We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Valdez Classic”

Totem Inn Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 27 Restaurants in Valdez
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$30
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Valdez, Alaska
Level Contributor
59 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“A Valdez Classic”
Reviewed 24 July 2012

This local restaurant has been around for 41 years and it's still going strong! It's the best place in town for a hearty breakfast; lunches & dinners are great too. The whole staff is really friendly...Dorothy, Wes, Shawna, Pam, Forest, etc., etc. (We do miss Hazel, though.) It's a fun place for families; kids love looking at all of the stuffed animals, especially in the back room. Plus, tourists can find lots of Alaska souvenirs in the well-stocked gift shop. If you are visiting Valdez, be sure to check out the Totem.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kubina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    119
    43
    11
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Valdez, Alaska
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Breakfast in Town!”
Reviewed 21 July 2012

I can say with all honesty I am a regular at the Totem Inn Restaurant. Every Sunday morning my family and I sit at our usual table and they set down our usual beverages of choice. The wait staff is very friendly and makes an enormous effort to cater to everyone's needs. The food is family style, large delicious portions and breakfast is by far the best! I would recommend the biscuits and gravy with a side of reindeer sausage! The restaurant is large and my only complant is that is dimly lit and can get very VERY loud. Although, the volume level sufficiently drowns out the FOX News garbage that is always playing on the TVs! All in all this is a great family restaurant!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Carty N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
“Food is awesome and people are very nice!”
Reviewed 21 July 2012

My husband and I just moved to valdez and the totem inn is our absolute favorite place to eat! Their omlets and skillets are the bomb!! A must try resturaunt!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Coastiewifee24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vermont, U.S.A.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“great food”
Reviewed 16 July 2012

fantastic food, reasonable prices, good service, super gift shop

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank LSRapp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmyra, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
70 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great Variety, Hours, Service, and Atmosphere”
Reviewed 12 July 2012

We really liked this place; ate there three times in three days. Lots of variety in the menu, good food, great service, and they're open early for fishermen (and women).

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Pemichongan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Totem Inn Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Totem Inn Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing