We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“backache, drunkers in a histroric hotel”
Review of Bisbee Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bisbee Grand Hotel
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Bisbee
Certificate of Excellence
Phoenix, AZ
2 reviews
“backache, drunkers in a histroric hotel”
Reviewed 29 December 2008

The is a old historical hotel with a Victorian style layout. The room and hall are nicely decorated and has the old charm. The bathroom is small but appropriated with the age of the hotel.

First major problem is the bed. It is so old and has no back support. I had a backache the following day for the whole day. We were at room #1.

The second problem is the hotel guests. This hotel is on the second floor of a saloon. On a weekend nights, there would be party goers that bright loud noise back to the hotel when they are so intoxicated. If you are a party type, this should not be a problem.

Oh one last thing, This hotel has no elevator. The only way to go to your room is through a twenty-plus-steps stair. Be prepare to haul your luggage.

  • Liked — Historcial aspect of the hotel, location.
  • Disliked — Loud noises, an old bed.
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank MrLightSleeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Granddame65, Owner at Bisbee Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 20 January 2009
Let me start this response with an apology that the mattress in #1 was not to your liking. we have replaced the mattress with a new one. We are an old hotel with old Victorian charm, with that being said. Me and my wife do our best to upgrade anything we find that is worn out or otherwise not suitable for a pleasant stay in our hotel. Once i am very sorry your stay was not as comfortable as it should have been.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    163
    94
    23
    22
    17
See reviews for
39
191
16
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chandler, Arizona
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2008

We stayed at the Bisbee Grand over the Halloween weekend and had a blast. After reading some of the reviews about this hotel, I feel a lot of them were unfair.
This is an old hotel people- it is not the Four Seasons! What makes this hotel unique is its charm. The rooms were very clean and roomy. We stayed in the Oriental Room. We heard that the room was haunted, but didn't see anything. The front desk lady, Linda (i think?) was very pleasant and helpful. I find it funny how people were complaining about breakfast- I thought (and so did the other 7 people in our group) it was just fine. Fresh fruits and pasteries. All good.
The town itself is so full of history and fun stories that we are so excited to return. I am sure we will stay again at the Bisbee Grand again! Loved the location, not noisey at all and very friendly.

  • Stayed October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank DIANEQueenCreek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 July 2008

I read the reviews here after I booked our room at The Grand. I was a bit apprehensive at first thinking this place was going to be noisy and uncomfortable. I was mistaken and fortunately, whoever wrote those few bad reviews must have been having a really rough day or life for that matter.
I am skeptical from the get go because I have stayed at some pretty sketchy hotels before. You know, other people being loud and obnoxious, partying all night and the management not willing to do a thing. The Bisbee Grand is not like that at all. From the moment my wife and I pulled into town, we just fell in love with everything about Bisbee and especially, the hotel. The staff was very helpful and friendly. We had no problem checking in. Went right into the office, checked in and were escorted to our wonderful room. We stayed in the Hacienda suite. It was very charming. We liked the headboard that was mounted into the plaster interior wall, the decorative little beehive fireplace and the bathroom that was very unique. It had a little staircase that led up to the sink, shower and commode. The bed was large and very comfy and the hotel was pretty quiet all night long. In the morning, we were treated to a very generous breakfast consisting of yogurt with granola on the side, various fresh fruit, danish, hard boiled eggs, bagels, two kinds of cheese, coffee and o.j. It was more than adequate.
We did have the opportunity to view some of the other rooms as well and they were just as nice as ours, especially, The Victorian. It was very spacious and had a claw foot tub as well. We will be staying in that room next time. Do yourself a favor, dont listen to the negative reviews about the Bisbee Grand hotel because they are hugely untrue. You will be very happy staying here as my wife and I were and will be staying at again in the future!

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank AZBigD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Douglas Az
1 review
Reviewed 28 June 2008

i absolutely loved my stay at the bisbee grand hote...it was quite the experience alll the rooms have different themes the best is the old western suite...the bed is a covered wagon.....soo cool..i definitly recommend to everyone...

Stayed May 2008
Helpful?
Thank myranda23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
phoenix,az
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2008

We only stayed one night, but wish we could have stayed more. The room was small but cozy. The breakfast was good. I'm not sure what people are complaining about. There was plenty of choices and I left breakfast satisfied. I sat on the patio and talked to other guest, they all seemed happy with the rooms. It was loud when every one was heading back to the room, but that is something that I expected. We will come back soon!!

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travellite1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maricopa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2008

The stay started off great, we were upgraded to a suite which was awesome. This was our first family trip with our infant.
our room was on the second floor which made it a little hard going up and down the stairs with a baby, stoller and bag. Breakfast sucked! The bagles were hard as rocks and the food looked like it was a week or two old. At night, there was a lady playing her guitar which was okay but we had to pass through a group of smokers to get to the lobby door. The noise from the bar made it hard to put our daughter to sleep. When we made the restervations, the lady insured us the room was quite and I let her know we were bringing an infant. We left early the second night cause we didn't want to be in the hotel anymore.
Also I thought it was weird we had to sign a paper for the things we cound not do (I.E. smoke, breaking stuff, no refunds.....)
I would not recommed this place to anyone

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank BlueandSailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Granddame65, Owner at Bisbee Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 17 June 2008
I am always very sad when someone who has stayed with us has had a less than stellar experience as me and my wife work very hard to make everything as perfect as we can. As far as our breakfast being "a week or two old" well that is just not true we put out fresh fruit, bagel's, yogurt and cheeses every morning. we never reuse old cheese's or Bagels (these or not rock hard). I have stayed in the Victorian suite many times myself and have never been able to hear the bar.. I guess you have super- human hearing...I myself upgraded these folks to the bigger suite for free as they did have an infant. I do not have control what people do on a public side walk i am sorry you had to ask smokers to move out of your way.. I can only say obviously we are not the Westin we are a historical hotel in a historical mining town. I am pained that you feel the need say so many untrue things about our hotel when we welcomed you, gave you a suite for free and did our best to take care of your needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, AZ
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2008

My boyfriend and I loved the Bisbee Grand. We stayed in the covered wagon room, which was about the coolest thing ever. The hotel is centrally located, so we were able to park the car on Friday, and didn't get back in until Sunday. The room shared a wall with the bar, but the noise was muffled and didn't keep us up at all. We thought it was quaint that the clerk was also the bartender, and just generally loved the Bisbee Grand. Also, apparently the Victorian Room is haunted, so we're excited to go back and try to stay in that room as well. If you have little kids, they'll think the covered wagon is great!

I was a little trepedatious after reading the reviews, but as long as you understand that this is an OLD hotel, and that it's not going to have all the amenities of a Four Seasons, or even a Holiday Inn, you'll be fine. You should be staying here precisely because of the hotel's interesting history, and kitschy atmosphere.

  • Liked — The historic building
  • Disliked — Hard water
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank kateb99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bisbee
0.2 mi away
Copper Queen Hotel
Copper Queen Hotel
#7 of 11 in Bisbee
746 reviews
21.5 mi away
The Tombstone Grand Hotel
22.6 mi away
Tombstone Monument Ranch
Tombstone Monument Ranch
#2 of 9 in Tombstone
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.7 mi away
Sierra Suites
Sierra Suites
#1 of 22 in Sierra Vista
576 reviews
21.4 mi away
Landmark Lookout Lodge
Landmark Lookout Lodge
#3 of 9 in Tombstone
512 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Gardens At Mile High Ranch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bisbee Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bisbee Grand Hotel

Property: Bisbee Grand Hotel
Address: 61 Main St, Bisbee, AZ 85603-9901
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Bisbee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Bisbee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bisbee Grand Hotel Bed and Breakfast, located at 61 Main St. in Historic Bisbee, Arizona is an elegant escape back to the turn of the century. Each of our seven suites and six rooms are elegantly appointed with antiques, fine art, and extremely comfortable furniture. No two are alike and there is a theme sure to suit any taste. All rooms have their own private bath. As a part of the ongoing renovations and improvements to the hotel, in July of 2008 Air Conditioning was added throughout the hotel. Constructed in 1906 and restored in 1986 in Old West Victorian style, the bed and breakfast hotel features six suites - The Victorian, The Oriental, The Captain's, The Hacienda, The Western, The Hollywood, and The Garden - in addition to seven guestrooms with their own unique decor. Nestled in the copper-rich Mule Mountains, Bisbee's historic architecture, virtually unchanged since 1910, is a popular attraction and provides the town with a unique Old World charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Bisbee Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing