We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Haunted? Maybe...”
Review of Copper Queen Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Copper Queen Hotel
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Bisbee
istanbul
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Haunted? Maybe...”
Reviewed 8 October 2013 via mobile

Bisbee today is a bit of a nostalgic remnant of its former glory as a western boomtown and mining center. Back in its day, this town bustled and I bet it was dusty and loud. As a tourist you cannot go back! But I do recommend a stay here at the CQ. It offers an interesting stay. I have fond memories of pancake brunches at their restaurant... so I am biased... I think you will enjoy it here:
If you like staying in historic old buildings;
You want to feel locally immersed in the historic wild west;
And you might hear unspecified noises in your room at night -- !!!
it is up to you whether you think the place is spooky!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cote_style
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

745 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    263
    239
    125
    62
    56
See reviews for
143
319
27
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We stayed at this hotel in late September 5 adults). Having checked in just after lunch (1340hrs) we were told that they had finished serving lunch but that the bar was open at 1400hrs and we could order food there. Great we said.... well 1400hrs came and went (no bar) we returned to the front desk and were told it would now be 1600hrs when the bar would open AND that the restaurant was closed that evening... At 1600hrs we patiently awaited the bars opening but to no avail...now told it would be 1800hrs...you couldn't make it up..to cut this saga down the bar eventually opened at 1840hrs, bartended told us there was a staff shortage and there would be NO FOOD. Obviously owners are running this lovely hotel on a shoestring budget. Forget it and stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Polly E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona, United States
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

If you're going "historic" Bizbee, consider staying in this quaint hotel. The staff was friendly and helpful, our room was clean and the location was convenient to everything. Keep in mind that this is an old place and that's the charm. Poor internet connections and fluctuating shower water are countered by the really cool people that you meet and the experience of staying in part of history. We will return to the Copper Queen.

Room Tip: Be sure to choose a room with a queen or king size bed. Our friends stayed in a double, and it was t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marian V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Michaels, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We went to Bisbee, I've been several times, to see the stock exchange board. It's a quaint town. We knew there were better lodging choices; however, we decided to stay at the historic Copper Queen hotel for the novelty and history. The staff were friendly and our room clean. Recent owners have tried to restore some charm to the hotel, but it's nowhere near it's original glory! Too bad for such a historic hotel.

Room Tip: Our room was quiet and a good size. I wish they had more information about the rooms to help guests...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Drjdd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013 via mobile

We had an amazing experience at the Copper Queen this past weekend. We stayed from 9-7-13 thru 9-9-13. It was everything we had hoped for and more. We spent some time chatting with the ladies at the front desk upon checkout, about our experiences in the Copper Queen and had a blast discussing our experiences with the "unseen residents". The elegance of the Copper Queen, the rich history coupled with the beautiful atmosphere made for the best weekend we have ever had. We completely recommend the Copper Queen to anyone and everyone, and are already planning another stay here. Everyone should stay at the Copper Queen to take in the antique elegance and experience of lifetime. Thank you everyone, the staff, Billy, Smoky Man and especially Julia for an unforgettable weekend!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JStockdill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

I booked this for the price and location without knowing that it is also apparently a supernatural hotspot. The night we stayed they were hosting a ghost tour in the evening so the buzz of that added to the undoubtable charm of the hotel. But for all its charm, it could probably do with a bit of a spruce up. Although they never promised a big room (I think it was a double), it was probably the smallest room my partner and I have stayed at in the USA. To be positive, I could say it was very European (including the view of concrete from the window). But on the negative, the bed was uncomfortable, the air conditioner was really noisy and the room had a very strong odour of damp. Not to be condemned, but I wouldn’t recommend it as a first choice.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrMarc034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fountain Hills, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013 via mobile

The Copper Queen hotel is a classic turn of the (last) century hotel. It's authenticity can't be duplicated and is reason enough to visit, stay and eat. The service is superb and while the menu is simple, it's delicious! If you are visiting for the day, have lunch or dinner....you won't regret it!

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank robert d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bisbee
21.6 mi away
The Tombstone Grand Hotel
22.6 mi away
Tombstone Monument Ranch
Tombstone Monument Ranch
#2 of 9 in Tombstone
303 reviews
21.5 mi away
Landmark Lookout Lodge
Landmark Lookout Lodge
#3 of 9 in Tombstone
509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.8 mi away
Sierra Suites
Sierra Suites
#1 of 22 in Sierra Vista
569 reviews
0.1 mi away
Audrey's  Inn
Audrey's Inn
#10 of 11 in Bisbee
26 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Gardens At Mile High Ranch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copper Queen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copper Queen Hotel

Property: Copper Queen Hotel
Address: 11 Lowell Ave, PO Drawer CQ, Bisbee, AZ 85603-1131
Region: United States > Arizona > Bisbee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Bisbee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Copper Queen Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Copper Queen Hotel, built in 1898 and completed in 1902, was the product of a booming mining camp called Bisbee. Once the largest city between St. Louis and San Francisco, Bisbee is now a beautiful and quiet getaway. While the town of Bisbee has "grown" it has not lost its' charm. Soon after Bisbee became a town, Phelps Dodge Mining Company built the Copper Queen Hotel as a place for dignitaries and investors to relax in luxury. Construction was difficult because Phelps Dodge had to blast away and clear a large portion of the mountainside in order for building to begin. Although the most modern and up to date materials were used, it did not lessen the difficulty of each task. In order for concrete to be mixed, water had to be pumped up the hill from the mercantile, what is now called Copper Queen Plaza, on Main Street. The walls were constructed to be nearly 2 feet thick, which helps keep the hotel cool during the summer months. Once the Hotel was completed, anyone who walked through the doors would notice the mosaic tile from Italy. Since the Hotel was built in an Italian style, the tile was installed throughout the entire first floor lobby. The remaining tile can be seen in the Hotel entrance. As the story goes, the cathedral ceiling in the Palm Room was all fitted with Tiffany glass. Nobody knows when it came down or what happened to it. There was an open air hallway behind two large windows along the southeast wall that acted as air conditioning for that era. The front desk was fabricated out of Tiger Oak and was surrounded with a wrought iron security cage. The unique safe behind the desk was once used at the Copper Mine until it became too small for the company payroll, which was all paid in cash. It was then passed down to the Copper Queen Hotel. Phelps Dodge cleverly paid their employees in cash, to have their money quickly returned to them in goods and drinks. The Copper Queen Hotel was one of the most modern hotels in the West during that time. One can only imagine what changes the Hotel has gone through to accommodate the modern day traveler. Located roughly 100 miles southeast of Tucson and at an elevation of 5,300 feet, the Hotel is usually 10 to 20 degrees cooler than in Tucson or Phoenix. In the winter, we are even blessed with an occasional snowfall. Bisbee is the southern most mile high city in the U.S. And is eight miles from the border of Mexico. Although the Copper Queen Hotel has maintained the ambiance of the Victorian Era Old West, it has been renovated with modern day conveniences to make your stay more comfortable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TravelClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Copper Queen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copper Queen Bisbee
Hotel Copper Queen
Copper Queen Hotel Bisbee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing