We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First camping trip to Valdez”
Review of Bayside RV Park

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Valdez
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bayside RV Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

I first emailed them to reserve a spot and to put us in a spot so we could could take our dogs to use the restroom. They emailed right back saying no problem. I emailed them again to tell them we wouldn't get into Valdez until late and they said they would tape our map and camping spot on the front door. It was great! Beautiful views and great campground. The owner throws out fish at night so you get excellent pics of the eagles swooping down to pick up the fish. Showers are clean and water is hot! Old Town Burgers is right down the road and is delicious! (I suggest the Hawaiian burger) yummy!!

Stayed: May 2014
1  Thank Carrie907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (77)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 77 reviews

Reviewed 8 January 2014

We arrived from the Alaska Marine Highway at 7.30pm and the staff were very helpful in seeing us into our site and arranging a loan TV antenna cable as ours was too short.
The showers and laundry were very clean.
We booked from Australia and had no problems.
It's in a nice part of town and we walked in to a museum and shops.
It's a short walk to Old Town Burgers which is definitely a plus!
We stayed one night but could have stayed longer

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

My husband and I have been coming to Bayside RV Park for ten years. We are Alaska residents and visit Valdez once or twice each summer. While there was one *issue* over the last decade (someone didn't write down our reservation when we called in March that year, and they tried to tell us we never made a reservation), we have always received good customer service and have enjoyed our stay here.

The RV Park is located on the main highway, and has a lovely view of the Duck Flats in the front row. (The front row is 50amp sites and are about $5/more per site) The RV park is within walking distance of the harbor, shopping, dining, etc. You can just park your vehicle and walk everywhere easily. If you plan to do any fishing at Allison Point across the bay, where the fish hatchery is (and the salmon are abundant when running), you will need to drive there - about 20 miles roundtrip. (There's usually bear activity over there too - great photo ops!) But if you are planning to go out on fishing charters, you can easily walk to the harbor/boat.

The campground has full hookups, dump station, free WiFi, cable TV, picnic tables, laundry facilities, FREE showers (family-style bathrooms in which you have a toilet, sink and shower all in one private room - no tokens necessary!).

We stayed at one other RV Park here in Valdez and felt we were shoe-horned into our site. Bayside's sites are spacious enough to put your awning out and not hit your neighbor (unlike the other park).

There may be other RV parks in Valdez that are less expensive (I'm guessing), but our long-term relationship with Bayside, and the wonderful service we've received while staying here, keeps us loyal. I'm guessing we're not the only loyal locals, as we see many of the same faces and rigs year after year.

Bayside also has several spots (also along the Duck Flats) reserved for tents. They're not overly huge, but they appear to be somewhat grassy so you don't have to pitch your tent over rocks or gravel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AKArmyWife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

First off, I am a resident of Alaska and spend lots of time traveling the state in my RV. I would normally not write a negative review on any business but my experience with Bayside today was without question the worst experience that I have ever had at any business. Myself and a group of friends (3 RV's total) called and made reservations for this park after a day of fishing on the Klutina River. We told the person we spoke to that we would not be in until late that night and needed three sites. She asked that we check in the next day and we informed her that we had a halibut charter at 0430 the next morning but would register as soon as we could and gave her all of our information. The park was very nice, full hookups a bonus and clean restrooms/showers. It really fit everything we wanted until we had to deal with the owners. The day after we arrived my wife and mother-in-law checked in and paid for our two sites while the rest of us took two charters for halibut. One of our sites did not check in the next day because they all left on a charter at 0430 and the office was closed. After a 14 hour trip we all returned to the campground and the group of four was asked to check in before they closed at 2200 hours, this was at 2145 hours. They told them that they would try and make it but they were very busy processing the catch of the day. Unfortunately they did not get registered that night, I realize that this was not acceptable to the campground owners and should have been taken care of by my friends earlier but circumstances just did not allow this to be addressed promptly. Well the next morning as we were packing to leave for Wasilla the owner of the campground went to one of my friends that failed to check in and completely harassed him accusing him of being a deadbeat and threatening to call the police and report his plate number. My friend then went to the office where one of the campground employees apologized profusely for the attitude and behavior of the owner. He paid them in cash for the campsite and got a signed receipt for the camp fees. My friends then left without telling the rest of us about the issue with the owner. Around an hour after they left Valdez the wife of the campground owner came to our site asking why we did not pay for the site my friends occupied and why they did not register the day before. Eight of us stood there and explained that we did not know they had left without paying the fee and explained to her the situation with the charter trip and their failure to properly register quickly. I then asked my wife to go to the office and pay for my friends site so this lady would just shut up and leave us alone...this after 15 minutes of babble. It was at this time that she asked us if we knew a John Smith from Nashville and stated that he had paid for the site in question by accident and wanted his money back. needless to say this was just a little confusing as we had no-one named John Smith with us and due to poor cellphone coverage between Valdez and Wasilla we could not contact the other group that had already left.
Again we paid for the site in question on my credit card and left. Once we got to Glenallen I was able to talk to my friends who left earlier. They told me the story of being harassed by the owner and threatened. My friend stated that he paid but refused to give them his real name and address because he feared being harassed by the owner hence he gave the name John Smith, Nashville TN. Well upon hearing this I called Bayside and explained to the owner's wife the situation and asked why she collected payment from us on the site in question when she had already gotten paid cash for the site. She then went into a shouting tirade stating that all they wanted was to get paid. When I tried to explain to her that she did get paid not only once but twice for the same site she went ballistic telling me that all they wanted was to get paid....after about 15 minutes on the phone being cordial asking for a simple refund for a site that we paid for twice and having this owner deny any refund and insult me I lost it. For the first time in 15 years I came unglued on this woman. It is only $82.00 or so and I was so mad I wanted to turn around and drive back the 150 miles to Valdez and dump my black water tank on their front porch! Everyone that was on this trip with me are business owners....we spend thousands to travel around the world and Alaska, being my home was a place that I wanted to bring them this year. Unfortunately the experience with Bayside really put a sad note on the end of a nice vacation. These people have a nice place to promote, the facilities are nice and clean but the owners have no business being in any position where they have to deal with the public. To say I was disappointed in my fellow Alaskans is an understatement. Again these owners do not deserve to be in business. They charged me for my friends site knowing full well that they had already been paid for the site in cash. We have a receipt from them to prove it, and when presented with the facts the owners become defensive, abusive and absolutely refuse to issue a refund to my credit card. Do not come to Bayside go across the street, it is not possible to be treated any worse then by these people.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank alaskadave2969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim B, Owner at Bayside RV Park, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2015

Dear Sir-

We would like to let you know that Bayside has changed ownership as of 2014. We are terribly sorry for your previous experience and would welcome the opportunity to provide you, your family and friends with nothing less than a great experience at Bayside!

As Alaskans ourselves, we understand the passion to share our beautiful state with others and our Park is representation of that passion.

Should you return to Valdez, we would certainly appreciate the opportunity to share all the new and wonderful things here...most importantly the excellent customer service and passion to provide on the very best experience for each and every guest.

Thank you,
Rich and Kim
Bayside RV Park and Campground

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2012

Good owner and good location. Very clean restrooms.
Really a value for money and free wi fi too.
The owner also feed eagles in evening which is an event itself for nice photo shoots.
I found them better than other area as rate of other places were high compare to this one and this is right on a nice location of valdez.
Highly recommend and will stay here again and also recommend the chat with owner, she is a great lady!
Cheer

Room Tip: All well and good. I did not find anything strange.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank divyadon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017
Thank bobrist57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Valdez hotels
0.4 mi away
Best Western Valdez Harbor Inn
0.2 mi away
Totem Hotel & Suites
Totem Hotel & Suites
#2 of 5 in Valdez
143 reviews
0.9 mi away
House on the Rock B & B
House on the Rock B & B
#1 of 14 in Valdez
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Mountain Sky Hotel
Mountain Sky Hotel
#4 of 5 in Valdez
214 reviews
26.8 mi away
Tsaina Lodge
Tsaina Lodge
#2 of 14 in Valdez
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayside RV Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayside RV Park

Address: 230 E Egan Dr, Valdez, AK 99686
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Valdez
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Valdez
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bayside RV Park is situated on the left side of the Richardson Highway as you enter Valdez. Bayside provides unobstructed and unsurpassed views of the Bay of Prince Williams Sound. Within walking distance to the small boat harbor, restaurants, shopping, coffee shops, supermarket and museums. We can arrange your day cruise to Columbia and Meares Glaciers, halibut and salmon charters and an incredible helicopter tour. Bayside features include stunning views, large, private and sparkling clean showers/restrooms, WiFi, cable television, gift shop, Alaskan sized fire pit and the most informative and accommodating staff in Valdez. We look forward to seeing you in Valdez! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing