We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“it was just fine”
Review of Gym Club Suites

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bisbee
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gym Club Suites
Ranked #5 of 13 Bisbee B&B and Inns
bisbeewall
1 review
“it was just fine”
Reviewed 5 January 2009

We were looking for a place close to all the New Years activities.

The price for the suite was reasonable for the time of year, and all the guests seem as happy as we were in the morning when we were checking out the room was clean, and as advertised. Suite 001 does have a poor INTERNET connection but we were warned. communication was good before we arrived.

If you like strong coffee use all the packs in the kitchen.

by the way if you can pick, I'd take rooms with patios on the second or 3rd floors.

  • Liked — clean and easy to visit local locations
  • Disliked — the stairs
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank bisbeewall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    22
    9
    4
    1
See reviews for
21
26
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
southwest
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2008

We wanted a little overnight stay in charming Bisbee, the other inns were filled so we asked where to stay from one of the other hotels. They suggested theGym Club. I thought it would be fine because of the high Trip Advisor rating but in the end it was a bad idea. I think when out of town tourist wrote the reviews of the Gym Club, they got caught up in the Bisbee charm and really didn't hang out in the room. The furnishings and decore were not unique, I'm guessing from a Walmart-type store. (Polyester blend fitted sheet (no top sheet) and comforter box set). The place was relitively clean but not CLEAN. For being an old building it wasn't very soundproof and whenever the the upstairs neighbors would walk and talk, we heard it (and they weren't even in a partying mood). We were quoted a price range but were stuck with the choice of 2 of the most expensive units. Angel, the woman who checked us in was pleasant but really didn't help us finding a restaurant other than highlighting all of the restaurant numbers on the pre printed tourist guide. Oh, this may be a random thing, but I found a "kissing bug" the next morning crawling on my suitcase AAAAAGH! Never again!

  • Liked — location, view
  • Disliked — cheapfurnishings, bedding, able to hear talking from neighbors
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank beledymelody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
62 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2008

We booked the biggest apartment here as we were a party of six. 5 minutes walk from the centre, felt very quiet and peaceful.
The apartment was extremely spacious with 3 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, a large living/dining area, a full size kitchen and a very big deck overlooking the town. There were also free laundry facilities in the basement.
A great place for a family, particularly if you want some space to spread out.
The kitchen was very useful as Bisbee closes early where food is concerned.
Free wireless was great.
Check-in helpful, quick and efficient.
Eat at the Bisbee Breakfast club, it's great.

  • Liked — Location, facilities and space
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Louise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 May 2008

We stayed at the Gym Club Suites during a hiking trip and were very pleased. Although the building itself could be described as "funky" with rooms on several different levels and no lobby to speak of, the service was excellent and the rooms were very spacious and clean. We stayed in one of the rooms with a deck overlooking the town and really enjoyed the people watching this allowed us. The 4 of us (2 younger kids) really enjoyed having our own space and a kitchen in the one bedroom unit we had. Parking can be a bit of challenge, but noise is not an issue as it can be at other places we have stayed in Bisbee. Great place for a family.

  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Papameat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2008

This place is perfect if you want a laid back quiet place while staying in Bisbee. There is parking accross the street and it is ideal to leave the car there and walk a few blocks to Main Street or to the rest of Historic Bisbee.

There is no lobby or check in and this was perfect for me to just relax - free wireless internet access and a full kitchen and a living room as well as a bedroom in the basic unit.

  • Liked — location and price
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank planner07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2007

We arrived late at night, and had a little trouble getting to our hotel on the one way streets, but a wrong turn was actually the right one ti make.

We stayed at the Gym Club Suites, WONDERFUL! The Inn Keeper I will call him was quick, and extremely friendly. The building is secured by the buzzer system, and a key. A quick ride in an elevator and walk up some stairs and there we were. The Ravens Rest. The room offered us, full size kitchen with fridge and microwave, sinks and coffee maker. A living and dining area, and one full bath. There were two seprate bedrooms, but not private, one was was a loft, and a nice private patio. This would be great for a family trip or group trip.

Although Bisbee is small, and seemed relatively safe...We walked to the saloon/ bar area, and it was pretty late. We encountered two guys who seemed very interested in our camera equipment...We decided to head back to the room after that.....

Both beds offered great comfort, we woke up feeling like we had gotten one of the best nights f sleep in a long time.The area is so quiet and dark, you will too.

We walked around the entire area, main street, and not so main street, some private walk ways, a park, several alley ways, and then back to Main street. Several homes offer unique gardens, sculptures, and signs.

Everyone said hello, good morning, how are you....this was wonderful!

We took over 700 pictures from 6 am to 12 noon......

The most fun was shopping at the :" MINERS & MERCHANTS ANTIQUE CENTER" on Main. his is a huge place, with a bargain basement....really! offering $1.00 book,s and misc trinkets...

Helpful?
3 Thank Hot-Tati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2006

We had a great time here. The room was terrific-- very clean and spacious. It's in a great location-- right in the heart of Bisbee. Highly recommended.

Stayed June 2006
Helpful?
2 Thank caseyw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bisbee hotels
0.0 mi away
Copper Queen Hotel
Copper Queen Hotel
#7 of 11 in Bisbee
747 reviews
1.1 mi away
School House Inn Bed & Breakfast
0.2 mi away
The Inn at Castle Rock
The Inn at Castle Rock
#6 of 13 in Bisbee
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Oliver House Bed and Breakfast
1.2 mi away
The Gardens At Mile High Ranch
0.1 mi away
Bisbee Grand Hotel
Bisbee Grand Hotel
#5 of 11 in Bisbee
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gym Club Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gym Club Suites

Property: Gym Club Suites
Address: 39 Howell, Bisbee, AZ 85603
Region: United States > Arizona > Bisbee
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Bisbee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gym Club Suites, an Historic Bisbee Landmark provides charming comfortable lodging for the night or an extended stay. It is located in the heart of Old Bisbee Arizona a short walk to restaurants, shops and nightlife. It is the perfect place for a weekend getaway or an extended stay. Each suite has a full kitchen. Some feature decks with panoramic views. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gym Club Hotel Bisbee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing