We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely character hotel”
Review of Copper Queen Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Copper Queen Hotel
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Bisbee
Reviewed 23 August 2014

I really liked this hotel. My husband was not as keen. Here's why I liked it: Great character hotel; lovely pool area (small and clean - not a lot of people using it); fun pub downstairs that had Celtic music group playing when we were there; nice sitting decks with rocking chairs; history of ghosts; clean, quiet, and cool room; good base for walking around Bisbee. Here's what the husband didn't like: our room was tiny; no mini-fridge (we had smallest room - might be available in other rooms); shower/bathroom small; wifi iffy -- worked out on outside deck and lobby but room on-and-off; included breakfast not great for the nightly price; you're on your own to find parking (we found some not far away, free). I would recommend because I liked the character and the pool (sometimes a difficult combo to find). This is an older hotel but it is beautifully kept up. Ask about room options if small room / shower / double bed bothers you and confirm re: good wifi in selected room. We would return to this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask about shower and room size if this is an issue for you. Ask about your selected room's wifi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank cloudsaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (762)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

282 - 288 of 762 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2014

We ate your copper queen Cafe and Tristan was our server. We could not have had better service. He was polite and right on. I have already recommended the cafe and to ask for Tristan to many people. We also stayed in a king room on the fourth floor. It was a fun experience and would go back and recommend to many people. (one note tub/shower was a claw foot tub with curtains around it was neat but if you have trouble stepping over a high edge it would be difficult to shower.)

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marci K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

Loved everything about this 100+ year old hotel. Perfect location in the heart of Bisbee for access to shops, restaurants and night life.

The hotel itself is a marvel - completely outfitted with antiques. I assume many are original. And it has the modern conveniences, too. - wifi, flat screen TVs, etc. the lobby is a work of 1900 art!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Decided to go to Bisbee, AZ for a day trip and explore the shops. When I got there one of the first places I stopped was the Copper Queen Hotel. After looking around the Hotel and finding out that it was haunted I had to stay a night. The nice young lady at the front desk was very kind and helpful. The rooms were pretty nice for a Hotel of over a hundred years. If you like historical places this is a must visit. The dinner at the restraunt was more than amazing. The one negative thing was that the breakfast was very limited. I’ll more then likely go back again and ask for a room that is more know to be haunted.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the rooms that is know to be haunted!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Noel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Hotel is nice for an older place. Our room had a nice sitting room with a couch, good for reading, but TV not visible from anywhere but the bed. Sleep was marred by a pillow contaminated by a previous tenant who was a drooler. I thought housekeeping should have caught that. Plenty of spare pillows. Air conditioner a window unit but quite effective. The continental breakfast was light years behind the competition; all dry stuff, but the coffee was okay. We always liked the bar at the QC, but the restaurant is now disappointing. Had a very fatty thin prime rib but accompanied by first class service. Still, after all these years, I will return again and again. Disappointed I saw none of their 3 ghosts.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Now known as the Copper Queen Cafe, This the hotel owners latest attempt at running a restaurant. Open for some reason on Monday, and then Thursday through Saturday from 5 until 8 or 9, unless they don't feel like it, then they're closed. Decor? Not so much... It's a shame what they've done to this restaurant - many years ago I used to take my family there and it was good food and fine dining.

There are a couple of good waiters there now. Tristan with his big smile and good attitude and Gareth with his friendly demeanor, sense of humor and professionalism. Either one will make your dining experience pleasant, even if the food isn't exactly up to par.

Fear not, there is some good food to be had here but please don't stray from these recommendations or you may be sorry. If you don't eat meat - don't eat here. The salads are unimaginative and not worth the money. The prime rib is delicious and usually a good size cut - don't bother upgrading to a baked potato, they're awful and small. The french dip is very good too, why? Because it's made from the prime rib. They've finally switched from beef to pork ribs and they are usually pretty good too. The burgers and the rueben are the best in town. Finally, their chicken mango chutney is unique and delicious!

Why don't the owners advertise what they're best at? Who knows...

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank claddagh666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

This hotel has the potential to really shine, it just needs some TLC. The lobby area seems to have had the most attention devoted to it. The floors with the guest rooms needs some restoration. Some of the carpet in the hallways is threadbare, the chairs in the guest rooms have oil & dirt stains where occupants have rested their head, some of the wallpaper has been peeled away (by "helpful" guests), the MDF bathroom vanities don't match the time period from when the hotel was built, and baseboards in bathrooms have separated from the wall.

I appreciate that every room is not a carbon copy, but there should be a unifying theme. The window air conditioning units make it impossible to open the windows. Additionally, the air conditioning filter in my room was caked with dust and there was a distinct mildew odor. This hotel is like a grand dame and should be a show case in Bisbee.

As noted in other reviews, the rooms are clean and the housekeeping staff were very friendly. One interesting item - the John Wayne room has the guest registry with his signature affixed by the door. It is a cool piece of history.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lori_T22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bisbee
0.1 mi away
Bisbee Grand Hotel
Bisbee Grand Hotel
#5 of 11 in Bisbee
324 reviews
0.1 mi away
Canyon Rose Suites
Canyon Rose Suites
#2 of 11 in Bisbee
172 reviews
21.6 mi away
The Tombstone Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.6 mi away
Tombstone Monument Ranch
Tombstone Monument Ranch
#2 of 9 in Tombstone
325 reviews
0.0 mi away
Audrey's  Inn
Audrey's Inn
#10 of 11 in Bisbee
26 reviews
23.8 mi away
Sierra Suites
Sierra Suites
#1 of 22 in Sierra Vista
601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copper Queen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copper Queen Hotel

Address: 11 Lowell Ave, PO Drawer CQ, Bisbee, AZ 85603-1131
Region: United States > Arizona > Bisbee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Bisbee
Price Range: £74 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Copper Queen Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Copper Queen Hotel, built in 1898 and completed in 1902, was the product of a booming mining camp called Bisbee. Once the largest city between St. Louis and San Francisco, Bisbee is now a beautiful and quiet getaway. While the town of Bisbee has "grown" it has not lost its' charm. Soon after Bisbee became a town, Phelps Dodge Mining Company built the Copper Queen Hotel as a place for dignitaries and investors to relax in luxury. Construction was difficult because Phelps Dodge had to blast away and clear a large portion of the mountainside in order for building to begin. Although the most modern and up to date materials were used, it did not lessen the difficulty of each task. In order for concrete to be mixed, water had to be pumped up the hill from the mercantile, what is now called Copper Queen Plaza, on Main Street. The walls were constructed to be nearly 2 feet thick, which helps keep the hotel cool during the summer months. Once the Hotel was completed, anyone who walked through the doors would notice the mosaic tile from Italy. Since the Hotel was built in an Italian style, the tile was installed throughout the entire first floor lobby. The remaining tile can be seen in the Hotel entrance. As the story goes, the cathedral ceiling in the Palm Room was all fitted with Tiffany glass. Nobody knows when it came down or what happened to it. There was an open air hallway behind two large windows along the southeast wall that acted as air conditioning for that era. The front desk was fabricated out of Tiger Oak and was surrounded with a wrought iron security cage. The unique safe behind the desk was once used at the Copper Mine until it became too small for the company payroll, which was all paid in cash. It was then passed down to the Copper Queen Hotel. Phelps Dodge cleverly paid their employees in cash, to have their money quickly returned to them in goods and drinks. The Copper Queen Hotel was one of the most modern hotels in the West during that time. One can only imagine what changes the Hotel has gone through to accommodate the modern day traveler. Located roughly 100 miles southeast of Tucson and at an elevation of 5,300 feet, the Hotel is usually 10 to 20 degrees cooler than in Tucson or Phoenix. In the winter, we are even blessed with an occasional snowfall. Bisbee is the southern most mile high city in the U.S. And is eight miles from the border of Mexico. Although the Copper Queen Hotel has maintained the ambiance of the Victorian Era Old West, it has been renovated with modern day conveniences to make your stay more comfortable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Copper Queen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copper Queen Bisbee
Hotel Copper Queen
Copper Queen Hotel Bisbee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing