We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice room with kitchen in beautiful Valdez”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Totem Hotel & Suites
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Valdez
Reviewed 5 July 2014

My husband and I stayed two nights at Totem Inn at the beginning of a 10 day Alaskan road trip at the end of June. Our experience was very good from start to end. We stayed in a suite in the Orca building, which was a very nice suite with kitchen. The cleanliness and tastefulness was very good. They had heavy curtains too, that helped in blocking out the long Alaskan summer light at night. The service was always friendly and fast. The restaurant food was adequate, not great, but certainly adequate, and since the room had a kitchen, we ate in one evening to save money (our favorite restaurant visited in Valdez was The Fat Mermaid). The hotel is also very close, very easy walking distance, to the harbor and numerous restaurants.
Because the Orca building, and our room, is side by side with the main building and restaurant, it might make for a bit quieter night to get a room in the Chugach building that is behind the main building instead.

Room Tip: A suite in the Chugach building is likely your best arrangement at the Totem Inn, since it is not as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debbie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (143)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

89 - 95 of 143 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2014

As a business traveler I've stayed at dozens of hotels and properties through the years; and I've stayed at the Totem twice now (each stay was over 30-days) and Pam at the front desk has always gone the extra mile for me to insure that I'm taken care of. The housekeeping staff is top notch and very friendly and the restaurant is very good. I would (and do) recommend The Totem Inn to my clients and friends and will continue to stay here as long as I have business in Valdez.

Room Tip: Stay in the suites if you want or need a kitchen along with a washer and dryer...they're also ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We had planned on staying in a cheaper motel, but that went bad. I explained the situation to them and they gave us all that was available-a suite- at base room rates, it even had a washer and dryer in room. They saved our trip to Valdez

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank othtraveler2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

Not very happy. Made a rez 6 months ago for a cabin. When we arrived was told it was not available but would upgrade to a suite. Put us on second floor w/no elevator. I have a sprained ankle and we have a dog that needs to go out during the night. Accomodations nice but not what we wanted.

Stayed: June 2014
1  Thank AlaskaVans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We have come here for breakfast every morning we were in Valdez. The staff is amazing, very friendly & attentive. The food is top notch.
The totem Benedict was awesome. Lots of variety on the menu. Also great pancakes.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HotWings2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We were in Valdez for two days and ate at the Totem Inn twice. Both times we had dinner. My husband had the halibut and I had the shrimp the first night. The portions were wonderful and the service from Jimmy was excellent. The second night we both had Prime Rib dinners. Excellent cut of meat and portions again were wonderful. Our server Hannah, was wonderful. I would do it again :)

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sue L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

I was surprised how large this suite was; more like a 1-bedroom apartment. It had a full kitchen, with more cabinets than you would ever need for a short-stay suite, and a living room separate from the bedroom, with a 2nd TV. The bed was a bit squishy, but that's my only complaint. Our room, on the south side, had a fantastic view of the nearby mountain peaks and some view of the harbor. Staff was very friendly and nice.

Room Tip: Second floor suites have the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 207LisaF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Valdez hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Valdez Harbor Inn
27 mi away
Tsaina Lodge
Tsaina Lodge
#2 of 14 in Valdez
33 reviews
0.8 mi away
House on the Rock B & B
House on the Rock B & B
#1 of 14 in Valdez
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Mountain Sky Hotel
Mountain Sky Hotel
#4 of 5 in Valdez
214 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Totem Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Totem Hotel & Suites

Address: 144 E. Egan Dr., Box 648, Valdez, AK 99686
Region: United States > Alaska > Valdez
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Valdez
Price Range: £95 - £234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Totem Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A wonderful hotel and suites combination, located 1 block from the harbor and Prince William Sound with the best breakfast in town! We look forward to your visit with us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Totem Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Totem Hotel Valdez

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing