We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Little retreat”
Review of Agate Inn, Inc.

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Agate Inn, Inc.
Ranked #3 of 25 Wasilla B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 29 June 2014

This place was great, quiet and secluded! It's definitely off the beaten path, which is great for someone like me who doesn't want to be in the business of town when I'm on vacation. Owners and staff were friendly, had more of a homey feel than the big hotels. They provide a lot of great information on things to do in the area. It was fun to look out the window and see reindeer just hanging out :) When I travel alone I am always a little more cautious of the places I book, but this place was perfect! I will stay here again when I come back into town!

Also, if you are a runner/walker, there is a path nearby that goes along the road that I saw people using, I didn't know that before I came but will bring running gear next time!

Room Tip: The Junior King suite was great! I don't think you can go wrong a room here though!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bridgitte2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (94)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 94 reviews

Reviewed 25 November 2013

Our 3 day ladies’ retreat at the Agate Inn was a great experience. The owners were very attentive and provided everything we requested. We used the meeting room during the day for meetings and meals, and three other buildings for our sleeping rooms. Everything was clean and nicely decorated. We hope to return every fall.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PJ H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

We spent one night in the Jade Jr. King Suite. The room was HUGE & impeccably clean, sitting area with 2 leather recliners by the fireplace, kitchenette, whirlpool tub, & of course king bed. Nicely decorated with local touches. The whirlpool was some nice relaxation after a long day of driving down from Fairbanks. The owners were very freindly & informative & invited us to the reindeer feeding, which we attended with them, & enjoyed very much. There was no special view from this room, but the location feels as though you are way out in the wilderness, but in reality is only a few hundred feet from the highway & a short distance to town & restauraunts etc. The breakfast that is left in the fridge is nothing special, but adequate, & we didn't travel to Alaska for the breakfast, so not an issue for us. Other than the reindeer feeding, we did not spend any time outdoors or exploring the grounds. If we ever pass thru the area again, we would definately return & we highly recommend the Agate Inn.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Terry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

The only good thing I can say is that the place was clean. The staff was rude and the so called continental breakfast was a can of frozen juice, Sam's Club muffins and a box of milk left in our refrigerator. The outdated rooms left us cranky and unrested. The matresses felt paper thin. With the exception of the 24" flat screen tv, I could have easily walked back in time to the early 80's. Once again this place was clean but it goes at the bottom of our list as a place to stay in Wasilla

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank missdoos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AgateInn, Owner at Agate Inn, Inc., responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2013

Missdoos....We are certainly sorry and disappointed that you were not satisfied with your stay at the Agate Inn. We are especially sorry you felt our staff was rude. We strive to make every guest's visit first rate. Without information about which room, which bed, which staff member or the circumstances, it is difficult to address and improve. Our typical guest comments indicate our staff, facility, services and continental breakfast are better than your experience. If you would like to send us more info about your stay, we will gladly look at ways we can improve. Again,...sorry we did not meet your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We stayed here for one night on our way to Denali from Seward. The office is only open for check ins from 4 until 6PM and for check-ins after 6 there is a lock box with keys inside. We arrived late but had no problems getting our key and room assignments wtih the instructions given to us by email confirmation. We stayed in a King Jr. Suite that was spacious and comfortable. The breakfast provided (cereal, milk, juice, muffins) provided was a very nice touch.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank dedepo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

We were looking for a B&B to stay in during our trip through Alaska and this was a lovely little gem. Just minutes from the hustle & bustle (?) of Wasila, the Agate Inn didn't feel like you were near any sort of city. The room was great-quiet, comfortable king bed, nice kitchenette area where we enjoyed a quick meal. Nice, simple continental breakfast provided in the room, so no need to rush to a dining room or stand in a long line.
The reindeer were a cute surprise and you are invited to their feeding, and we met them during our morning walk.
One weird thing-TV is a little small while we were hanging out at night, but not a downer.
The owner was friendly and helpful, especially when we needed to change plans.

Room Tip: Cottage may be nice for privacy, but don't overlook the rooms either
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank katie z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

In your way to or back from Denali, this is an excellent choice compared to the expensive stay in Anchorage. Quiet, clean, comfortable, surrounded by many trees and green, you can see the owner's care in every detail in the spacious room; equipped with mini fridge, microwave, dishes and an almost ready, very good quality Continental breakfast. Very comfortable bed and shower, Reindeers are an extra atraction....very nice

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank padnegro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wasilla hotels
5.1 mi away
Best Western Lake Lucille Inn
4.1 mi away
Alaska's Lake Lucille Bed & Breakfast
1.9 mi away
Pioneer Ridge Bed and Breakfast Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Alaska's Select Inn Hotel
2.7 mi away
Alaska Adventure Unlimited Chalets
10.5 mi away
Alaska's Wasilla Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agate Inn, Inc.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agate Inn, Inc.

Address: 4725 E Begich Cir, Wasilla, AK 99654-7605
Region: United States > Alaska > Wasilla
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Wasilla
Price Range: £118 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Agate Inn, Inc. 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideal lodging for business travelers, retreats, reunions, visiting family and vacationers. Country-style inn with five spacious king rooms, four comfortable two- & three-bedroom suites, two wheelchair accessible suites, two vacation homes, and meeting facilities in a multi-building complex situated on 20 wooded acres. Agate Inn also provides complimentary continental breakfast, satellite television, phones with voice mail, high speed Internet access, a business center, laundry facilities, barbecue, and freezer space. Join the owners at 10 am and 6 pm inside the reindeer pen to visit and feed the Inn's 5 reindeer. En-route to Mt. McKinley and Denali National Park, the Agate Inn is just minutes from Wasilla and Palmer with easy access to salmon fishing, glacier hiking, the Iditarod Sled Dog Race headquarters, Independence Mine State Park, Hatcher Pass, the Musk Ox Farm, gold mines, hiking, skiing, and wildlife viewing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Agate Inn, Inc. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing