We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Price was right” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Copper Queen Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Copper Queen Hotel
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Bisbee
Alabama
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Price was right”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

Let me first caveat this review.....I only stayed a night in in one of the small rooms with a full bed which are on the third floor and the price was $89/night. The room was about the size of a shoe box but I was really not expecting much more. And while the size was not a disappointment the cleanliness was. Additionally, the shower head was broke so the water came out in a dribble and the light over the sink was coming detached from the wall. I am not trying to discourage anyone from staying here as I would certainly come back but would encourage management to pay a little closer attention to detail with cleaning and these minor repairs. To management ...... sorry for the average review but as with everything in life, there is a always room for improvement.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alabamatransplant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copperqueen, General Manager at Copper Queen Hotel, responded to this review, 29 March 2014
Thank you for your response and I sincerely apologize there was a problem with your room. We definitely care about our guests and their concerns. It is our policy to respond to every guest who experiences a problem during their stay and resolve it to his or her satisfaction. In addition, it is our goal to resolve the issue before the guest leaves the hotel. Upon departure of your stay, you did mention the problems with you room and we immediately took the room out of order are in the process of a total remodel of the bathroom. I hope you will give us another opportunity to show you this recent stay was an exception.

Steven Reed
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

719 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    259
    232
    118
    58
    52
See reviews for
136
307
25
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

We enjoyed our stay at the Copper Queen very much. Our room had a wonderful cottage feel to it, and made you feel truly like we got away. The Saloon was wonderful with a very entertaining duo for Saturday evening and we ordered dinner in the bar and it was delicious. If you like a historic trek (and the Copper mine museum is next door) and definite nostalgia, you will enjoy this hotel very much and we will be planning another trip.
Like much of Bisbee, parking is scarce, so prepare to drop off bags and park somewhere else, or park and carry luggage a block or two.
With all the hype of possible ghosts, while we did not see any apparitions, we could truly feel the hotel had a spirit of over 100 years of history, especially in the lobby 'museum.'

Our only complaint was the continental breakfast Sunday morning which was simply a let down after everything else that was just toast your own waffles n bread, some yogurt and juice. With the price of the room, we simply expected better. We left and found a nice café down the street.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank keith h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
az
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

We stayed at the Copper Queen Room 307 for two nights. Went with group of friends and all our rooms were different. Some had double, queen & king beds. Some had showers only while other rooms had claw foot bathtubs. Some were tiny rooms and some were large. Our room seemed to be a small room but comfortable with a larger bathroom with claw foot tub/shower. You could hear the bar noise from below until about midnight but not really loud. Oh yeah, and the bed is a double (tight fit when you are use to king beds). No ghosts encountered but I did misplace an earring for a while so I say it was the little boy ghost playing tricks on me. Saturday night was prime rib special at the hotel restaurant and it was great. So was my husband's ribs. If you are looking for good breakfast go outside the hotel. The hotel was built in the 1902 so it has its creaks and uniqueness but we enjoyed that we stayed in a piece of Bisbee's history. Walking distance to practically everything including mine tour, etc.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AzSummerrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somers, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

The Copper Queen is as evocative of the Old West as Tombstone, and a lot more authentic. The robber-baron splendor of the lobby was equaled by the charm and attentiveness of the staff. Check out the John Wayne Room on the second floor; Duke stayed there. Rockhounds and geology enthusiasts (I'm one) will love it -- tours of the major diggings and of the horrendously steep residential hillsides, by jeep, leave right from the lobby, and there is an excellent dealer in copper minerals and Native American jewelry in the hotel.

Room Tip: We accepted a room just above the bar, and we loved it; they sang us to sleep. But some people may n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tboid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pinetop-Lakeside, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

We took 4 teenage girls to Bisbee for the weekend and had a ball in this quirky little town. The hotel is centrally located in Old Bisbee. The hotel staff was accommodating and warm. The beds were comfy and very few ghost encounters.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicole E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014

My husband, my mom and myself stayed one night in Bisbee this month . We decided that we wanted to stay at this particular hotel because what was most important to us was the history of the building. We had particular features we wanted to request, so I called in our reservations for two rooms. The woman who answered the phone was very friendly, helpful and knowledgable, especially with regards to taking the time to look up which rooms had clawfoot tubs and answering my questions about accessibility since I am in a wheelchair. As a side note, if you love baths as much as we do, make sure your room has a clawfoot tub. Best bath ever. The night time was very noisy due to the fact that this hotel is haunted (and we had experiences of our own) and there were investigative teams roaming the halls in our part of the hotel. We were also next to the elevator, which didn't help. However, neither of these is the hotel's fault and when staying at the Copper Queen one must keep in mind this is NOT a modern hotel with insulated doors and inner walls. The bed was comfortable and the room had both a very efficient ceilng fan and an air conditioner. There was a mixup with our reservation and one of rooms was reserved as the much more expensive courtyard building, but this was easily fixed by the front desk and resulting in us getting a room with a clawfoot tub which we were unable to get at the time that I called. We had time to kill before check-in so we went to the saloon. My drink was well-made and the rest of my party had some great local beer on tap. We ordered appetizers as well and these arrived hot and delicious without too long a wait. While we were drinking and munching, we watched a bartender, Karen, making a margarita from scratch. No mix, hand squeezed oranges, lemons and limes, plenty of tequila and a float of Gran Marnier. My husband decided to oder me one and I am so glad he did because it was quite honestly the best one I have ever had. Karen is more of an artist than a drink slinger.

We had dinner in the hotel restaurant that night. The foid there wasnt fancy, but it tasted good and our server was very funny and attentive.

All in all our stay was very satisfactory, but I definitely recommend ear plugs. I highly recommend a visit to the saloon. Oh and did I mention the antique clawfoot tubs?

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mandaclari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Az
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

Nice old hotel in a historic mining town. Parking is a bit challenging as is getting around in parts of BIsbee. The room was clean and we slept well. Breakfast was nothing special. The "Saloon" is just off the lobby and had live music. If you like to stay in a place with character, this is an interesting and some say haunted hotel.

Room Tip: Don't stay on the inner side. They have a pigeon problem and they are really loud at soon as the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynette N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bisbee
0.2 mi away
Bisbee Grand Hotel
Bisbee Grand Hotel
#5 of 11 in Bisbee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
21.5 mi away
The Tombstone Grand Hotel
The Tombstone Grand Hotel
#4 of 9 in Tombstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 966 reviews
23.8 mi away
Sierra Suites
Sierra Suites
#1 of 22 in Sierra Vista
4.5 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.5 mi away
Landmark Lookout Lodge
Landmark Lookout Lodge
#3 of 9 in Tombstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
22.6 mi away
Tombstone Monument Ranch
Tombstone Monument Ranch
#2 of 9 in Tombstone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Gardens At Mile High Ranch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copper Queen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copper Queen Hotel

Property: Copper Queen Hotel
Address: 11 Howell Ave., PO Drawer CQ, Bisbee, AZ 85603
Region: United States > Arizona > Bisbee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Bisbee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Copper Queen Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Copper Queen Hotel, built in 1898 and completed in 1902, was the product of a booming mining camp called Bisbee. Once the largest city between St. Louis and San Francisco, Bisbee is now a beautiful and quiet getaway. While the town of Bisbee has "grown" it has not lost its' charm. Soon after Bisbee became a town, Phelps Dodge Mining Company built the Copper Queen Hotel as a place for dignitaries and investors to relax in luxury. Construction was difficult because Phelps Dodge had to blast away and clear a large portion of the mountainside in order for building to begin. Although the most modern and up to date materials were used, it did not lessen the difficulty of each task. In order for concrete to be mixed, water had to be pumped up the hill from the mercantile, what is now called Copper Queen Plaza, on Main Street. The walls were constructed to be nearly 2 feet thick, which helps keep the hotel cool during the summer months. Once the Hotel was completed, anyone who walked through the doors would notice the mosaic tile from Italy. Since the Hotel was built in an Italian style, the tile was installed throughout the entire first floor lobby. The remaining tile can be seen in the Hotel entrance. As the story goes, the cathedral ceiling in the Palm Room was all fitted with Tiffany glass. Nobody knows when it came down or what happened to it. There was an open air hallway behind two large windows along the southeast wall that acted as air conditioning for that era. The front desk was fabricated out of Tiger Oak and was surrounded with a wrought iron security cage. The unique safe behind the desk was once used at the Copper Mine until it became too small for the company payroll, which was all paid in cash. It was then passed down to the Copper Queen Hotel. Phelps Dodge cleverly paid their employees in cash, to have their money quickly returned to them in goods and drinks. The Copper Queen Hotel was one of the most modern hotels in the West during that time. One can only imagine what changes the Hotel has gone through to accommodate the modern day traveler. Located roughly 100 miles southeast of Tucson and at an elevation of 5,300 feet, the Hotel is usually 10 to 20 degrees cooler than in Tucson or Phoenix. In the winter, we are even blessed with an occasional snowfall. Bisbee is the southern most mile high city in the U.S. And is eight miles from the border of Mexico. Although the Copper Queen Hotel has maintained the ambiance of the Victorian Era Old West, it has been renovated with modern day conveniences to make your stay more comfortable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TravelClick and Odigeo so you can book your Copper Queen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copper Queen Bisbee
Hotel Copper Queen
Copper Queen Hotel Bisbee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing