largest standard rooms in the area with easy access to adventure and the stunning wildlife of the sound......... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers so you can book your Mountain Sky Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Sky Valdez

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing