We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Agate Inn, Inc.

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Agate Inn, Inc.
Ranked #3 of 24 Wasilla B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Littleton, Colorado
1 review
“Terrible”
Reviewed 22 September 2013

The only good thing I can say is that the place was clean. The staff was rude and the so called continental breakfast was a can of frozen juice, Sam's Club muffins and a box of milk left in our refrigerator. The outdated rooms left us cranky and unrested. The matresses felt paper thin. With the exception of the 24" flat screen tv, I could have easily walked back in time to the early 80's. Once again this place was clean but it goes at the bottom of our list as a place to stay in Wasilla

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank missdoos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AgateInn, Owner at Agate Inn, Inc., responded to this review, 24 September 2013
Missdoos....We are certainly sorry and disappointed that you were not satisfied with your stay at the Agate Inn. We are especially sorry you felt our staff was rude. We strive to make every guest's visit first rate. Without information about which room, which bed, which staff member or the circumstances, it is difficult to address and improve. Our typical guest comments indicate our staff, facility, services and continental breakfast are better than your experience. If you would like to send us more info about your stay, we will gladly look at ways we can improve. Again,...sorry we did not meet your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    11
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
21
33
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Union, Kentucky
Level Contributor
32 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We stayed here for one night on our way to Denali from Seward. The office is only open for check ins from 4 until 6PM and for check-ins after 6 there is a lock box with keys inside. We arrived late but had no problems getting our key and room assignments wtih the instructions given to us by email confirmation. We stayed in a King Jr. Suite that was spacious and comfortable. The breakfast provided (cereal, milk, juice, muffins) provided was a very nice touch.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank dedepo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stanwood, Washington
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013

We were looking for a B&B to stay in during our trip through Alaska and this was a lovely little gem. Just minutes from the hustle & bustle (?) of Wasila, the Agate Inn didn't feel like you were near any sort of city. The room was great-quiet, comfortable king bed, nice kitchenette area where we enjoyed a quick meal. Nice, simple continental breakfast provided in the room, so no need to rush to a dining room or stand in a long line.
The reindeer were a cute surprise and you are invited to their feeding, and we met them during our morning walk.
One weird thing-TV is a little small while we were hanging out at night, but not a downer.
The owner was friendly and helpful, especially when we needed to change plans.

Room Tip: Cottage may be nice for privacy, but don't overlook the rooms either
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katie z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SJC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 July 2013

In your way to or back from Denali, this is an excellent choice compared to the expensive stay in Anchorage. Quiet, clean, comfortable, surrounded by many trees and green, you can see the owner's care in every detail in the spacious room; equipped with mini fridge, microwave, dishes and an almost ready, very good quality Continental breakfast. Very comfortable bed and shower, Reindeers are an extra atraction....very nice

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank padnegro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, Alaska, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 June 2013

We came as a small group of Alaskan friends ages 50-94 to meet and greet at the business center. This facility is quickly accessed. It is a straight shot from Anchorage. It is the perfect spot to drop in for a critical values and mission retreat. Bring your family or your favorite small corporate meeting. The easy trails and unexpected joy of reindeer provide the perfect wholesome break to clear your head. Feeding these gentle, clean soft intelligent creatures flowers from my hand with new friends brought instant joy and connection to life. Amazing Agate Inn.

Room Tip: We didn't use the over night facilities, but given the silence we found at the meeting rooms I a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gale F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Homer, Alaska
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2013

The Agate Inn is very much as described with the cleanliness, quiet, etc. I stayed here two nights with my boyfriend for his birthday and found that the Susitna Cottage was ready for us when we checked in. It was clean, warm, and did have a continental breakfast for us to include granola, cereal, delicious muffins, milk, and OJ. I was slightly disappointed as I did choose the cottage over cheaper options because it has a whirlpool tub. However, the whirlpool tub did not work and we were very much looking forward to a nice whirlpool soak after a long drive and day of dog sledding. I do realize we were staying in the 'off season' but it is always good to check these things to ensure they work when you have people coming to stay with you that have likely based their room choice on the amenities listed. Overall though, this is a very nice find in Wasilla and I would not hesitate to visit again when we are in the area and need a place to stay.

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank whiterabbit71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Sterling, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

We came as a family and took a guest house and suite. It was perfect because we could gather as a family in the house, and the couple that had the suite enjoyed a whirlpool tub. Full kitchen, four bathrooms in the house, lot of space. We travel a lot and found that the accommodations were clean and adequate. Continental breakfast was a nice touch, right in our room! The icing on the cake was when Sandy (the owner) and her husband stopped by our house to let us know they were feedingy he reindeer. They knew we were interested so they invited us to join them, we got to feed and pet the reindeer which was a real treat. Thank you Sandy, you made our stay special.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank secrethiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wasilla
5.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Lake Lucille Inn
1.4 mi away
Alaska's Select Inn Hotel
4.1 mi away
Alaska's Lake Lucille Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Pioneer Ridge Bed and Breakfast Inn
2.4 mi away
Alaska Garden Gate B & B
7.2 mi away
Pioneer Motel
Pioneer Motel
#1 of 3 in Palmer
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agate Inn, Inc.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agate Inn, Inc.

Property: Agate Inn, Inc.
Address: 4725 Begich Circle, Wasilla, AK 99654
Region: United States > Alaska > Wasilla
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Wasilla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Agate Inn, Inc. 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This unique country-style inn provides luxurious suites, vacation homes, comfortable spacious rooms, and meeting facilities in a multi-building complex situated on 16 wooded acres. Agate Inn also provides complimentary continental breakfast, satellite television, phones with data ports, voice mail, high speed Internet access, a business center, laundry facilities, barbecue, and freezer space. Join the owners at 10 am and 6 pm to visit and feed the Inn's 6 reindeer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your Agate Inn, Inc. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing