We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty and smelly”
Review of Gym Club Suites

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bisbee
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gym Club Suites
Ranked #9 of 13 Bisbee B&B and Inns
Chandler, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Dirty and smelly”
Reviewed 13 January 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here over a weekend, which was our first visit to Bisbee. Loved Bisbee, not the Gym Club Suites! The room had an oder that hit you as soon as we walked in. The floor looked liked it hadn't been vacuumed since it became a hotel, and had dog pee stains in a corner of the bedroom. The towels in the bathroom felt like sandpaper. And worst if all, bed felt like we were sleeping on bricks. After enjoying the town of Bisbee, we hated coming back to the hotel each night. Will NOT stay here again.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Akes31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    21
    9
    4
    1
See reviews for
20
26
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
790 reviews
564 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 312 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

The property must be converted apartments. Our room had two bedrooms, a living room, kitchen and shared bath. There were two doors to access the bath so that helped with privacy - we were there with another couple but we each had our own door to access the bathroom so there was no issue with running into each other at night in the hallway. Our bed slept wonderfully and it was a nice size in a huge old brass frame. The room had a sofa in it and it was at least 15 feet long. The kitchen was fully stocked and the living room had two sofas for general lounging. We had a balcony that with a table and chairs that we used while enjoying breakfast. Splitting the cost between two couples made for a very economical stay in a cozy, historic property. As the title of my review says, the facility is older and in need of refurbishment here and there but that adds to the charm. Well recommended.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank AGoingGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

There is really no need to stay in the more expensive hotels in Bisbee unless you need to brag. This little inn has huge comfortable rooms at a more than affordable price. It felt as though we had our own apartment right in the middle of town. The lady who works at the desk was very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Go online and look at the photos and read the descriptions.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amanda N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Each suite in this hotel has its own charm and character. Kept very clean with a comfortable bed, full kitchen, A/C, ceiling fans, flat screen TV and more. We were met by Angel who is a lovely, friendly woman. We were lucky to come here and have the choice to stay in Suite 303 "Under the Eaves" which was very private and amazing. A great find and we can't wait to come back, the only hotel I will ever stay in Bisbee. It was very magical, the views of Bisbee here are "AWESOME"

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank phxcouple2522
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chandler, Arizona
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013

Absolutely perfect little getaway. We stayed in Bisbee for just one night. First let me say that Angel was attentive in every way. With her responsiveness to my email and just her friendliness at checkin. She helped in any way she could. Plus at the end of our stay ... I must have forgotten my pair of shorts in the room ... Well some magic gnome must have found them and left them for me by my car ;)

The room was very cute! We stayed in room 402 - ravens nest. You do have to walk up one flight of stairs to get there. But if you're walking in Bisbee you know the whole town is made up of stairs so this really wasnt a stretch. Walked in and it was like an appt with a loft and a private balcony. This place has everything you need ... Kitchen / extra pillows / towels / sample lotions and shampoo in case you forgot yours.

This is a cute boutique type hotel. Definitely older ... but everything there is ... so i wouldnt want anythinf different. It was like stepping into a different world once you pass through the tunnel on the drive up. I would definitely stay here again! Great stay!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cherio25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surprise, Arizona
Level Contributor
180 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2013

This hotel is a real gem. Each room is like a suite in other hotels. Our room had a separate bedroom with a queen size bed, the main room had a king size bed and a large flat screen TV, ceiling fan, and a separate full kitchen. This would be great for any extended stay. Our room 202 was a bit dark, but room 302 was just the opposite.

Room Tip: Rooms on the third floor would be brighter, but the fourth floor does not have elevator assess.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicki D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2013

We spent a comfortable night after touring Kartchner Cavern and visiting Tombstone. Angel made us welcome offered great suggestions for dining. Our room was clean, the bed was comfortable and the kitchen was well equipped. The hotel has convenient parking across the street and is within walking distance of main street w/ its many shops and close to the Queen Mine which was the reason we were visiting Bisbee.

Room Tip: dinner at Cafe Rako and breakfast at the Bisbee Breakfast club are a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Golfn2day2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bisbee
0.0 mi away
Copper Queen Hotel
Copper Queen Hotel
#7 of 11 in Bisbee
737 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bisbee Grand Hotel
Bisbee Grand Hotel
#5 of 11 in Bisbee
314 reviews
0.1 mi away
Audrey's  Inn
Audrey's Inn
#10 of 11 in Bisbee
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.4 mi away
Landmark Lookout Lodge
Landmark Lookout Lodge
#3 of 9 in Tombstone
505 reviews
21.5 mi away
The Tombstone Grand Hotel
22.6 mi away
Tombstone Monument Ranch
Tombstone Monument Ranch
#2 of 9 in Tombstone
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gym Club Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gym Club Suites

Property: Gym Club Suites
Address: 39 Howell, Bisbee, AZ 85603
Region: United States > Arizona > Bisbee
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Bisbee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gym Club Suites, an Historic Bisbee Landmark provides charming comfortable lodging for the night or an extended stay. It is located in the heart of Old Bisbee Arizona a short walk to restaurants, shops and nightlife. It is the perfect place for a weekend getaway or an extended stay. Each suite has a full kitchen. Some feature decks with panoramic views. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gym Club Hotel Bisbee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing