We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Phenomal Trip in Time!”
Review of Shady Dell RV Park

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bisbee
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Shady Dell RV Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We arrived Friday evening and the park was awaiting us with 50s music playing in the background of the property and the same ambient music in our trailer. The refrigerator, stove, TV and record player were authentic and usuable, as well as the full shower and toilet included in the layout of the Airfloat.

Make sure to play the records in the background of the trailer while sitting in chairs facing the community. We met many people this way! Enjoy the simple, quiet life. Relax and enjoy.

There is also one spooky feature about this place with the rumors that it's haunted, and I often poo-poo those claims. However there is the backdrop of a cemetary that makes one uneasy... I had a continuous dream that a young girl was traveling down a hallway and wanted to tell me something, which scared me and startled me awake.

The owners, Jen and Justin, are awesome and have provided many details of the era, including period records to play on a 50s record player, an old tube TV, orignal refrigerator and stove, and authentic chair seating throughout the property.

What a wonderful experience and a way for fun getting to know our neighbors (turns out ours are 1/2 mile from us in Scottsdale, AZ!). There were particular details that impressed us. We encourage us to stay here!

Have fun!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Heidi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (130)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 130 reviews

Reviewed 10 February 2014

Spent two nights in a 1949 Airstream trailer at the Shady Dell. What a great little place. Everything effort has been made to catapult you back into the 50s. It was peaceful and comfortable and well situated too. Erie Avenue just across the main road is very interesting and the Bisbee Breakfast Club is a great place for a major breakfast.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Airstream and my only comment would be that if you are tall, you might inquire abou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FranH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

We stayed at The Shady Dell for one night on our honeymoon tour of the US. The Tiki bus was so cute and we really enjoyed the stay. It was different. I was really worried that there would be insects and spiders on the bus but there wasn't. Dots Diner isn't open anymore and the nearest restaurant and shops are in the town, which is a short drive.

Stayed: October 2013
1  Thank FamilyGuyGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

My husband and I had wanted to visit Shady Dell for several years. We are so happy that we finally did. What a unique experience. The vintage trailers (we stayed in the Mansion) were just as expected, right down to the 1959 Life magazine and 1951 high school yearbook for our browsing. The period TV and radio added to the ambiance. The only reason for 4 rather than 5 stars is that there was no soap or shampoo in the communal shower, and it would have been an even better experience if the onsite diner were open for breakfast or even just coffee and donuts. There were no hosts at any time during our stay, which was odd, but we managed just fine with written instructions. This is a must-do for anyone who enjoys different types of experiences! We definitely recommend Shady Dell.

Room Tip: Call ahead to ask about trailer size and location. Some are very small, and many back up to the loca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank plcpch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013 via mobile

From the moment we were welcomed by Jan with ice cold drinks this stay was a delight. The trailer we stayed in was immaculate and a real trip down memory lane for us. We wished we had booked more nights. The town of Bisbee was also very interesting and welcoming.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We just got back from Shady Dell and had such fun. If you are expecting the Ritz Carlton, don't go there. If you want to have a fun time, enjoying lovingly restored vintage trailers, then pack up and go to Shady Dell. From the moment we walked on the grounds, we knew we were in for a treat. The owner was dressed in a perfect 50s outfit when she checked us in. We invited another couple to go with us that we knew would get into the spirit of the trip. And they did! They had the Tiki bus with an outside tiki bar that would be our cocktail party location each night. When you walked into the bus, it was a moment of shear joy. Grass skirts hanging everywhere in the vintage bus. It would be easy to picture people heading off to a Grateful Dead concert in it. We had the Boles Aero. We walked in to the music of the 50s on an old radio. There was a vintage record player with a selection of 45s and 78s we could play. Everything is in working order and authentic. How can someone not smile at the coppertone appliances and the percolator coffee pot? We actually used the coffee pot when I figured out how to do it and it made a great cup of coffee. Most trailers don't have showers; Ours did but it was very tiny. There are showers on the grounds that are spotless. In fact, the grounds and the trailers are also very clean. We were the first to arrive that day and wandered the small park. There are various sizes of trailers and even a boat you can stay in; possibly only a dozen trailers in all. As other people started arriving, it was easy to get to know each other quickly. Where else can you stay and have people people wandering around with big smiles, saying: "Do you want to come see my trailer and can I peak into yours?" My husband and I had no issues with our bed and slept just great; however, we're not big people and people coming need to remember these are vintage trailers and space is tight. The grounds are delightful with a gazebo and barbecues. The four of us talked about getting a group next time and taking over all the trailers ourselves. Regardless of whether we rent one trailer or the entire park, we will be back. If you're willing to pack a sense of humor and a sense of adventure, you'll love Shady Dell. If you can't find room to pack either one, then don't go there. Everyone else is having too much fun to let someone spoil the atmosphere!

Room Tip: Do your research online. There is a full description of each trailer so determine which one fits yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jeanb1876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2013

People must have been shorter in the 50's. Husband couldn't fit into the length of the bed. It's an experience worth a night, but not more. Highlight is Lowell, a street away. Very photogenic and best breakfast cafe in Bisbee.

Room Tip: Go for the biggest caravan possible because space is a commodity.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Foof18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bisbee hotels
1.6 mi away
Copper Queen Hotel
Copper Queen Hotel
#8 of 11 in Bisbee
753 reviews
1.7 mi away
Bisbee Grand Hotel
Bisbee Grand Hotel
#7 of 11 in Bisbee
321 reviews
1.6 mi away
Canyon Rose Suites
Canyon Rose Suites
#2 of 11 in Bisbee
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Letson Loft Hotel
Letson Loft Hotel
#3 of 11 in Bisbee
225 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Gardens At Mile High Ranch
2.7 mi away
School House Inn Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shady Dell RV Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shady Dell RV Park

Address: 1 Old Douglas Rd, Bisbee, AZ 85603-1021
Region: United States > Arizona > Bisbee
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Bisbee
Price Range: £26 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inexpensive and fun, the Shady Dell features off-beat and comfortable accommodations. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Shady Dell Rv Park Hotel Bisbee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing