We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cameron Trading Post Grand Canyon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cameron Trading Post Grand Canyon Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cameron
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2012

It is a charming place sitting in the middle of nowhere. Once you enter the courtyard, you are into a peaceful world. The room is nicely decorated with Navajo Indian crafts, and the bed is surprisingly comfortable. The restaurant serves delicious food with the best fried bread. The food price is so reasonable that it cost less than what I pay for grocery in Virginia.

We stayed there for two nights in March. The best was that we experienced what a good business should be in this hotel. Owner Josh was working on site, making sure everything was in good order. He is a very nice, approachable and interesting person with a strong sense of value and ethics. The Trading Post is a private property inside the Navajo land. Most of Josh's employees are Navajo Indians. To honor Navajo's law of banning alcohol, Josh's restaurant chose not to serve alcohol, giving up a huge profit driver. Josh also bends backwards to satisfy the customers' needs. We were such customers. We are very impressed with Josh's problem solving ability, particularly his attitudes towards customers.

Hiring the locals, honoring a virtuous principle, satisfying customers are what we experience at this hotel. It's rare and very precious. I recommend this hotel in every way to everyone.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexandrianhopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

933 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    330
    429
    111
    40
    23
See reviews for
236
414
29
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2012

We were pleasantly suprised by this place. We stopped for an overnight before going to Grand Canyon. It was a great location to stay at especially when you are going to visit the South Rim. Large rooms, great patio views. Comfortable beds, cold AC. Clean. Fun southwest decor. Quiet. Good internet and parking. felt very safe. It was nice to have the trading post store and restaurant right there. Huge selection in the store. Great food in the restaurant. We liked the navajo fry bread. The staff everywhere was amazing. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alicia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
118 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2012

We travelled in 3 and we spent only 1 night in this hotel. We took a suite which was huge. We had an apartment: two bedrooms, kitchen, bathroom and small sink in the main bedroom. It was very clean, fresh and nice. Internet was for free, parking for free. Generally wonderful place. Cameron Trading Post offers a restaurant however we did not find it nice. We ordered a chicken from the menu and we got beef!!!Image our surprise. Perhaps it was bad luck. Regarding staying close to Grand Canyon. If you can, choose Grand Canyon village for stay. It seems to be a little bit bigger and with nicer “climate”.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Agusia01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Curacao
Level Contributor
85 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2012

The only place we could find to keep trips reasonably short. When you walk in there it feels like a giant injun junk shop - souvenir country! Even the original trading post is still around. But the rooms are nice and big, with a splendid view on the Colorado River. Good breakfast, too. All very reasonably priced. Their web site needs some fixing, though; very hard to find your way.

Room Tip: Rooms on the North side have a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank harrie_v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prescott, Arizona
Level Contributor
71 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2012

Second time there, first time in a suite. The suits are HUGE and well worth the price. Very nicely furnished, very clean, comfy beds and big fluffy towels. it's not at the end of the earth, but you can see it from there. A very nice trading post with restaurant, which had very good reasonably priced food. Use it as a base to see the Grand Canyon and surrounding area. You won't be disappointed!!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank poco01x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
croatia
Level Contributor
109 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

this was the third time we stopped in Cameron and are always pleased with the price and the size of the room. Unique area.

Room Tip: upper floor facing the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elainep007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Szeged, Hungary
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

The staff at the reception was helpful, the area was nice, but there was nothing around, just this hotel, restaurant, souvenir shop in the middle of nowhere. It was ok for 1 night, the room was well furnished. The room seemed to be clean, but it didn't feel clean, maybe because of the old furniture... The bathroom was clean. The Ice machine was empty by 5 am. The hotel was very near to Grand Canyon, about a 30-40 minute car ride, so we could reach the sunrise. :)
I think this hotel was too expensive compared to what we got. But there's no other hotel in the area... Next time we would probably choose Moenkopi Legacy Inn & Suites, Tuba City, but that's extra 30 minutes from Grand Canyon...

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kendra85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cameron
20.1 mi away
Quality Inn Navajo Nation
Quality Inn Navajo Nation
#2 of 3 in Tuba City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
19.8 mi away
Moenkopi Legacy Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cameron Trading Post Grand Canyon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cameron Trading Post Grand Canyon Hotel

Property: Cameron Trading Post Grand Canyon Hotel
Address: US Highway 89, 54 Miles North of Flagstaff, Cameron, AZ 86020
Region: United States > Arizona > Cameron
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cameron
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Cameron Trading Post Grand Canyon Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Accommodations range from motel rooms to RV hookups, located on the Navajo Reservation. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cameron Trading Post

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing