We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Charming Spot!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of School House Inn Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
School House Inn Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 14 Bisbee B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Tucson, Arizona
1 review
“A Charming Spot!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2013

We have visited Bisbee many times and always enjoy our stay. The School House Inn was no exception. John & Paula were very friendly & welcoming. The history lesson that John gave us on the beautiful building was very informative and we had fun exploring all the open rooms. The side porch is gorgeous, although we visited in February, so it was a bit too cold to really experience. We especially enjoyed looking out the window at the bird feeder and all the various birds that came to visit. Although we slept in & weren't able to enjoy the breakfast, we did go out and explore the Bisbee nightlife. One night we were having a drink at St. Elmo's bar when lo and behold, who do we see rocking out on stage--our host John! It was great to see him and his talented band perform & we loved getting the real Bisbee experience! We will definitely be back again. Thanks John & Paula!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    121
    39
    19
    8
    2
See reviews for
29
113
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Elm Grove
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2013

The good: It is an interesting place with nice rooms, good mattresses and really nice owners. I had made reservations for 1 night and had checked it out, finding that it was in some regards above my expectations. The breakfast was really good, I found it to be much better than I had expected.
The not so good: We were in the "geography" room. Nice room, fairly large, but it is over the common area, where breakfast is served and there is a TV. (no TV in the rooms, fine with me) I could hear Ryan Seacrest as if he were in my room. Seems there is an open ceiling in the common room, so sounds really move through the floor into the room above, which we were in. Fortunately, the TV was turned off by the time we went to sleep. Also could hear the breakfast preparation the next morning. If quiet is your thing, ask not to be in this room. Other than that it was very quiet. Hot water took forever to appear at the faucets. You sure don't want to get in the shower without running the water for a long time, or you will get a real surprise. Bathroom contains only a shower/tub and toilet, the sink/vanity is in the room itself. I am not nuts about that arrangement. Would I stay there again, yes, definitely, but would check out the other rooms first. All in all, a good experience, but with the above reservations.

Room Tip: I would avoid rooms above the dining/kitchen area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2013

We were looking for a traditional B & B in Bisbee and we found it with the School House Inn, B & B. The owners John and Paula did an outstanding job making us feel welcome. Upon arrival we were shown around the Inn and even had a chance to look into un-occupied rooms to enjoy the decor and see what options we might have when we return. And, return is exactly what we will do. The breakfasts were fantastic, the advice provided by John and Paula on sites to see was excellent and the location about one mile from the old town area was perfect for quite evenings and peaceful sleep. If you are looking for a B & B with great rooms and a very friendly traditional B & B atmosphere the School House Inn is a great choice and will be ours again.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank George G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2013

My wife and I spent two nights at the School House Bed and Breakfast, and we honestly could not have asked for more. The room was big and comfortable, and the owners were very friendly. There is a big area downstairs to relax in, which was great because I am an early riser, and I was able to go downstairs to do a little work without disturbing my wife in the morning. Best of all were the breakfasts. Seriously good food. The first morning we were served an excellent quiche, muffins, fruit and coffee. The second morning was french toast, which sounds pretty normal, but it was really, really good french toast.

There are a variety of rooms, each very distinctive and interesting to look at. The owners have put a huge amount of effort an creativity into their inn and it shows. We both highly recommend the School House.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Level Contributor
101 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2013

We visit Bisbee often, and have stayed at several B&Bs and hotels in the area. This is by far the best. The rooms and hallways are decorated with antiques and other "Cool old stuff". Breakfast is freshly prepared and served to your table. John and Paula are super hosts.

Room Tip: Rooms range from small, with a full bed, to two bedrooms. Choose what you need. They are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oldfart59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilbert, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2013

Bisbee Arizona is a fun place to visit and even more enjoyable if you stay at THE SCHOOL HOUSE INN. This old schoolhouse circa about 1930's will not disappoint you as its nestled in the hills of Bisbee on Tombstone Canyon Road. Each room is uniquely furnished, as we were able to view most of them before settling into the History room, which was furnished with antiques, cool stuff and books, for the night. We checked in on one of the coldest nights in recent Bisbee history, but we were warm and cozy after coming back from the Old Bisbee Brewery Company on Brewery Gulch Road. John and Paula the perfect couple for this Bed and Breakfast establishment were a joy to spend time with. I am a big fan of Rock music from the 1960's and found out that John actually played in an almost famous rock band named Beethoven Soul. Though they were not a huge commercial success his personal stories about music and the industry made it almost impossible to leave after breakfast. And what a delicious breakfast it was. Paula provided us with a hearty and robust breakfast to ward off the way below freezing temperatures outside. GREAT FACITLITY, BEAUTIFUL CITY, SUPER NICE COUPLE ALL ADD UP TO AN EXPERIENCE YOU MAY NOT WANT TO MISS THE NEXT TIME YOUR IN BISBEE, ARIZONA

Room Tip: Ask John or Paula about the size and type you want and they will place you in one of 10 rooms that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dskarecky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2012

We booked a room at the School House Inn before ever traveling to Bisbee and we were just thrilled with it. We spent the day wandering around Bisbee and checked out some of the other hotels and I really believe that we made the best choice staying at the School House Inn! We could have spent hours just exploring each of the rooms. The reading room was perfect for a couple of book nerds like us. I spent a good hour looking through the Dick and Jane coffee table book from the inside foyer. The rooms are incredibly spacious and warm. The bed was comfy. Breakfast was fantastic. It is just a little ways (about a mile) out of Old Town Bisbee, but it would be a pleasant walk in in good weather. I highly, highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RachelGAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bisbee
1.2 mi away
Copper Queen Hotel
Copper Queen Hotel
#7 of 11 in Bisbee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 719 reviews
1.1 mi away
Bisbee Grand Hotel
Bisbee Grand Hotel
#5 of 11 in Bisbee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
20.6 mi away
The Tombstone Grand Hotel
The Tombstone Grand Hotel
#4 of 9 in Tombstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.7 mi away
Sierra Suites
Sierra Suites
#1 of 22 in Sierra Vista
4.5 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
21.6 mi away
Tombstone Monument Ranch
Tombstone Monument Ranch
#2 of 9 in Tombstone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
20.5 mi away
Landmark Lookout Lodge
Landmark Lookout Lodge
#3 of 9 in Tombstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to School House Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about School House Inn Bed & Breakfast

Property: School House Inn Bed & Breakfast
Address: 818 Tombstone Canyon Rd., Box 32, Bisbee, AZ 85603-0032
Region: United States > Arizona > Bisbee
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Bisbee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — School House Inn Bed & Breakfast 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Extremely comfortable, very roomy. You will adore the six rooms and three suites such as the "Principal's Office Suite", the "Art Room", the "Reading Room" and more. Awarded "Fodor's Choice - 2006" as a preferred lodging establishment. Located one mile west of downtown Old Bisbee, this is definitely a "Quiet, Peaceful, Getaway" . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your School House Inn Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing