We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average B&B for Valdez”

A Place on Coho Bed and Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Valdez
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
A Place on Coho Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 14 Valdez B&B and Inns
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Average B&B for Valdez”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

Stayed for a short time at this B&B which is a converted basement of a residential home. No majestic Alaskan views or rustic cabin feel here; keep in mind this is a basic suburban home and the owner lives upstairs.
The bathroom was a shared one, and had ample space and was very clean. The bedroom had a king bed, was moderately clean and reasonably comfortable but it smelled heavily of perfume. We couldn't determine if this was from carpet freshener or perfumed laundry, but the odor was just too strong for our tastes and was a big turn-off. There was a TV in the room but we didn't have any cable service (or couldn't figure out how to work it) so we watched DVD's instead.
The 8am breakfast that served was tasty; however, it was on the late side for us as we prefer to get an earlier start in the morning. That said, the owner did offer up a simple to-go box breakfast if we wanted to leave earlier. We actually would have preferred to just opt out of the breakfast and get a discount on the price (which some Valdez B&B's do offer) but the owner wouldn't honor that request.
The price of $132 seemed fairly standard for Valdez in the summer, though seems a little steep in general. In comparison, we also stayed at House on the Rock B&B which was similar in terms of price but cleaner, more comfortable, offered a private bedroom *and* private bathroom along with a flat screen TV and free Wifi and an opt-out of breakfast for a rate reduction.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank exoticdvm4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    3
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
6
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
North Pole, Alaska
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013

We have stayed there a few times and will stay again. It is the cleanest , most comfortable place in Valdez. The owners are very nice and helpful and make a wonderful
breakfast each morning. Guests share a bathroom, but it is very spacious. The rooms are very well decorated, beds are comfortable and the sheets are soft. I would recommend it to friends and family . It is in a nice location and only a couple minutes from the harbor. Great place, great price and one of the best in Valdez.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rfrobins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2013 via mobile

The owners live at the second floor of the house and they are very friendly. The three rooms share the same bathroom (it is a huge bathroom). The rooms are very confortable and the location is perfect (maybe 4 minutes from downtown). The breakfast was excellent with a local touch (we liked it). Given that the rooms are inside the house, try to do not do the check-in late at night. I believe the price is a little high considering that it is not a cabin.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tuato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nenana, Alaska, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2012

I booked A Place on Coho at the very last minute and the hosts were very accomodating. We went in and were struck by home nice the whole interior was (don't be fooled by the outside, it is in need of some repairs). They ask you take your shoes off inside, but do provide slippers and bathrobes for guests, which are both very cozy. The hosts are very friendly and put out a simple breakfast for us (muffins, cereal, yogurt, fruit, frozen waffles and pancakes). The rooms were also really nice and the beds were so comfortable. For $65 a night, I wouldn't stay anywhere else in Valdez.

Room Tip: There are only 3 rooms available, so you might not be as lucky as I was calling last minute.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meghan Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
120 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2012

A Place on Coho is a B&B located a mile or so outside downtown Valdez. The check in-process was a little unusual -- I knocked on the door, yet nobody was home, so, I made myself at home! Usually there is a note or instructions on protocol if the owner is not there to greet. A folder with some instructions on the B&B (like wi-fi code, check in-check out time, etc. would be helpful).

The B&B is a house, the owners live upstairs and have turned the downstairs into a B&B with three bedrooms and one bathroom.

It feels as if you are staying in someone's house. There is a refrigerator, sink, coffee machine, etc.

The rooms are quiet (big plus) and the bedding is warm and nice. It's a fairly simple setup.

I wasn't sure if there was breakfast served here -- apparently in the winter a hot breakfast is not served. Nevertheless, I think the owners went out of their way to make some pancakes for me.

All in all, a Place on Coho is a simple, basic place to get a good night's sleep in Valdez. During the winter I paid $60 for a single room but I'm sure the rates go up in the winter.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank voodoo-d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
79 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2011

We stayed here for two nights and if felt like home. The table was beautifully set for breakfast and the food was delicious - and plenty of it.
It is a family home with the downstairs part set up for guests with three rooms sharing a bathroom which was never a problem. There is a lounge area with kitchen for tea and coffee and a fridge and microwave. This area was well used and enabled the guests to socialize with each other in the evening

Room Tip: There are three rooms and I think ours was the most economical one but it was big enough for us beca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jaybe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alaska
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2011

A Place on Coho Bed and Breakfast provided great accommodation on our family's June 2011 trip to beautiful Valdez, Alaska. The B & B was easy to find, located on a quiet street away from traffic. We were provided with our own keys to the home and to our room. The rooms were very nice, with beautiful linens, and looked brand new. The beds, extremely comfortable. One room has an additional bed, for parents or grandparents traveling with children. Spa-sized bathroom, with robe and slippers provided. Common room had a small kitchen, game area, and comfortable seating for watching a wide-selection of movies on a big-screen TV. The B&B was spotless, far cleaner than any hotel I have visited. Host Diane Gibbs offered a complete breakfast, different each day, and an evening treat. She and Bobby gave us inside information on wildlife watching. The guest book showed that A Place on Coho serves families, the business traveler, fishermen, adventurers, retirees, and international visitors. We felt very welcome and enjoyed our stay in Valdez.

Room Tip: All rooms are roomy, quiet, nice, and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CorvusConnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Valdez hotels
1.1 mi away
Totem Hotel & Suites
Totem Hotel & Suites
#2 of 5 in Valdez
3.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
1.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Valdez Harbor Inn
0.9 mi away
Mountain Sky Hotel
Mountain Sky Hotel
#4 of 5 in Valdez
3.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
House on the Rock B & B
House on the Rock B & B
#1 of 14 in Valdez
4.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
41.6 mi away
Tsaina Lodge
Tsaina Lodge
#3 of 14 in Valdez
4.5 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Place on Coho Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Place on Coho Bed and Breakfast

Property: A Place on Coho Bed and Breakfast
Address: 1222 Coho Place, PO Box 1908, Valdez, AK 99686
Region: United States > Alaska > Valdez
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Valdez
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing