We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Agate Inn, Inc.

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Agate Inn, Inc.
Ranked #3 of 24 Wasilla B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Homer, Alaska
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very nice stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2013

The Agate Inn is very much as described with the cleanliness, quiet, etc. I stayed here two nights with my boyfriend for his birthday and found that the Susitna Cottage was ready for us when we checked in. It was clean, warm, and did have a continental breakfast for us to include granola, cereal, delicious muffins, milk, and OJ. I was slightly disappointed as I did choose the cottage over cheaper options because it has a whirlpool tub. However, the whirlpool tub did not work and we were very much looking forward to a nice whirlpool soak after a long drive and day of dog sledding. I do realize we were staying in the 'off season' but it is always good to check these things to ensure they work when you have people coming to stay with you that have likely based their room choice on the amenities listed. Overall though, this is a very nice find in Wasilla and I would not hesitate to visit again when we are in the area and need a place to stay.

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank whiterabbit71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    11
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
20
33
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
South Sterling, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

We came as a family and took a guest house and suite. It was perfect because we could gather as a family in the house, and the couple that had the suite enjoyed a whirlpool tub. Full kitchen, four bathrooms in the house, lot of space. We travel a lot and found that the accommodations were clean and adequate. Continental breakfast was a nice touch, right in our room! The icing on the cake was when Sandy (the owner) and her husband stopped by our house to let us know they were feedingy he reindeer. They knew we were interested so they invited us to join them, we got to feed and pet the reindeer which was a real treat. Thank you Sandy, you made our stay special.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank secrethiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville FL
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2013

Off the beaten path in Wasilla, but easy to find. The staff was leaving when I arrived, but they took the time to get my key out of the lock box and tell me how to get in the building. The room was very clean and the whole place was so quiet. There were muffins and cereal right in the room along with a sink, microwave and refrigerator. The bathoom was clean. Overall a nice experience.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank All50states_21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the Agate Inn during July of 2012. The 3 bedroom apartment we stayed in was comfortable and perfect for our group of 6 adults and one baby. The biggest treat of all, was walking the reindeer! The reindeer each have such different personalities and the owners, Sandy and Harvey had stories about all of them. It was fun for all ages. Even our 14 month old got in one the action. (See the photo we enhanced for our Christmas card!) If we are ever in the area again, we won't hesitate to stay at the Agate Inn!

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Chitravel_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anchorage, Alaska, United States
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2012

I would not reccomend this place for a long term stay!!!
The dishes were never done. We got clean linens once a week. They were in our room every day for a security check but would not clean the place. It was just poor service for the amount of time we were there.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Unhappy873
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AgateInn, Owner at Agate Inn, Inc., responded to this review, 21 November 2012
Unhappy873 stayed at the Agate Inn for six weeks during October/November, 2012 as part of a limited service lodging contract with a State agency.

Our housekeeper provided daily trash removal and soiled towel replacement. There were no "security checks", however, we did turn off coffee pots and ovens left on, and unplugged irons left unattended. Weekly our housekeeper changed the bedding, cleaned the bathroom, dusted, mopped, vacuumed and cleaned the kitchen areas she could get to without disturbing the occupants' food and belongings.

We strive to meet every guest's expectations and provide exceptional service. We regret that Unhappy873 did not express dissatisfaction during his/her stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mishawaka, Indiana
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2012

What an amazing place to stay. We stayed here in Ausust on our way to Denali. What an amazing find. I can not say enough about this place. The hospitality of the owners Harvey and Sandy are above and beyond. We arrived late due to traffic in Anchorage and had missed the feeding time of the Reindeers but soon after while we were unloading our luggage Sandy arrived with one of the Reindeer for us to see and ask if we needed anything. We stayed in the Agate Guest house which was unbelievable. The house had 3 master bedrooms, dinning area, living area, full kitchen. The fridge was stocked with juice, milk, and muffins along with coffee. We were only staying one night but really wished we could of stayed longer. This was our third trip to Alaska and previously had always stayed in hotels in Anchorage, but after staying here we will make the 50 minute drive from Anchorage to stay here. The next morning before we left we were able to help feed the Reindeer and also take them for a walk on a leash. What a special experience this was. We will never forget our stay here and will definitely be back.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vacati0ners2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa City, Iowa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2012

We stayed at Agate Inn in August 2012. We loved the place! The owners made us feel very welcome by sharing knowledge of Alaska berries and feeding time with their awesome reindeer. We were also treated to an update on Alaska energy and a tour of what this home owner was doing to capture the sun energy. This place and the people running it get our top ratings. The room are spacious at a good price. Breakfast muffins in the refrigerator, cereal and juice options were included and suited us fine. Great place at a great price! Pat K

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wasilla
5.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Lake Lucille Inn
1.4 mi away
Alaska's Select Inn Hotel
4.1 mi away
Alaska's Lake Lucille Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Pioneer Ridge Bed and Breakfast Inn
2.5 mi away
Alaska Garden Gate B & B
7.2 mi away
Pioneer Motel
Pioneer Motel
#1 of 3 in Palmer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agate Inn, Inc.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agate Inn, Inc.

Property: Agate Inn, Inc.
Address: 4725 Begich Circle, Wasilla, AK 99654
Region: United States > Alaska > Wasilla
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Wasilla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Agate Inn, Inc. 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This unique country-style inn provides luxurious suites, vacation homes, comfortable spacious rooms, and meeting facilities in a multi-building complex situated on 16 wooded acres. Agate Inn also provides complimentary continental breakfast, satellite television, phones with data ports, voice mail, high speed Internet access, a business center, laundry facilities, barbecue, and freezer space. Join the owners at 10 am and 6 pm to visit and feed the Inn's 6 reindeer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Agate Inn, Inc. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing