We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wooded Wonderland”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Willow
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gigglewood Lakeside Inn
Ranked #3 of 7 Willow B&B and Inns
altoona pa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wooded Wonderland”
Reviewed 12 June 2008

what a wonderful place with great hosts and things to entertain you. Beautiful area, great breakfast. Had fun with the paddleboat on the lake and the ball game.

  • Liked — location hosts activities
  • Disliked — could not name a thing
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank vstarcathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    2
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
5
11
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Williamsburg, VA
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2008

We stayed at Gigglewood Bed & Breakfast on our way from Anchorage to Fairbanks. How lucky we were, to find this delightful lodging!!! The room was spacious & comfortable. Our hosts were delightful. We enjoyed a great breakfast overlooking the lake. A return visit is in our future plans.

Bill & Barbara Byrd
Williamsburg, Virginia

  • Liked — Quiet & Peaceful
  • Disliked — There was nothing we did not like
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank bjj98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthernMN
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2007

My 15 year old son and I stayed here for two nights before heading to Seward for a cruise. To give you an indication of our experience, my son enjoyed our time at the B & B more than the cruise. The atmosphere is welcoming (McDuff the Scottish terrier was in top form). We stayed in the lakeview room and it was comfortable, quiet and homey. The owners were very friendly and I enjoyed our morning conversations over the delicious breakfasts.
I highly recommend this B & B if you're staying north of Anchorage. The drive took about 2 hours and it wasn't too far off the main highway. It's convenient if you want to go to Talkeetna also, which we did.

  • Liked — Friendly owners
  • Disliked — Didn't spend enough time here!
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wanderfool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oronogo
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 July 2007

We stayed at Gigglewood the first night of our Alaska vacation, and it couldn't have been a better choice for us. We normally don't sleep the first night away from home, but it was so peaceful there that we slept as well as we do at home. The next day we drove up to Denali and stayed there for a couple of days. On our return trip we spent three more nights at Gigglewood and got to know our hosts a little better. The Clines are super hosts! I mentioned to Linda that they make everyone who comes there feel special. Her reply? "Well, they are!" Oh, and she's a good cook, too!

Jim & Nancy

  • Liked — Definitely the hosts
  • Disliked — We liked it all.
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim-Nancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 July 2007

From the main road (AK-1), there are signs that provide directions to Gigglewood. One has to drive a gravel road to get there, which we found quite amusing. "What in the heck have I got us into?" crossed my mind. However, we were very pleased with our lodging. We stayed in Cottage East, which included a coffee maker/coffee, frig, queen bed, shower, etc. Cottage East and the Lakeside cottage share an entry way and are under the same roof, but are separate from the main house. There is sufficient privacy. The lake was calm and a paddleboat was available to guests. Breakfast was in the dining room of the main house overlooking the lake, shared with the owners and other guests. The hosts are very kind hearted people.

Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank Atom9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2006

Arrived at Gigglewood around 10pm for 1 night. Owner very friendly. We stayed in the Lakeside Cottage, which had a full kitchen, 2 twin beds flanking a picture window overlooking the lake, and another twin bed in the dining area. No separate rooms, but separte use areas. I thought it was charming.

Driving to the B&B I was a bit nonplussed to discover that I had to travel 5 miles on non-paved roads. When I mentioned this to our host, he said " You can't visit Alaska without going on gravel roals" How true this turned out to be.

Breakfast was fun the next morning. Owners made a delicious baked omelet, banana bread and blueberry bread. Fresh fruit, juices and toast were also available. Dining room overlooked the lake and it was entertaining talking to our host and other visitors about their alaskan experiences.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Leslie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roseville, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2005

The accomodations were splendid. Jacuzzi tub in the bathroom (with heated tiles for chilly feet!), his and hers sink, very nice bed and a kitchenette. The B&B overlooks a wide, shallow lake with waterfowl and a beaver pond. We went out in the paddleboat, and they also have mountain bikes for you to use. The owners are very much into fishing, and due to this fact and the location of the B&B it makes a great home base from which to go fishing in the area. We used it as a place to just relax for a day; it was a midway point between the interior and coastal legs of our Alaska vacation. It was a great move on our part, because it was the perfect place to just sit and enjoy the peace and the scenery. I'd specifically recommend this either for people who want to fish in the area, or for people like us who are looking for an idyllic place to rest. Oh, and breakfast was DIVINE.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank shalehawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Willow
21.6 mi away
Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge
Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge
#2 of 5 in Talkeetna
851 reviews
20.5 mi away
Alaskan Host Bed and Breakfast
12.5 mi away
Talkeetna Denali View Lodge & Cabins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.5 mi away
Denali Overlook Inn
Denali Overlook Inn
#1 of 17 in Talkeetna
242 reviews
21.7 mi away
A Mooseberry Inn B&B
A Mooseberry Inn B&B
#2 of 7 in Willow
8 reviews
10.1 mi away
Talkeetna Wilderness
Talkeetna Wilderness
#4 of 16 in Talkeetna
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gigglewood Lakeside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gigglewood Lakeside Inn

Property: Gigglewood Lakeside Inn
Address: Box 1601 HC 89, Willow, AK 99688
Region: United States > Alaska > Willow
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Willow
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mid-way between Willow and Talkeetna, Alaska...20 miles north of Willow and 26 miles south of Talkeetna, this is a great mid-way place to stay between Anchorage and Denali National Park. Three lovely "edge of the wilderness" vacation cabin rentals overlook Upper Caswell Lake, 5 miles from George Parks Highway #1 at Milepost 87.9. Centrally located near many outdoor activities and attractions, cabins are quiet and private...the perfect place to unwind and enjoy the peaceful sights and sounds of nature between your local adventures. All cabins have kitchens/kitchenettes and are fully furnished, just bring food and clothes! Cabin rentals include WiFi, use of paddle boat, mountain bikes, outdoor gazebo, gas grill and fire pit. Freezer space and outdoor fish cleaning station are also complimentary for our angling guests. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gigglewood Lakeside Inn Alaska/Willow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing