We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific 3-Night Stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
House on the Rock B & B
Ranked #1 of 14 Valdez B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 May 2014

My husband and I have been visiting Valdez for many years. Usually we camp, but now that we have a baby (7 months old), we decided to stay in a B&B. We couldn't have chosen better! Clean, inexpensive B&Bs with private baths are hard to come by in Valdez, but that's exactly what you get at House on the Rock!

Lorna and Bill Wise and their 3 kids are so friendly and helpful. They were full of suggestions for activities and meals in town, as well as hiking on the outskirts of town. They know Valdez well and ensured that we enjoyed ourselves there, too.

We chose to forgo the continental breakfast and instead used the guest kitchen to make our own breakfasts (and lunches and dinners). Be aware that there is not a stovetop or oven - just a single burner. There are mugs, glasses, plates, cooking and eating utensils, pots, pans, a coffeemaker, coffee, tea, sugar, non-dairy creamer, fridge, sink, toaster oven, towels, dish detergent and hot pads available for guest use. VERY convenient!

The rooms are very simply decorated but as comfortable as could be. Each room has its own bathroom, but be aware that there is just a small shower stall (no tub, so no bathing baby).

We utilized the massage chair in the guest living room often. What a fun feature! It felt great after a long day of walking around this beautiful town.

The Wise family will definitely make your trip to Valdez a full and memorable one. We're telling everyone we know about this clean, comfortable, cozy, convenient B&B. We will most definitely be staying there next time we visit Valdez, our favorite spot in the state!

Room Tip: All of the rooms are basically the same (private bath, queen & full bed). We stayed in the Eagle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank KellyAroundTheWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (85)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

66 - 72 of 85 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2014

Traveling is not always easy with two little ones, but the innkeepers at House on the Rock welcomed us like family! They provided a toddler bed & some fresh toys for my boys to play with, put up a baby swing on their backyard swing set and even offered their double jogger for the trails that our umbrella stroller couldn't handle! The guest kitchen and laundry room are invaluable with a 4yo and 1yo. The well-behaved innkeepers' children were so helpful and sweet with my children, too. The location was great and the views were fabulous! The day that my husband was on a fishing charter my 4yo and I were easily able to walk (& push the 1yo in his stroller) into town for lunch & to some breathtaking trails. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

My daughter and I stayed here over the weekend for a basketball tournament. We were given a warm welcome by the very hospitable family and they were very accommodating our entire stay! The rooms were a great size and very clean! We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tamara T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

My two friends and I stayed at the House on the Rock B&B with Bill and Lorna for part of our fishing trip. The B&B was very comfortable and clean! Bill, Lorna and their children made the place feel like home. The laundry and kitchen accomodations made our stay very pleasant. The location was excellent! We were able to walk to all of the stores and restaurants in Valdez. The Wise family is very accomodating and knowledgeable about what Valdez has to offer and they made our trip even better than we could have imagined! I would highly reccomend the House on the Rock B&B to anyone looking for lodging in Valdez and I hope to be able to be back there soon!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Thank you to the Wise family for a wonderful stay in your B&B. Located on a quiet neighborhood street with easy access to everything in Valdez made it an ideal place to stay. The peacefulness, along with your hospitality, cleanliness, availability, and accommodations in your home made it a lovely stay. Really appreciate that you have a kitchen area AND free laundry room in the guest quarters for our use. We were given fresh-caught salmon by someone down on the docks & were able to come back to the B&B and cook it for dinner.... an unexpected treat by the open and generous Alaskan people and the facilities at the B&B! There are good-sized common areas, moderate-sized bedrooms with ample space for luggage and dressers for extended stays, large-screen TV, and great water pressure in the shower. Easy access in and out of B&B without disturbing others. Bill and Lorna were great with answering any questions about Valdez, a beautiful port town and one of the highlights of our trip. The Wise family is a wonderful reflection of Alaska ... Valdez ... and Alaskan B&Bs. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank John_and_Rae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

We arrived late after a long drive from Fairbanks and accommodation at a premium for the fishing contest. To find such a this then be invited to share a meal with the family was a real bonus. We had collected Lorna and Bills card from the visitors centre and, luckily, a room was available. We had two wonderful nights in Valdez. It was great to meet a young family making a real effort with establishing their B and B. Everything was clean, very comfortable and we had an opportunity to do some washing. Breakfast was very good with a choice of cereal, fruit and breads. It was just like being at home. We would rank this as one of the best we had on our travels in the USA.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
4  Thank TassieCamnSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

House on the Rock B&B was a very clean and comfortable place to stay....we had more then enough room for three guys enjoying our Alaskan fishing trip! Lorna and Bill were very helpful, there children were a joy. They couldn't have made us feel more comfortable had we been family!" We had all the accomodations of "home" and we left Valdez, Alaska with the feeling of having made "new friends!" Do not hesitate to call Lorna and Bill at the House on the Rock B&B for your next trip to Valdez, Alaska. They Truly know how to make their guests comfortable!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3  Thank vwsalemme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Valdez hotels
0.8 mi away
Best Western Valdez Harbor Inn
0.8 mi away
Totem Hotel & Suites
Totem Hotel & Suites
#2 of 5 in Valdez
143 reviews
27.6 mi away
Tsaina Lodge
Tsaina Lodge
#2 of 14 in Valdez
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Mountain Sky Hotel
Mountain Sky Hotel
#4 of 5 in Valdez
214 reviews
Show Prices

Been to House on the Rock B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about House on the Rock B & B

Address: 613 S. Moraine Dr., Valdez, AK 99686
Region: United States > Alaska > Valdez
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Valdez
Price Range: £86 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
House on the Rock B & B has four Alaska themed, clean, smoke free rooms, each with a private bathroom and shower, Hi-def. cable TV, and Wi-Fi. Each of the rooms has a queen bed and a twin bed. Includes a complimentary continental breakfast, kitchen with full refrigerator, dining room, laundry room, and a living room with a high end massage chair. It is located in town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your House on the Rock B & B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing