We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mussels”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Copper Queen Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Copper Queen Hotel
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Bisbee
Sierra Vista, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Mussels”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2012

I have lived in Europe for many years and even in Belgium for five years. The Mussels at the Copper Queen were the best I've ever had. A dozen large mussels in a light cream and garlic sauce with hot bread. They were so good we had them two days in a row, and my friends loved them too. They were very reasonably priced at less than $7.00 per dozen. The CQ bar staff was wonderful, especially Lara and Bill. Highly recommend dinner and drinks there. Hung out there two nights in a row and met great people and had much fun. We stayed in another hotel, because this one is supposedly haunted and the wife does not like the whole ghost scene.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

726 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    261
    233
    119
    59
    54
See reviews for
138
311
26
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2012

The room was very spacy, very nice for 2 people. We had breakfast in the restaurant which was tasty & reasonably priced. Everyone working for the hotel, bar, & restaurant was friendly & helpful. Plus the maintenance of this fine hotel makes it a feast for the eyes!

Beds were comfy, but air conditioner, while it did its job well, was a little noisy.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2012

The customer service was excellent throughout ... they changed my room at a reasonable rate when my original, smaller room had no desk; offered to prepare food for me even after the restaurant was closed; even left cookies in my room Friday afternoon. A small, locally owned hotel that clearly cares about its guests.

Being an old hotel, though ... and the building itself was also charming ... the rooms themselves were, perhaps inevitably, more problematic. The window AC units cooling my room was loud and made sleep difficult, and because my room's only window was taken up with that AC, there was no way to open it and let in the cool summer evening air. Bed was somewhat uncomfortable. And the last morning my shower had no hot water after letting it run for 10 minutes ... the staff later explained that on cool mornings it actually has to run 15-20 minutes to warm up, which seems a bit much even for an old building.

Pool and bar were both quite pleasant.

The restaurant was okay but nothing more, and it being July in Bisbee, when many local restaurants apparently go on vacation, there were remarkably few food options outside of the hotel, and the options that were present within walking distance were pretty uniformly mediocre, at least of those I tried.

Not all of which is the hotel's fault, and like I said, the staff/management were lovely. But it did make for a mixed experience.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jsimner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marana, Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2012

This historic hotel was beautiful. I loved that we had a claw-foot bathtub in our standard queen-bed room. The staff was very friendly and the room rate was very reasonable for staying in a piece of history. We didn't actually see any sign of ghosts while we were there, but once we looked at our photos there are some signs of ghost activity. It was a fun expereince and a beautiful hotel to stay in. Bisbee is worth a trip to see and staying at the Copper Queen is a must!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank milesfamily1017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bandon, Oregon
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

We made plans to visit Bisbee, AZ and stay at the Copper Queen Hotel, the longest running hotel in Arizona. It has been featured on Ghost Hunters and Ghost Adventures shows which I love to watch. We planned on a Thursday and Friday nite since they offer a package deal every Thursday that includes the room, ghost hunting with the local expert, Renee, and breakfast. We chose one of the specialty rooms, the Teddy Roosevelt Room, a spacious corner room on the fourth floor. It was cozy and we felt like we stepped back in time to 1898. The staff made us feel welcome and the ghost hunt was the best ever. Breakfast was perfect as we dined on the front patio overlooking the historic Bisbee. I recommend the Eggs Benedict. We will definitely return and maybe stay longer.

Room Tip: Book the larger corner rooms on the fourth floor, especially the Teddy Roosevelt room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank coe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Tan Valley, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

My wife had a weekend in Bisbee, AZ on her bucket list so... We stayed at the Copper Queen based on their history and can't wait to go back. The staff is outstanding, the rooms are very nice, bigger than you would expect for a 105 year old hotel. When you go try and stay on a Thursday so you can take the Ghost tour of the hotel. Renee the guide is wonderful and wealth of information on the hotel and the town. Take time to read the ghost log at the front desk just not right before bed. Again you will not be disappointed with the Queen or Bisbee itself the town is very warm and welcoming. Add Bisbee and the Copper Queen to your bucket list today.

Room Tip: The most ghost activity is on the fourth floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SanTanPapaBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

We made reservations to stay at the Copper Queen Hotel in Bisbee, Arizona with another couple for a quick get away from the heat in Tucson. This hotel is the longest running hotel in the state of Arizona and I love to watch the ghost hunting tv shows so we were very excited. This hotel has been featured on both Ghost Hunters and Ghost Adventures television shows. We booked a Thursday and Friday nite because every Thursday they offer a package deal. It included one nite stay, ghost hunting with an expert and breakfast. We chose one of the specialty rooms which cost a little more but we were not disappointed. Our room, the Teddy Roosevelt Room, was located on the 4th floor and was very roomy. The furnishings were late 1800's to early 1900's and were very warm and comfortable. The ghost hunt was very fun and exciting, but I was relieved we didn't actually see one. Breakfast was delicious and we enjoyed it on the front patio overlooking the beautiful mining town, Bisbee. We will return as the visit was perfect as well as a very friendly and accommodating staff to top it off. The only problem we had was the Internet service was very weak so I couldn't use my iPad or iPhone, but everything else was perfect.

Room Tip: It's worth it to pay a little more for the specialty rooms. Especially the fourth floor corner...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coe1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bisbee
0.2 mi away
Bisbee Grand Hotel
Bisbee Grand Hotel
#5 of 11 in Bisbee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
21.6 mi away
The Tombstone Grand Hotel
The Tombstone Grand Hotel
#4 of 9 in Tombstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 977 reviews
23.8 mi away
Sierra Suites
Sierra Suites
#1 of 22 in Sierra Vista
4.5 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.6 mi away
Tombstone Monument Ranch
Tombstone Monument Ranch
#2 of 9 in Tombstone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
21.5 mi away
Landmark Lookout Lodge
Landmark Lookout Lodge
#3 of 9 in Tombstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Gardens At Mile High Ranch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copper Queen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copper Queen Hotel

Property: Copper Queen Hotel
Address: 11 Howell Ave., PO Drawer CQ, Bisbee, AZ 85603
Region: United States > Arizona > Bisbee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Bisbee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Copper Queen Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Copper Queen Hotel, built in 1898 and completed in 1902, was the product of a booming mining camp called Bisbee. Once the largest city between St. Louis and San Francisco, Bisbee is now a beautiful and quiet getaway. While the town of Bisbee has "grown" it has not lost its' charm. Soon after Bisbee became a town, Phelps Dodge Mining Company built the Copper Queen Hotel as a place for dignitaries and investors to relax in luxury. Construction was difficult because Phelps Dodge had to blast away and clear a large portion of the mountainside in order for building to begin. Although the most modern and up to date materials were used, it did not lessen the difficulty of each task. In order for concrete to be mixed, water had to be pumped up the hill from the mercantile, what is now called Copper Queen Plaza, on Main Street. The walls were constructed to be nearly 2 feet thick, which helps keep the hotel cool during the summer months. Once the Hotel was completed, anyone who walked through the doors would notice the mosaic tile from Italy. Since the Hotel was built in an Italian style, the tile was installed throughout the entire first floor lobby. The remaining tile can be seen in the Hotel entrance. As the story goes, the cathedral ceiling in the Palm Room was all fitted with Tiffany glass. Nobody knows when it came down or what happened to it. There was an open air hallway behind two large windows along the southeast wall that acted as air conditioning for that era. The front desk was fabricated out of Tiger Oak and was surrounded with a wrought iron security cage. The unique safe behind the desk was once used at the Copper Mine until it became too small for the company payroll, which was all paid in cash. It was then passed down to the Copper Queen Hotel. Phelps Dodge cleverly paid their employees in cash, to have their money quickly returned to them in goods and drinks. The Copper Queen Hotel was one of the most modern hotels in the West during that time. One can only imagine what changes the Hotel has gone through to accommodate the modern day traveler. Located roughly 100 miles southeast of Tucson and at an elevation of 5,300 feet, the Hotel is usually 10 to 20 degrees cooler than in Tucson or Phoenix. In the winter, we are even blessed with an occasional snowfall. Bisbee is the southern most mile high city in the U.S. And is eight miles from the border of Mexico. Although the Copper Queen Hotel has maintained the ambiance of the Victorian Era Old West, it has been renovated with modern day conveniences to make your stay more comfortable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, TravelClick, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Copper Queen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copper Queen Bisbee
Hotel Copper Queen
Copper Queen Hotel Bisbee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing