We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our favourite destination on Alaska Trip”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Valdez
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Wild Roses By The Sea B&B Retreat
Ranked #3 of 14 Valdez B&B and Inns
Reviewed 25 January 2014

We absolutely loved our 2 nights at Rose's very comfortable home. There were 7 of us, we used the Canyon Suite, the Sea View Room and the Ocean View Guesthouse. Rose was such a lovely, engaging woman. She is an excellent cook and Hostess. We enjoyed our conversations with her and she certainly has an enormous knowledge of the district. The view from her home was magical and as a bonus we witnessed a visit from a bear and her 2 cubs wandering around Rose's garden which was so special for Aussies. We will definitely return should we get back to Valdez. I have advised my friends planning trips to Alaska not to miss out on "Wild Roses by the Sea"!

Room Tip: We found all the rooms comfortable, however the Ocean View Guesthouse has its own kitchen which was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Paula C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (79)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 79 reviews

Reviewed 18 January 2014

Rose is awesome. My wife and I stayed there in Sep '12 and loved every minute of it. Rose is extremely hospitable, her little dog is adorable, and the house is super cute. It rained the entire time we were there but what do you expect from Valdez? Totally worth it, she is definitely the one you want to stay with.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jafarmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We stayed 3 nights at Rose's and had a wonderful time despite rainy, foggy weather. Rose knows all about the area and was so helpful in directing us to all the attractions in Valdez. This was a challenge due to the weather conditions. There are 3 museums you must see! We stayed in the lower level of the beautiful home. There was a full kitchen (which we thought we would use . . . too much to do to plan meals or cook), a living area, and a nice sized bedroom. We were very comfortable and felt like family. The breakfasts were delicious! The view from every window is amazing! You could not make a better choice than to stay at Roses!

Room Tip: We liked the downstairs apartment for its roominess, but Roses living room is a common area and it i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank teachem4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Like being a friend or relative of Rose, the proprietor. Her home is very comfortable and served as the perfect launching pad for our trip on the sound to Meares glacier. Rose knows the area well and sent us on a wonderful side trip to Chitna, AK on our drive back to Anchorage. Wonderful stay and marvelous memories.

Room Tip: Three rooms have views of the Valdez narrows. Our room looked out to the canyon and the view of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fritzy43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Both our gourmet breakfasts were delicious and served by our friendly hostess. Rose was very knowledgable about the area and helped us plan our day. She was a very warm hostess that made the 5 in our party feel totally at home in her home. The BnB lacked nothing, and even included a special dog, Abby, to enjoy belly rubs. Rose was born to run a bed and breakfast! (Mikes Palace is a must for dining while in Valdez)

Room Tip: Sofa bed in suite was comfy if you have 3-4 people
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Barbara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

We did decided to splurge and stay at Wild Roses by the Sea for our three nights in Valdez (We paid a total of $508.80, including taxes). It was money well spent. This B&B is really nice in all aspects.
The interior of the place is decorated with lots of nice art, I suspect Rose must be a collector of some kind.
The food is exceptional. At breakfast, we always had a great tasting and filling meal, the highlight of which was an item that Rose had baked herself - one morning it was a cranberry/banana bread, next morning it was blueberry scones, and the third morning it was delicious coffee cake.
Rose is one of the nicest people you will ever meet. She is a fountain of knowledge about everything in Valdez, and of much of the attractions up the Richardson highway (for example, when we mentioned that our next stop was the Copper Moose B&B, Rose knew that proprietor). When we asked if she knew what the weather the next day would be, Rose brought us the newspaper. She offered to run our clothing through the washer/dryer after a rather disasterous hiking adventure.
Other people staying at this B&B had to get up early to catch the ferry to Whittier, so Rose made them a breakfast-to-go.
Rose's ebulliant personality is infectious, and so all the guests naturally respond to it, and these leads to a lot of lively conversations with fellow travelers.
Truly a great B&B

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Enyedy00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2013

At this time, Rose's B&B has been rated #1 by TripAdvisor reviewers for B&B's in the Valdez area. It's a rating that's well-deserved.

We (two couples but part of the same extended family) spent 3 nights with Rose in June, 2013 (22-24). We're staying at 7 different B&B's on this trip to Alaska, not to mention many other B&B's that we've been at in the U.S., Europe, and Africa. Rose's place would easily make our "top 10" list. Finding it is a little difficult but there's not too many options as you head out Egan Drive to Blueberry Hill road. The house is immaculate and decorated with exceptional taste and care. 'Abby', Rose's dog, might greet you in the driveway but she usually remains very quiet.

We stayed in the Canyon Suite which was huge and very comfortable. The bed was by far the best we've slept in on this trip. The ventilation was good and it was soothing to sleep to the sounds of Mineral Creek. We didn't use the jacuzzi function of the tub and if any distraction existed, it was the depth of that tub that made getting in and out to take a shower a bit of a challenge, but not that much of a challenge.

Rose had terrific breakfasts prepared at the agreed times and introduced us to salmonberry jam. Unfortunately, we couldn't connect with the local guy who canned it to buy some. She had homemade breads or coffee cake for breakfast and included at least one hot specialty item like individual 'pineapple-ham delight' casseroles or a breakfast frittata. Rose always had a small tray of dried apricots, cranberries, and pecans or almonds in the rooms.

She was very helpful providing information about the area and making recommendations on attractions and restaurants. She seemed to show a genuine interest in her guests and making them feel at home. We certainly felt at home and would highly recommended visiting Rose at her place anytime you might be in the Valdez area. Rose's B&B might not be lowest-priced place you can find, but it's one of the best quality places you can stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Prisofazban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Valdez hotels
1.1 mi away
Best Western Valdez Harbor Inn
1.2 mi away
Totem Hotel and Suites
28.2 mi away
Tsaina Lodge
Tsaina Lodge
#2 of 14 in Valdez
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
House on the Rock B & B
House on the Rock B & B
#1 of 14 in Valdez
85 reviews
1 mi away
Mountain Sky Hotel
Mountain Sky Hotel
#4 of 5 in Valdez
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wild Roses By The Sea B&B Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wild Roses By The Sea B&B Retreat

Address: 620 Fiddlehead Lane, Valdez, AK 99686
Region: United States > Alaska > Valdez
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Valdez
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing