We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice place to stay”
Review of Glacier Hotel

Glacier Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Glacier Hotel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Valdez
Reviewed 17 January 2014

I loved this hotel a lot! If you want to save some money and get a great quality, this is exactly what you need. I liked very friendly staff workiung in this hotel=) Rooms were clean. Hotel is old and situated in a good place, right across the Valdez Museum. And of course....Valdez is amazing!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank grey285
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (29)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 29 reviews

Reviewed 16 January 2014

We were assured this was a pet free lodging as we made a last minute reservation due to a change in travel plans. There wasn't much choice on short notice in Valdez. We arrived to a dog in the lobby. The lobby and hallways were worn and dingy. We checked out the room which was small and needed upgrading, but it seemed fairly clean at first glance. Upon opening the bed up, it appeared someone had slept in it and it had not been changed. I took the pillow complete with hair to the front desk. The sheets were changed and by some miracle we slept quite well in spite of traffic noise. The window wouldn't close completely. We observed another family with two dogs present. So much for pet free. We took a look at the continental breakfast the following morning and decided to find a restaurant for breakfast. One positive - it was within walking distance to the harbor in Valdez.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ole46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Bed was lumpy to the point where I hurt in the morning. Smelled dank and moist, feels like it hasn't been updated since the pipeline was built. Service was bad considering we called ahead and got a price and reserved the room and had to fight to get the price we were told on the phone. Only amenity was breakfast, we weren't impressed and went to breakfast at the Totem.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank drrf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Room was dirty, smelly, had broken window that would not close ( and this was Alaska!). Carpet filthy. Do not stay here ! Cost of room way too much for the poor quality of this lodging. Although, the cost was comparable to other hotels and B & B 's in the area. Even paying half f what the room rate was would have been too much in my opinion !

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else, like the Eagles Nest Campground cabins in Valdez. Loved these!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nurse19761980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

My sister in law and I stayed here in July 2013 to take a day cruise into the sound. Valdez is a charming town and the cruise really nice.

This inn was clean which was probably difficult to do given the age of the place. We waited until the last minute to make reservations and so this was the last hotel to have any rooms in this area.

They did offer continental breakfast but we were up well before set up and out of there. All that being said, if you don't book early enough like us, this place is acceptable, cost was 115 a night - cheap for Alaska, clean and quiet.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank swampsis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013

Booked three nights at Best Western through Priceline and the third night we were rebooked into a smoking room - yuck. Promptly checked out and the Glacier Sound was 2nd highest rated after the Totem which didn't have any rooms available. Friendly staff and room more spacious than Best Western although beds were not as nice. Hope they get the hot water fixed for next round of visitors...

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BRL1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

When I booked the hotel, I didn't have a high expectation because of the ratings I saw on the website. However when I arrived, I was surprised it was such a quiet and peaceful place. The front desk staff are very nice and helpful. They provide continental breakfast as well. Not bad for a budget stay. The only complaint I have is that the hot water is not hot enough.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crazybass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Valdez hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Valdez Harbor Inn
0.2 mi away
Totem Hotel and Suites
27.2 mi away
Tsaina Lodge
Tsaina Lodge
#2 of 14 in Valdez
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
House on the Rock B & B
House on the Rock B & B
#1 of 14 in Valdez
85 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mountain Sky Hotel
Mountain Sky Hotel
#4 of 5 in Valdez
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glacier Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glacier Hotel

Address: 210 Egan Drive, Valdez, AK 99686 (Formerly Glacier Sound Inn)
Region: United States > Alaska > Valdez
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Valdez
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Glacier Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glacier Sound Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing