We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great motel.. Excellent Service!”

Desert Rancho Motel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bullhead City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Desert Rancho Motel
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Bullhead City
Los Angeles, California, United States
1 review
“Great motel.. Excellent Service!”
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We love this motel! The rooms are cleaned whenever we ask them to. There is never an up charge for service here. They have direct TV as well and the shower has a nice high water pressure.
Perfect located near a bar and restaurant across the street this motel has everything you need including super fast reliable High speed internet.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RealMcCoySEO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    2
    1
    3
    12
See reviews for
2
5
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Apple Valley, California, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Stopped in for a room on a Saturday afternoon. The room was not to greatest and needs some painting and new carpet, but it was clean enough. The staff were very friendly-mostly the owner was very talkative. They did not make us stick to the set check in or out time. Pool was freshly painted and felt wonderful. Very laid back atmosphere. We received a phone call to see if we needed anything before the staff left for breakfast and not to worry if we needed to stay a little longer. We will stay there again on our next trip. Over all feel was that the owner was trying to remodel but can only do so much on the little he charges per room. He literally is just trying to stay open.

Room Tip: Select a non smoking room. They also have adjoining rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

The Rooms were discussting. I walked in and walked out. The manger was rude and obnoxious. He lied as to how nice his rooms were. I think it had to be the worst place I have ever seen. I did'nt stay there on the chance we would get bedbugs. The whole experience was like a nightmare. Dirty DIRt DIrty room.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RonWood976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bullhead City hotels

Tucson
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 October 2012

I spent several weeks here in Spring, 2012, and found them to provide excellent customer service; their rooms to be exceptionally clean; and staff quite courteous and helpful in all areas. Their location; overlooking the Colorado River, and five minutes from Laughlin, NV, is perfect; as is its easy access to the airport and shopping. The Desert Rancho provides weekly and monthly rates; quite inexpensive off-season; and is children pet-friendly...a great place for Snowbirds, as well.

Room Tip: Smoking and non-smoking rooms; two floors; several individual buildings; beautiful weather in winter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2012

They r so cheap because their service is so bad they cant charge for anything more but what is available which is a horrible smelly motel full of stinky philipinos that smell like animal and treat the place like crap. First they are unprofessional and the rooms are not thouroughly cleaned well. The walls r dirty full of looks like soda and coffe spilt all over and never been cleaned. The managment team is very rude after you move in they have no respect for your guest or you. The manger richard screams from the top of his lungs and drinks while on the jobs which is very unprofessional, i wouldnt care if i was in vegas thats still not cool to have a drunk screaming disrespectful manager on site.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank 3215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central Upper Peninsula, Michigan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2012

I have stayed several weeks at Desert Rancho in Feb-Mar 2006 and again for 3 months 2008-09. Rates were cheapest in BC, but I only got what I paid for. The owners apparently don't want to put any money in the place, and it is overall dirty, with a few upstairs rooms relatively clean and neat. I got along well with Richard Hatch the manager perhaps because we had some similiar army experiences. He can be very abrasive. His asian manager is hard to understand, but is nice. I wouldn't send any money in advance, and would only try to get a room in person. There are fridge and microwaves in most units and for weekly/monthly rentals are nice when you want to skip a meal at a restaurant. Tipping the housekleaners I got a little better service. If you can climb stairs, the units on the north side, second floor are the best. Try hard not to get Hatch into a violent temper...Go somewhere else if you want to critize, best to look over a room first and then decide if you want to save some money over other rates in town. Last time I was there, many of the renters were unemployed and were of a type you don't usually see in even an "average" motel.

Room Tip: North side, second floor are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Travelingwithbuddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Golden Valley, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2011

After reading the reviews about this place I think their does need to be medication passed around to everyone. Let’s start with a little history. I have been visiting the Laughlin area for many years. The motels across the river from Laughlin are in what is called "old bullhead city". People who come to gamble in Laughlin and boat in the Colorado River can choose the Laughlin casino hotels or stay in old Bullhead City. Yes, the motels in Bullhead City are older than the more modern motels people have come to expect. The carpet in a little old as well as the fixtures. There are 2 or 3 casino-hotels in Laughlin which have comparable rooms. Laughlin is billed as a cheaper version of Las Vegas and that means everything is cheaper. If you want Premium class go to Las Vegas.
I have stayed at Rancho Desert for weeks at a time and they do cater to the weekly rate renter. That’s how all the motels in old bullhead city market themselves. If you come here from LA and want to party like its spring break you probably will be asked to leave.
I have never had a problem with bugs or seen any bedbugs. An occansiouly flea or fly, sure. There is free Wi-Fi but no clock radios. There are mini-frigs and a better TV channel selection than Laughlin hotels. The man mentioned who kicks out jerks is a resident who works the desk part time. He is a veteran ex-Army ranger and a good guy. The manager is a very nice Asian lady. If you want a franchise motel there is a Best Western at twice the cost but the same age and condition as the others in the same area. That is where the LA yuppie types who boat but don't gamble usually stay.
I hope this review helps.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DesertDog321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bullhead City
0.9 mi away
Aquarius Casino Resort
Aquarius Casino Resort
#2 of 11 in Laughlin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,736 reviews
0.3 mi away
Days Inn Bullhead City
Days Inn Bullhead City
#1 of 14 in Bullhead City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
0.6 mi away
Colorado Belle Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Lodge on the River
Lodge on the River
#5 of 14 in Bullhead City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
0.7 mi away
Tropicana Laughlin
Tropicana Laughlin
#7 of 11 in Laughlin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,066 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pioneer Hotel & Gambling Hall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desert Rancho Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Rancho Motel

Property: Desert Rancho Motel
Address: 1041 Highway 95, Bullhead City, AZ 86429-5202
Region: United States > Arizona > Bullhead City
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Bullhead City
Number of rooms: 75

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing