We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Slammin burgers and fresh fried shrimp” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Swiftwater Seafoods Restaurant

Swiftwater Seafoods Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 10 Restaurants in Whittier
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Child-friendly, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Slammin burgers and fresh fried shrimp”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

Went there the first time a week ago. Slammin burgers and amazing local fresh battered and deep fried shrimp. Pasta salad a little heavy on the feta but otherwise alright. Crab cakes were yummy two bite size patties nice and crispy on the outside. Staff is very friendly and ready to take your order. The order lines are right by the front door so it gets a little hectic with a lot of people coming, going and ordering but the food came out fast and was hot and delish. Outside eating area was nice but be prepared to share seating on the inside as they have long tables with bench style seating. Good value for the price.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank causdahl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    52
    15
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
58 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“The best halibut fish and chips on the planet”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

Snuck through the tunnel by car on the way from Girdwood to Seward. Didn't think we had the time, but we lucked out in a big way. The tunnel is fun in that you go through this skinny tunnel for a couple miles and come out on the other side into a land that makes you feel like you found Brigadoon. Whittier is beautiful and worth the trip in and of itself, but the food at Swiftwater is amazing. The halibut fish and chips are out of this world. The breading is light and crisp and the fish is juicy, firm and flaky all at the same time. Just a bite of heaven. Never had anything like it. The rhubarb crisp with the ice cream on top was pretty spectacular, too. And a great Alaska beer selection to boot. We sat in side at one of the long table on a misty day, but the outside seating was covered and ample. We didn't wait long coming in at 1pm on a weekday. Placed our order, sat down with a beer and the food was at our table in less than 15 minutes. This place is a total gem.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jose G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chevy Chase, Maryland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

A very friendly and welcoming host. I had the hell. Which was fantastic. I agree with the other reviewers noting that the view is wonderful. Don't go back to the ship. Instead sit and enjoy great meal in a truly Alaskan atmosphere

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank CannistraD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington Heights, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best fish sandwich every!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

Ate here a couple of times and the food is amazing. Had the chowder and the Halibut sandwich along with a cold beer. There is a nice outside eating area and service was great. Highly recommend it.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Christine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilbert, Arizona
Level Contributor
126 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Great clam chowder”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

I dont even like seafood, and it was tasty! Mini shrimps were sweet and good. Nice beer selection. Really homely... Some locals there too

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank DebyAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Swiftwater Seafoods Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Swiftwater Seafoods Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing