We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Keystone Hotel Valdez, AK”
Review of Keystone Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Valdez
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Keystone Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Valdez
Reviewed 9 June 2014

The room was very small. There were no amenities in the room except a TV, which we could not operate. There is no individual control over the temperature in the rooms, and the system blew hot air, then cold air, then hot, etc. The bathroom was also very tiny. I was not happy with the hotel clerk's attitude.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank likesnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (95)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 95 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2014

This place is a modular construction building that was built for the pipeline workers. It is old dingy with a few strange smells but at an affordable price. The money that you will save staying here can be spent on drinks and or food at the local bars and restaurants. The location is good and is walking distance to the harbor.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

The Keysone Hotel is an okay place at a very good price. The only real negative is the walls are very easy to hear through so if you are a light sleeper stay someplace else. They have a breakfast in the morning that has cerels, muffins, cinamon buns, toast, fruit along with juice and coffee. For the price the hotel with breakfast is a great value in Valdez.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gregory T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

I spent one night at the Keystone Hotel in Valdez, and left early in the morning after the regular and decent breakfast which was included in the price. The hotel is nice, clean and quiet, and for the price it seemed like an honest proposition in Valdez (which tends to be an expensive town, like so many other tourist attractions in Alaska). I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ricardo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Sharing a room amongst the three of us, the stay was fairly cheap (about $37), but the room had a fairly old feel to it and I woke up a night after accidentally knocking off the bedside lamp (it ended up hanging there upside down before I put it back in place).

The shower is a bit tricky to operate, but luckily enough they explain how to do it. (Unfortunately, they explain it in writing at the front desk and in the paperwork that awaits you in your room. If you don't dive into either of that straight away, you will run into some trouble taking a shower.)

The breakfast is quite alright, especially at that price. It includes a range of pre-packed muffins and other pastry as well as coffee, tee and hot chocolate (those drinks are available 24/7) and there are juices and cereal available as well.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Lars I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

There are not very many choices for hotels in Valdez, so the Keystone doesn't have too much competition, but of you are looking for a clean reasonably priced place to stay it is fine. We waited too late to book for the busy August season and so many places we called were totally booked. The Keystone looks like it is built from shipping containers and the rooms are VERY basic, but it is super clean and the bed is comfortable. A really good shower is a bonus, too. They serve a continental breakfast, but we decided to have a full breakfast down the street. Many of the rooms have more than one bed in them (a double/twin or 2 twins).

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

The problem with Valdez is that there are limited choices of where to stay. We drove up to the Keystone Hotel and it looked like a bunch of old tin barracks welded together. However, it was clean and the bed was comfortable and we got our best night sleep there (with our earplugs in). The staff is nice and helpful. The Valdez area is beautiful but the hotels are slim pickings....so...it's rated #2 because there is not many to choose from. Don't expect too much and you will not be disappointed...again, it is clean, big bathroom, comfortable bed for the night, what more do you need?

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pakrugg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Valdez hotels
0.4 mi away
Best Western Valdez Harbor Inn
0.5 mi away
Totem Hotel & Suites
Totem Hotel & Suites
#2 of 5 in Valdez
143 reviews
0.4 mi away
House on the Rock B & B
House on the Rock B & B
#1 of 14 in Valdez
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Mountain Sky Hotel
Mountain Sky Hotel
#4 of 5 in Valdez
214 reviews
27.4 mi away
Tsaina Lodge
Tsaina Lodge
#2 of 14 in Valdez
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Keystone Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Keystone Hotel

Address: 401 West Egan, Valdez, AK 99686
Region: United States > Alaska > Valdez
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Valdez
Price Range: £48 - £71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Keystone Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Also Known As:
Keystone Hotel Valdez

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing