We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the money”
Review of Tsaina Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Tsaina Lodge
Ranked #2 of 14 Valdez B&B and Inns
Anchorage, Alaska
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not worth the money”
Reviewed 9 April 2013

While the mountains are amazing and the skiing is beyond belief... You can get a better deal by staying in Valdez. The rooms are so beyond small! They are not worth 350 a night.
The heli runs are worth it, it makes way more financial sense to stay in Valdez and do heli runs in Thompson pass.
The food is also way to expensive!!! You think that for 350 a night that would include breakfast..
None the less, I had a generally good experience with the food. (esp. the burgers and hot wings)

The employees are SUPER friendly and accommodating! I can't say one bad thing about them.. well except there was no real manger and that was kinda odd.


But overall, the hotel is way to expensive for something that is similar to staying at a best western with really expensive food. But they do get the heli runs right! (I also think the reason they have the rates so high is bec. its limited in its opening so they have to make an entire years income in a few months...))


But if you have money to blow, it's really amazing pow!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ssnowseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TsainaLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Tsaina Lodge, responded to this review, 11 April 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate that you took the time to share your experience with us. We are glad that you enjoyed your skiing from the lodge and the employees. While we understand your point of view, the lodge is second to none and provides guest access to brand new facilities and amenities. We feel we have created the ideal situation of having the heli-pad within walking distance as well as having a heated gear room for guests in a remote location. Again we appreciate your comments and thank you for staying with us and we will take your thoughts into consideration.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    3
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
4
6
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2013

We stayed at Tsaina Lodge in March 2012 just after if opened as well as in March 2013. While we really enjoyed our stay in 2012 despite a few startup issues, this year was completely different and I would not recommend the place anymore.

They had changed the head chef since last time, which unfortunately meant that the kitchen was complete chaos while charging high-end prices. We had issues every single day. First of all, breakfast is a la carte instead of a buffet, which meant that we had to wait sometimes more than half an hour for some scrambled eggs or a fruit salad. At dinner, we also waited for more than an hour for our food once. Steaks ordered medium, came rare, other times when ordered medium-rare, they were well done, etc. They also seemed to constantly run out of basic things. One day they ran out of oatmeal, the next day of whole-wheat toast, another day, when ordering an espresso, they told us, they would probably run out of coffee for the espresso machine the next day! You have to wonder how difficult it is to store basic things like oatmeal, toast and coffee or to drive to Valdez to get it. At the same time they charged absolutely outrageous prices. 55 dollars for a fillet steak and 75 for a porterhouse made us drive to Valdez for a few evenings to have much better dinners there for a fraction of the price.

When we checked out, many of the bills were wrong and some people spent more than an hour sorting out their bill. Again, complete chaos. Whilst they had a manager in charge in 2012, this time no one seemed to be really in charge and take care of things.

Now the positives: The service staff in the restaurant were really friendly and tried their best despite having all the issues with the kitchen. The rooms are nice and clean and the gym is good with treadmills, spinning bikes and some weights if you don't want to get bored when the weather is bad.

So overall not a great experience and I would not recommend the place until they get organized and sort out the issues.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fluc_21st
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TsainaLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Tsaina Lodge, responded to this review, 7 April 2013
thank you for your feedback. We appreciate that you took the time to share your experience with us. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel but at the same time we are sorry that the food didn’t meet your expectations. It is important to us to improve things so that our customers have only pleasant memories of their stay at our hotel. Therefore, we will share your opinion with our kitchen staff and hope that by the next stay at our hotel you will give our cuisine another chance. We are looking forward to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Valdez
41.1 mi away
Best Western Valdez Harbor Inn
40.9 mi away
Totem Hotel & Suites
Totem Hotel & Suites
#2 of 5 in Valdez
3.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
40.8 mi away
Mountain Sky Hotel
Mountain Sky Hotel
#4 of 5 in Valdez
3.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
41.4 mi away
House on the Rock B & B
House on the Rock B & B
#1 of 14 in Valdez
4.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
0.0 mi away
Alaska Copper River B&B
Alaska Copper River B&B
#1 of 5 in Glennallen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tsaina Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tsaina Lodge

Property: Tsaina Lodge
Address: 35 Richardson Highway, Valdez, AK 99686
Region: United States > Alaska > Valdez
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Valdez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Tsaina Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tsaina Lodge has a storied past. Once a ramshackle roadside lodge, it became famous as THE place to be as helicopter-skiing became popular in Thompson Pass, Alaska, just 35 miles up the road from Valdez. In 2011, the Tsaina changed ownership, and was completely rebuilt into the contemporary, luxury adventure lodge it is today. With 24-rooms, each with a genuine Tempur-pedic mattress(es), a fitness center, full-service dining and the renown Tsaina Bar (rebuilt with remnants of the old bar, complete with the same decor!) You can enjoy a host of activities, available just outside the front door. For even more excitement, book a heli for a day of fishing, hiking or glacier trekking. Other options include glacier cruising in Valdez, kayaking or stand up paddle boarding. Summer season is typically June through early September. Tsaina Lodge is also home to Valdez Heli Ski Guides in the winter months. The offer unparalleled heli-skiing and snowboarding from February to April. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Tsaina Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing