We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Place to Stay M & J, Anchorage AK”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wrangell
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rooney's Roost Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 9 Wrangell B&B and Inns
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect Place to Stay M & J, Anchorage AK”
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Stayed here for 5 days and had a terrific time in Wrangell and the Inn was top notch. Aside from the very nice room and bathroom, the fantastic deck and porch and general inside sitting area, from the 5 different scrumptious breakfasts, Becky and her husband Gordon are two really wonderful and decent human beings. We felt so welcome here and the advice and tips about Wrangell were extremely helpful. We have stayed in Bed and Breakfasts for many, many years and without a doubt this one is on our top 10 list. Thank you Becky and Gordon!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    7
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
2
20
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Federal Way, WA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 July 2013

As a family of 3 we had a wonderful trip to Wrangell and enjoyed Rooney's Roost. Becky picked us up at the airport and let us in our room early in the day. Fresh cookies everyday. It was an easy walk to anything in town, as well as the beach, and Mount Dewy trail. The breakfast was wonderful. Becky gave us a late check out and returned us to the airport.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FederalWay_WAOlson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tybee Island, Georgia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

We stayed with the Rooneys during our recent visit to Wrangell and had a wonderful time. The beds are comfortable, the rooms are clean and the breakfasts were great. What else could we have asked for? And I forgot to mention that the hosts were friendly and delicious cookies were available at all times. What a pleasant place to stay for a very reasonable cost!

Room Tip: We requested a room with a private bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KFR2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2011

We stayed 2 nights in the Sunshine Room which has it's own ensuite facilities. Room was clean and tidy and well presented. Bed was very comfortable. Breakfast each day was delicious. Location is great and an easy walk from the ferry. Becky was a perfect host and dropped us back to the ferry after our stay. For those interested in bear watching the AnAn Bear Tour is well worth while depending on the season. Highly recommended B&B.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roger H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2011

My wife and I stayed here for one night.
The owner was pleasant and friendly and the home is nicely appointed.
The bed in our room was incredibly high which we found really unusual and although comfortable it couldn’t be considered user friendly or convenient.
Some older people or someone with a disability would be likely to have difficulty getting in and out.
Breakfast was ok but nothing to write home about.

Room Tip: Enquire about bed height.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NormanND
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2010

What a lovely B and B, just a 5 minute walk from the ferry terminal. The house is very quaint and cosy. We had the "Sunshine" room, decorated in blues and yellows, very homely and comfortable. The other rooms, had a peek through the door, all looked really nice as well, all upstairs. Beautiful furnishings throughout the house. Becky, our hostess, made the most delicious breakfasts, started with berries, fruit, yoghurt, then first morning egg and sausage quiche/flan, next morning apple "pancake" served in thick slabs straight out of the frypan, sausages on the side. Yummo! Becky also left cookies/ brownies on the table during the day. Very pretty gardens full of summer flowers and colour. Highly recommend to anyone visiting Wrangell and looking for somewhere really nice to srtay.

Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank perthlady3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poulsbo, WA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2010

We spent just one night in Wrangell at Rooney's Roost. The place is very attractive, both outside and inside. Our room was very attractive, with lots of pillows on the bed, and low ceilings in the corners (gabled roof?). BUT - there wasn't much space in our room for OUR stuff. The bathroom was very small, including a small shower. The light in the bathroom was not good for putting on make-up. BUT - the bed was very comfortable - we slept great! The breakfast was good, and the hostess was very accomodating about allowing us to leave our luggage there until our ferry came later in the day. So - overall, a good experience, but some things could be improved.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NWBabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Rooney's Roost Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rooney's Roost Bed & Breakfast

Property: Rooney's Roost Bed & Breakfast
Address: 206 McKinnon, PO Box 552, Wrangell, AK 99929
Region: United States > Alaska > Wrangell
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Wrangell
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing