We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pizza and Breadsticks were great, but Wings are Awful.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of R & R Pizza Express

R & R Pizza Express
Ranked #6 of 38 Restaurants in Benson
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$8
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Delivery, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Street Parking, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: R&R Pizza - Benson is a free standing building on the corner of Huachuca and 5th st. With lots of parking including truck and bus parking in the lot across Huachuca or on the street. We have an occupancy rating of over 200 people, including a game room and a private party room,for birthdays or meetings.
Benson, Arizona
1 review
“Pizza and Breadsticks were great, but Wings are Awful.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

Our family ordered a combo deal with a Medium pizza, an order of breadsticks, 20 wings and a coke. They told us $24.99, but the total was nearly $30, odd. Delivery was quick, and pizza and breadsticks tasted great, but we were incredibly disappointed with our wings. Chicken was fatty, dark meat, with bone slivers all throughout. I'm pretty sure these are the pieces of chicken that need to be thrown out.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank krenea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PizzaguyBensonAZ, Owner at R & R Pizza Express, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Let's start with the price confusion.
The amazing deal you ordered is priced at 25.99, then you added white sauce for and additional 59 cents and an extra dipping sauce for 69 cents for a subtotal of 27.27. Unlike our competitors we did not charge you a delivery charge, so all that was left was Uncle Sam's cut (TAX) of $2.35. ( I think that is outrageous too!) for a grand total of 29.,62. I hope that clears up any confusion you had.
Secondly, I would like to remind you of our absolute %100 satisfaction guarantee. If you had contacted us with a problem we would have promptly sent out another driver with a replacement item.
Thirdly, you are right, chicken wings are fatty, fleshy, stringy, formerly known as garbage pieces of chicken. That is actually how they got there start, in a bar wondering what they could do with scrap chicken pieces that would make a spicy product that would cause customers to by more beer. Having said that, today the wing is the most expensive cut of chicken and producers have genetically modified their chickens to make them bigger and "better". We use a very large wing from Tyson, (the nations premiere supplier) but they are still chicken wings from a real chickens and, with the thousands of pounds that flow through our kitchen, sometimes something less than ideal may show up..
If you don't like the fatty, fleshy, stringy part of the chicken, but still want that Buffalo Wing experience, I would recommend our boneless wings. They are once again a real cut of chicken, not a nugget, but with no skin, no bone, and all the goodness of being drenched in one of our signature sauces.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    22
    11
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Benson, Arizona
Level Contributor
110 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Could be worse. ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

Third time eating here when staying over night for business in BFE. They have a pizza buffet with different Kinds of pizza, wings, and salad. Its not what I'm used to being from Phoenix. After all, it's Benson. It's fine for me but if you're a picky eater, good luck. Cashier girl is super professional and you get free ice cream after.

Helpful?
1 Thank BigOhvac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PizzaguyBensonAZ, Owner at R & R Pizza Express, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Thanks for the great review.
From one picky eater to another, I am glad we are not in Phoenix. My first Pizza Place was in the valley and I am so glad to be away from that overheated metropolis.
Keep us in mind as you travel around the state as we have several locations and were voted best pizza in Tucson Market, two years in a row, we will have to look for a Phoenix competition so we can win that one too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon
Level Contributor
218 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Not too bad”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014

Pizza buffet was good. Variety of pizza. Couple kinds of chicken wings, but not the meaty part. That was sort of strange. Ice cream for dessert, didn't care for the chocolate crunch.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank HappyMiss37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PizzaguyBensonAZ, Owner at R & R Pizza Express, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Thank you for the feedback.
You are the first person I have ever had complain about not getting the meatier (paddle) section of the wing. Everyone seems to want the little drumstick piece ( I guess cause they are cuter and have a handle???). Even so, every chicken, barring some terrible accident has the same variety and number of wing sections, so they will always both be there, just luck of the draw as how the mix comes out from grower to packager to supplier to us. We do also offer an amazing boneless wing (not a breaded nugget) that is available on our buffet at well. If you are not seeing what you are looking for on the buffet, let us know. We will be happy to accommodate your desires.
We do include a scoop premium ice cream with our buffet and with the Chocolate Malted Crunch has s cult like following, we have recently began serving some Blue Bell flavors in addition to our Thrifty Drug favorites. Flavors are always changing and there are always great choices.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
53 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Typical small town pizza ”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014 via mobile

The lunch buffet is similar to Pizza Hut... Nothing special. Food is okay, atmosphere is typical for a budget pizza place.

Helpful?
Thank Michele H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PizzaguyBensonAZ, Owner at R & R Pizza Express, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Thanks for the feedback.
I am trying to take the comparison to Pizza Hut as a complement, but unlike Pizza Hut's buffet, I can assure you that no frozen pizzas were harmed in the making of our buffet.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Cruces, New Mexico
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Even Better Than I Remembered!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014

We really enjoyed dining at several R&R Pizza locations when we lived in Arizona. We were traveling through Benson, AZ and noticed there was an R&R there. Of course we had to stop for lunch. We were not disappointed and in fact, it was better than we remembered. In addition to the excellent meal, we enjoyed visiting with the owner in the easy to find, mid-town location. It appears popular with locals and travelers alike. We will return!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PizzaguyBensonAZ, Owner at R & R Pizza Express, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
It was nice meeting you folks. I am glad you had a wonderful experience. We hope to see you again soon. Since it has been a while since you lived near one of our locations you will need to try some of our more recent very popular items, like White Sauce Pizza with chicken and Bacon, Boneless wings, or even a GLUTEN FREE pizza.
Don't forget to stop in and say Hello, next time you are passing through Benson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed R & R Pizza Express also viewed

 

Been to R & R Pizza Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing