We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stay anywhere else”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Bisbee Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bisbee Grand Hotel
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Bisbee
Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Stay anywhere else”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2007

Reserved room wasn't available when we arrived because of plumbing problems, and the clerk, who looked to be about 16, said we could stay in a better room "for free."

We looked at the "better" room. It had no windows, smelled terrible and was dirty.

When we politely told her we would simply move on to another place, and headed out the door, the manager -- who was dressed in leather and had tattoos -- chased us down on the street in a threatening manner to complain that we were being too picky.

  • Stayed March 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bkpix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Granddame65, Owner at Bisbee Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 11 April 2007
We are very sorry for your inconvience in this matter.
We indeed were working on a plumbing problem that was fixed as the guest arrived (we were cleaning the suite). The Lobby person is indeed 16 and in high school (we do try to support the local teens).
As for tatto's and leather.. I do not own any garb made of leather (I like cottons) As far as dirty.. well I truely think our hotel is very clean we inspect clean, clean and clean.. Well once agian i am very sorry for the inconvience and that our hotel was not for you. Happy trails!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    160
    90
    22
    22
    16
See reviews for
38
186
16
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2007

I recently stayed at the Bisbee Grand Hotel in the Captain's Suite. Having read some recent negative reviews of the property I was nervous about what our stay woul be like. I was so pleasantly surprised I thought I should write. The suite was huge! It was wonderfully decorated, and very quiet. The staff was very helpful and the breakfast was really good. My only problem was my young son was afraid of the bedrooms (it is supposed to be haunted) and refused to sleep in any of the bedrooms, being happier in the sitting room.

  • Liked — The rooms were so spacious and a great location
  • Stayed February 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank ArizonaGhostgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AZ
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2007

Bar noise until 2 AM, Hotel employess banging pots and pans at 6 AM. Stay anywhere else. The Hotel's great location does not make up for its massive shortcomings and indifference to its guests.

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank PrescottTraveler-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Granddame65, Owner at Bisbee Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 11 April 2007
We do have rooms over the Saloon there is "Some" noise from the Saloon down stairs. We do make a serious effort to inform people of this on our reservation cards. Our breakfast is Continental (We dont have any pots and pans) But to make certain noise does not accure agian we have informed all of our staff to make doubly sure they are quiet in the Kitchen in the mornings. Truely the Grand
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, AZ
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2006

This is the place to stay in Bisbee. Don't waste your dollars at the Copper Queen. Great Staff, Good Price, Perfect Location. Absolutly the best place to party with your friends without the worry of who's driving. They do Halloween with a Bang! Definately worth it! Also Great for New Years. Call ahead they book up fast.

  • Liked — Staff, Enviroment, Room
  • Disliked — All was perfect
  • Tips/Secrets — Be prepared for a great time.
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank CaveNerd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2006

I stayed here for a school trip for one night and had an okay stay. The check-in was very annoying, trying to squeeze all the students in the stinky, smokey bar to check in and get our rooms situated. Hauling our luggage up the stairs was a pain. A few of the rooms smelled like smoke because of the saloon, but it wasn't too bad. Another friend and myself stayed in the room across from the Garden Suite. The bathroom door kept opening and closing, so I'm guessing it is haunted? I'm not sure. Our shower in the room we stayed in didn't work, but instead leaked blue stuff. The toilet was making noises all night long. As for the mattress, you might as well have been sleeping on a cardboard box. I don't think it's ever been replaced. After 100 years, you'd guess that they would have replaced it. There was no remote for the TV, which was quite irratating. At 7 in the morning, the "breakfast crew" was making a TON of noise, banging pots and pans and talking loudly. It was really annoying. Other than all of those things, it was an okay stay!

  • Liked — Uniqueness of the rooms, antiques
  • Disliked — Cleanliness, saloon smell, check-in
  • Tips/Secrets — Be prepared!
  • Stayed September 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank misstraveler56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Granddame65, Owner at Bisbee Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 11 April 2007
Indeed we are a historical hotel (over a hundred years old) The furnishings are old the walls are old (I am old) as for the toilets running all night .. I am not sure what room/suite this Young lady was in but have gone through all our bathrooms in the last 5 months rreplacing anything that was substandard.. Truely The Grand
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san diego
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2006

Great place!! The new owners have really spruced the old place up!! It is great to see an old building get the respect it deserves.
The checkin experience was smooth and convenient, breakfast was enjoyable, our room, the western suite, was right out of the old west, which our 4 year old son enjoyed very much. the saloon was clean, and fun. bar stafff had many stories to tell about the town and surrounding areas. overall a unique experience.

  • Liked — the owners
  • Disliked — noise from the bar
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank jeffyj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sedona, Arizona
Level Contributor
50 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2006

Recently stayed at the Bisbee Grand, which is very clearly under new management. The new owners seem to be working very hard to improve this 'grande dame' and it shows. Whilst they still have work to do, the property is clean, the staff friendly and helpful. Bisbee ain't New York, and the Bisbee Grand ain't the Waldorf! But if you want a great hotel that is a truely unique stay and very much part of the bisbee exoerience, give the Grand consideration.

  • Liked — A real 'wild west' experience
  • Disliked — No internet access, but I hear that is being fixed
  • Tips/Secrets — Ask for the Victorian or Oriental room
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank EnglishLight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bisbee
0.2 mi away
Copper Queen Hotel
Copper Queen Hotel
#6 of 11 in Bisbee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 726 reviews
21.5 mi away
The Tombstone Grand Hotel
The Tombstone Grand Hotel
#4 of 9 in Tombstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 978 reviews
23.7 mi away
Sierra Suites
Sierra Suites
#1 of 22 in Sierra Vista
4.5 of 5 bubbles 538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.4 mi away
Landmark Lookout Lodge
Landmark Lookout Lodge
#3 of 9 in Tombstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
22.6 mi away
Tombstone Monument Ranch
Tombstone Monument Ranch
#2 of 9 in Tombstone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Gardens At Mile High Ranch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bisbee Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bisbee Grand Hotel

Property: Bisbee Grand Hotel
Address: 61 Main St, Bisbee, AZ 85603-9901
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Bisbee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Bisbee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bisbee Grand Hotel Bed and Breakfast, located at 61 Main St. in Historic Bisbee, Arizona is an elegant escape back to the turn of the century. Each of our seven suites and six rooms are elegantly appointed with antiques, fine art, and extremely comfortable furniture. No two are alike and there is a theme sure to suit any taste. All rooms have their own private bath. As a part of the ongoing renovations and improvements to the hotel, in July of 2008 Air Conditioning was added throughout the hotel. Constructed in 1906 and restored in 1986 in Old West Victorian style, the bed and breakfast hotel features six suites - The Victorian, The Oriental, The Captain's, The Hacienda, The Western, The Hollywood, and The Garden - in addition to seven guestrooms with their own unique decor. Nestled in the copper-rich Mule Mountains, Bisbee's historic architecture, virtually unchanged since 1910, is a popular attraction and provides the town with a unique Old World charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Bisbee Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing