We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice area”
Review of Carefree Sundial

Carefree Sundial
Ranked #2 of 8 things to do in Carefree
Certificate of Excellence
Jenison, Michigan
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice area”
Reviewed 17 April 2012

I don't know that I would drive far out of my way just to see the sundial but if you go for some shopping and maybe dinner it would be more worth the trip. The gardens are nice and the dial was fun for my 11 year old to see how it worked. Good breakfast food at Black Mountain Coffee Shop. We saw a slide for the playground but that was all we could find.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank shecar1136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    35
    13
    6
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
722 reviews
277 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
“an easy morning/afternoon drive”
Reviewed 30 March 2012

my husband and i drove up to carefree/cave creek yest. afternoon. we haven't been there for a few years. i was very impressed with the botanical garden that has been put in place in carefree. vendors were setting up for a fun w/e, at the same time as cave creek was having their rodeo. so something for everyone, only 5 minutes apart. we are staying @ a resort in central scottsdale, so it was an easy 45 drive there, and looking at how things have changed over the years along scottsdale road.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank jarmwr40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
931 reviews
353 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 319 helpful votes
“Definitely worth a visit”
Reviewed 17 February 2012

Good service, good food, nice outdoor atmosphere. Be sure to have the bread pudding for dessert - it's outstanding. Salads and sandwiches are all very good.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank sue o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
454 reviews
116 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“Quaint shopping, dining, strolling”
Reviewed 13 December 2011

Lots to see in this village-like corner. Playground, desert plants, paved paths, coffee shop, wine store, post office, and unique shops.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Twogreynomads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Carefree Sundial also viewed

Carefree, Central Arizona
Carefree, Central Arizona
 
Cave Creek, Central Arizona
Cave Creek, Central Arizona
 

Been to Carefree Sundial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing