We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb nights at Valdez 超赞!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
House on the Rock B & B
Ranked #1 of 14 Valdez B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ann Arbor, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Superb nights at Valdez 超赞!”
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Mr. and Mrs. Wise, two little girls and one little boy are all super nice and really helped us a lot in Valdez.Thank you first! The rooms are clean, breakfast is good, and not bad wifi speed, and they get a massage chair. Mrs.Wise and girls clean the room everyday, and they will provide all kinds of information for travelers (it's really convenient to have local tour guide). We(i was with my parents) were even invited to have dinner with the family! 总之,就是超赞的!北京再见~ or see you guys in Michigan, go blue!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank icefall7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    16
    6
    0
    1
See reviews for
27
21
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

House on the Rock is a new B&B in Valdez and was able to accommodate us during the busy summer with very short notice when every other place we called was full. We stayed for 2 nights and the owners Bill and Lorna were easy-going, friendly, and flexible. The facility is the first floor of a 2-story home in a residential neighborhood which has been converted to host travelers. The place was immaculate with a very clean kitchen and common area. We were housed in a very nice private bedroom with both a queen and twin bed and a private bathroom along with a flat screen TV and free WiFi. Not to mention, free laundry facilities which was a HUGE plus for weary backpackers. What more could you ask for? And even a massage chair! One of us is normally very hesitant to walk barefoot on carpeted floors in hotels but here it was a non-issue since it was so clean. There was a $10 discount if you didn't want to partake in the continental breakfast and we appreciated that as an option since we preferred going out into town for a hot breakfast. Overall this was a very solid comfortable stay in Valdez. Don't expect great Alaskan views or a rustic cabin here, but if you need a clean warm comfortable quiet and secure residential home to spend a couple nights in, this should suit you just as well as any hotel in Valdez.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank exoticdvm4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange County, CA
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

This place has everything that you need and nothing you don't. Well, maybe you don't need a massage chair, but I do. The owners were friendly and rooms were clean and comfortable. The continental breakfast was adequate.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Enviroguy93063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

My son Joshua and I came over to Valdez to meet with a few customers and although we considered camping, the rain convinced us we wanted a warm dry place and it was a blessing to find "house on the Rock B&B" Very clean and comfortable and we were made to feel like family. I would highly recommend this B&B to anyone staying in Valdez. Cheers from the Sundog crew.

Joe Law - with Sundog Media - www.sundogmedia.com

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Joe L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Pole, Alaska
1 review
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Our stay at House on the Rock B & B was great in newly remodeled and very clean home in a quiet residential neighborhood. The Alaskan theme rooms are nicely decorated and each room has a private bathroom with shower and flat screen TV. A shared kitchen and living room just for the guests has a bonus of a massage chair in the living room. The owners were friendly and helpful and the twin girls shared an enthusiastic demonstration of the dance they did for Gold Rush Days Celebration. Their little boy was shy but there is also a nice swing set in the yard for families with young children.

On our visit we able to take pictures of 3 sets of mother bears and cubs from a few months old to 2 or 3 years old as well as nice eagle photographs. We were there during Gold Rush Days and enjoyed the small but very friendly open air shopping.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Susan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Valdez
0.8 mi away
Best Western Valdez Harbor Inn
0.8 mi away
Totem Hotel & Suites
Totem Hotel & Suites
#2 of 5 in Valdez
142 reviews
41.4 mi away
Tsaina Lodge
Tsaina Lodge
#3 of 14 in Valdez
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Alaska Copper River B&B
Alaska Copper River B&B
#1 of 5 in Glennallen
58 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mountain Sky Hotel
Mountain Sky Hotel
#4 of 5 in Valdez
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to House on the Rock B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about House on the Rock B & B

Property: House on the Rock B & B
Address: 613 S. Moraine Dr., Valdez, AK 99686
Region: United States > Alaska > Valdez
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Valdez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
House on the Rock B & B has four Alaska themed, clean, smoke free rooms, each with a private bathroom and shower, Hi-def. cable TV, and Wi-Fi. Each of the rooms has a queen bed and a twin bed. Includes a complimentary continental breakfast, kitchen with full refrigerator, dining room, laundry room, and a living room with a high end massage chair. It is located in town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your House on the Rock B & B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing