We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The place to stay in Valdez, AK”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Valdez Harbor Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Valdez
Gouldsboro, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
71 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“The place to stay in Valdez, AK”
Reviewed 20 June 2012

I have stayed at this hotel many times and I find it to be comfortable, accommodating, clean, neat and the best view in Valdez, AK. When I come to Alaska, I have the opportunity to stay anywhere I choose and yet, I always go to the BW Harbor Inn. The restaurant and the bar have great food and what a view. The little otter that swims in the harbor in somewhat of a celebrity. Each year I look forward to seeing him and the many bald eagles that fly by. The managers care about their guests and are always available to answer questions and/or concerns. Thanks for another great stay!

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms overlooking the harbor -
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank erma942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWValdezHarborInn, General Manager at Best Western Valdez Harbor Inn, responded to this review, 5 June 2013
My staff and I would like to Thank you we are glad you that we were able to make
Your stay an enjoyable experience. Hope to see you again.
Scott Malone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

525 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    211
    130
    52
    17
See reviews for
112
228
24
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rutland, Vermont
Level Contributor
84 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2012

Located on the waterfront with a great view and easy excess to all to see in Valdez. Clean quite rooms free breakfast and friendly staff, who could ask for more. Great restaurant and lounge.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arthur R T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
121 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2012

For some reason I though Valdez would have more to see/do. Anyway, I stayed here and room was decent, nothing fancy. We were on the first floor and you do hear some noise above. Also, I don't get why some people talk in hallways late at night and slam doors but whatever, it was okay. We were taking the Stan Stephens tour so we just had to walk outside of the lobby and boom, we were there.

Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank proftravlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitehorse, Yukon
Level Contributor
273 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2012

We opted to take our dog with us on this trip and booked this hotel because pets were permitted. We were disappointed (but not suprised) to be moved to a smoking room when we indicated that we had a dog with us. After seeing how some people do not control their pets, I do understand, but it was a major assult to our senses to step into the room each time - as non-smokers, it was pretty rank.
The room was clean and updated (granite counter, nice mattresses - but double bed rather than queen that we had booked). The hotel is only 2 story, we didn't have a view of the harbour but were close to the exit so it was easy to get in and out. Room had a fridge and microwave - handy because the restaraunt was very pricy. Breakfast is included in room cost - some hot options like scrambled eggs, sausage, biscuts and gravy in addition to yogurt, cereal, etc. Some days when tour buses are in town there is a real rush at breakfast - overflow into the hallway - but staff were great and kept up with everything very well.
Housekeeping was the only deficiency - staff arrived when we were in the room and we indicated we were on the way out in a minute or two - they never came back so room was not cleaned. We had enough soap and shampoo - so not an issue, we just took out our own garbage - but not the best service there. I am sure they would have done it if we had called the front desk to complain, but we didn't bother.
We would stay here again - considered it average - staff were certainly very nice to us. They did waive the pet fee ($10 a night) for us (we didn't expect this or ask for it) because they had changed our room from what we had reserved - there is no pet room option on the on-line reservation system.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank muklukmary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2012 via mobile

I am a salesman from Anchorage and stay here at least six times a year. It is the best place in Valdez. Civic center is accross the street. It is clean and service is great. The restaurant can be expensive so just eat in the bar it is delicious. Get a view room!

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Clydecarey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWValdezHarborInn, General Manager at Best Western Valdez Harbor Inn, responded to this review, 15 April 2013
My staff and I THANK YOU for choosing us for your stay and for your kind words we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wasilla, Alaska
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 April 2012

The Valdez Harbor Inn was comfortable, accomodating, and probably had a view of the harbor, although with several feet of snow it was hard to visualize what the town actually looks like. The only thing missing was a night light in the room, which would be a nice addition for people who forget to bring one.

Room Tip: Really appreciated being able to pay extra to let our dog stay in the room with us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chucksallybo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWValdezHarborInn, General Manager at Best Western Valdez Harbor Inn, responded to this review, 8 April 2012
Thank you for your comments and I will look into night lights.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2012

I would never stay at this hotel nor will I ever recommend it to anyone.

I took a road trip thru Alaska's back country. I thought that staying in a franchise hotel would guarantee better quality than a B&B or different hotel. Boy, was I wrong. I asked for a non-smoking room but was placed in a room that stunk of cigarette smoke and wet dog. I couldn't believe they were full and couldn't place me in a different room. For almost $200 per night, I couldn't believe it.

I can't believe that other people actually gave this place more than 3stars. The lobby smells musty and is uninviting. The frontdesk was not friendly or helpful. The knickknacks were fun to look at but that was it.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank lighttraveler206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWValdezHarborInn, General Manager at Best Western Valdez Harbor Inn, responded to this review, 6 April 2012
I am truly sorry that we did not meet your expectations. I would like to be able to correct this but I have no information to go on. We are very busy at this time of year. If you would call my Hotel I will be very happy to find out what actually transpired.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Valdez hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Valdez
0.2 mi away
Totem Hotel & Suites
Totem Hotel & Suites
#2 of 5 in Valdez
3.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mountain Sky Hotel
Mountain Sky Hotel
#4 of 5 in Valdez
3.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
0.8 mi away
House on the Rock B & B
House on the Rock B & B
#1 of 14 in Valdez
4.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
41.1 mi away
Tsaina Lodge
Tsaina Lodge
#2 of 14 in Valdez
4.5 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
0.0 mi away
Alaska Copper River B&B
Alaska Copper River B&B
#1 of 5 in Glennallen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Valdez Harbor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Valdez Harbor Inn

Property: Best Western Valdez Harbor Inn
Address: 100 Harbor Drive, P.O.Box 468, Valdez, AK 99686 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Valdez Harbor Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Valdez
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Valdez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Valdez Harbor Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Valdez Harbor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Valdez Harbor Hotel Valdez
Valdez Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing