We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Re: Do not stay here”
Review of Glacier Hotel

Glacier Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Valdez
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Glacier Hotel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Valdez
Mebane, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Re: Do not stay here”
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Room was dirty, smelly, had broken window that would not close ( and this was Alaska!). Carpet filthy. Do not stay here ! Cost of room way too much for the poor quality of this lodging. Although, the cost was comparable to other hotels and B & B 's in the area. Even paying half f what the room rate was would have been too much in my opinion !

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else, like the Eagles Nest Campground cabins in Valdez. Loved these!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nurse19761980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    3
    8
    4
    8
See reviews for
10
4
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
great green swamp
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

My sister in law and I stayed here in July 2013 to take a day cruise into the sound. Valdez is a charming town and the cruise really nice.

This inn was clean which was probably difficult to do given the age of the place. We waited until the last minute to make reservations and so this was the last hotel to have any rooms in this area.

They did offer continental breakfast but we were up well before set up and out of there. All that being said, if you don't book early enough like us, this place is acceptable, cost was 115 a night - cheap for Alaska, clean and quiet.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank swampsis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairbanks, Alaska
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013

Booked three nights at Best Western through Priceline and the third night we were rebooked into a smoking room - yuck. Promptly checked out and the Glacier Sound was 2nd highest rated after the Totem which didn't have any rooms available. Friendly staff and room more spacious than Best Western although beds were not as nice. Hope they get the hot water fixed for next round of visitors...

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BRL1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

When I booked the hotel, I didn't have a high expectation because of the ratings I saw on the website. However when I arrived, I was surprised it was such a quiet and peaceful place. The front desk staff are very nice and helpful. They provide continental breakfast as well. Not bad for a budget stay. The only complaint I have is that the hot water is not hot enough.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crazybass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, Alaska
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2012

This hotel is old, and the furnishings in the rooms definitly could use an update. Rooms are not remodeled as it is claimed on the web site, and the cleaning staff really needs to pay attention to at least spot cleaning the carpets. Sheila the manager was a peach, very nice and accomodating to any requests i had. I will say that the bathroom was clean, and mildew free, but the shower was horrible! Very little water pressure for taking a warm shower. Truly a dissapointment that after spending all day in the rain fishing and sightseeing i got more wet standing out side for 5 minutes than i did in the shower. BUt i will say, that if you need to save a few bucks, it's not a bad place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sabrina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cordova, Alaska
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2012

We stayed here in Aug 2012 because we were coming for a wedding and there was no rooms anywhere due to a music festival. Checking in was ok, nothing notable. Saying the room is dated is an understatement. White mold spots on the carpet, mildew on the bathroom ceiling, mattresses are anything but good, bathroom flooring is peeling back. There is a fairly new fridge and microwave which are always nice to have in a hotel room.
The shower pressure is crazy, there is no way to adjust it and it could just about bruise you. Water sprays everywhere, the bathroom gets soaked and everything in it. The fan sounds like it is about to take off.
And lastly the fire alarm went off for like 5 min at 5am. By the time I woke everyone up to get out of there the thing stopped. Overall I would not stay here unless you really have to.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank samanthal_15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SAN FRANCISCO
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2008

Ok.... for $99 a night, in a tiny town... i sort of expected this hotel is going to be kind of scary, and I was totally right.

First, at arrival, the exterior was totally unwelcoming. There's a bar attached to the hotel with guys smoking outside. They gawked at us like they have never seen tourists.......

The lobby is same. Smells like the bar.

The room: surprisingly don't smell bad. The bathroom is ok clean. The toilet isn't. The bed is horrible. The springs poked into my back every night. I found a used syringe in the night stand drawer. That was what made me wanted to switch to another hotel the next day.

But unfortunately, every hotel in town was fully booked. Totem Inn next door has a cottage. For $189, I checked it out.... it's a little cleaner but the bed still sucks. So I decided it's not worth the trouble and just enjoy the stay as much as i can.

So in conclusion, you get what you paid for. I think most of the hotels in Valdez is about the same quality. The Best Western next to the port "may" be a little better (from the outside) but it's hard to get a room there as it's booked by all the tour groups.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank MCTAI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Valdez hotels
0.4 mi away
Best Western Valdez Harbor Inn
0.4 mi away
Totem Hotel & Suites
Totem Hotel & Suites
#2 of 5 in Valdez
142 reviews
41.3 mi away
Tsaina Lodge
Tsaina Lodge
#4 of 14 in Valdez
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
House on the Rock B & B
House on the Rock B & B
#1 of 14 in Valdez
82 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mountain Sky Hotel
Mountain Sky Hotel
#4 of 5 in Valdez
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glacier Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glacier Hotel

Property: Glacier Hotel
Address: 210 Egan Drive, Valdez, AK 99686 (Formerly Glacier Sound Inn)
Region: United States > Alaska > Valdez
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Valdez
Number of rooms: 40
Also Known As:
Glacier Sound Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing