We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very impressive”

Kartchner Caverns State Park
Ranked #1 of 14 things to do in Benson
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Surprise, Arizona
Level Contributor
57 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very impressive”
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Located about 50 miles east of Tuscon. This was well worth the trip. I was impressed at the amount of expense they go through to preserve the cave. I can understand why people love this place. Great time

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank dsabo6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,270 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,022
    174
    45
    18
    11
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
170 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Unbelievable place”
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

I'm a retired tour guide and this is one of the most outstanding places to visit anywhere. It's a long story and found recently and very few people have viewed it. It's a long complete underground naturally formed. It has had doors installed at each end so air can't destroy it. It's an easy guided tour that you will never forget. To much info to write here but you will be totally pleased.

Helpful?
3 Thank robert f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lighten Up Loretta”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

The caves are pretty neat on their own, but these people act like they're selling you tickets to the Taj Mahal. The tickets are $23 each for a 1.5 hour tour, and they get snippy with you if you don't show up an hour early--even when the tour isn't full. No cameras, cell phones, or bags of any sort are allowed inside, so don't count on getting any photos, either.

The cave tour is beautiful, but SO slow. It should probably take about half of the time it does, and safety patrol is with you getting on people for really silly things the whole way.

In summary, probably worth the trip because there's not a whole lot else going on down this way, but the way the staff treats people, we left feeling annoyed rather than awed by the caves.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank ettikate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A year-round gem”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Whether it's to tour the incredible caves, watch the short video showing the journey from obscure cave to major tourist destination, stay at the campground with its gorgeous views and outstanding hosts, enjoy the unusual food in the Bat Cave Restaurant, or find nicely made gifts and much more in the visitor center, this park has it all. Camped there for four nights, I was able to see how remarkable this place really is. At the Visitor Center, you'd expect the Rangers and staff to be informative, helpful, and personable, but these folks take that to a whole other level with their unhurried attention to your needs ~ for me, it was finding a spot for me on a tour the next morning, allowing accommodations for my allergies to fragrances, really taking time to give me all the information I was seeking, and to learn more about this park and the general area. They were great!
The campground hosts, Ron and Bill were the most friendly and helpful hosts I've ever had in twenty years of camping. They don't just check you in, make sure your site is okay, and never see you again. If you need anything, they help... troubleshooting an RV's electrical system, helping people park if need be, letting them move to a different site if they need to be closer to something/someone, always with an attitude like, "we're happy to help", plus, they're just plain fun if you end up talking with them. They're the first hosts (in 20 ryrs) I've ever asked to take pictures of, because they made my stay so enjoyable. The caves are not to be missed. I hadn't taken a cave tour there since shortly after they opened, and my tour guide was superb, both with his knowledge, but also injecting his personality a bit, so it made for a fun experience too, and he got a round of applause at the end. I had two lunches at the Bat Cafe ~ their extensive menu has unusual combinations of healthy foods to make their wraps and sandwiches very enticing. I'll enjoy returning to enjoy the camping, hiking trails, and friendliness of the whole staff. (I don't know if there's stroller parking, but it's very wheelchair accessible.)

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank Pam E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver
Level Contributor
73 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

The limestone caverns were only recently discovered in 1978. It is well worth the drive to visit them.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kartchner Caverns State Park also viewed

 

Been to Kartchner Caverns State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing