We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Once visit is not going to be enough for us - Unbelievable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Boulders Resort & Spa, Curio Collection by Hilton
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Carefree
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 September 2012

We arrived for a short 2 night stay at the end of our 3.5 week trip to California and Arizona. Just driving through the gates to the main lodge makes you know you are in a very special place.

Booked using HH points and we received upgrade and vouchers due to being Diamond members. Got a great room on the edge of the South Course 6th Green and saw quail, gecko's and rabbits in the first 10 minutes, then we got lucky and the resident bobcat trotted across the green towards us.

Service is top of the line with all staff using your name and are attentive without being over-present. Just right.

Pool area is stunning and nice and quite for us. We dined at the Palo Verde restaurant and again service was first class and the meal fantastic. Played golf on the South Course and it was difficult but the score did not matter when playing somewhere like this.

Our room was also first class and whilst some may complain about little issues, we think this is people wanting to look for faults. This place is built around the desert, working with it to produce a unique resort and in our view must be in the top 3 in the world.

We regretted spending time at other hotels on our trip when we could have spent more time here. We will be back next year for 1-2 weeks of pure relaxation, top of the line service, great golf and spa and the most stunning setting of a hotel we have ever seen.

As said by a previous poster, put this on the 'must do' list.

One question for Trip Advisor - Can we have at least a '7 circle' rating for all the options just for this resort?

Room Tip: Casita 347 is stand alone, faces east for morning sun and over 6th green and can see loads of the de...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank judyteen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,259)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,653 - 1,659 of 2,259 reviews

Reviewed 26 September 2012

We have travelled extensively throughout the world and The Boulders just has to be the place to beat all places. We have just returned from our third visit and found it to be just as relaxing as previous visits with the same attention to detail. Whatever one looks for in a memorable vacation, whether it be spa treatments, fine dining, golf or just plain relaxation this is the place.
Yes, there is a resort fee, but to be fair the service provided justifies it.
Our stay was in a villa for two weeks and can be simply described as memorable.
We are now anticipating a return visit in 2013.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank MoirEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2012

All around impressive service. We wouldn't change a thing. From the moment we pulled up to the guard gate the staff was extremely courteous and friendly. My husband even commented as we pulled away "why aren't more customer relation people like him". This only set the stage for our entire visit. The checkin staff, concierge, pool attendants, golf cart drivers were all very personable, warm, and knowledgable. The villa was very comfortable, private and well furnished. I would definitely recommend taking a walk/stroll/hike through the boulders. It is an understatement to say they are massive and impressive. This was the perfect location for those living in the Phoenix area that desire a little R&R or those traveling here from far away looking for a piece of heaven in the desert.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank sktegge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2012

From the moment we arrived, we were quite impressed with The Boulders. The way the hotel is built into nature is truly amazing. The room was very spacious with nice decor. The hotel was in its slow season but the service was very attentive. They really go out of their way to accomodate you. The spa was the best! It had great classes and services with a wonderful organic cafe.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank free2sail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2012

Wonderful service. Spa pool was quiet, beautiful and never crowded. Free access to all fitness classes (yoga, strength training) with instructors as good or better than any private high-priced yoga studio I have been to. Staff in every area (reception desk, golf cart drivers (who showed up INSTANTLY with a phone call to whisk us away to any area of the resort), restaurants, bartenders) were incredibly accomodating and went out of their way to provide exceptional customer service.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LakeBluffer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

We stayed here for ASU parents weekend. Top shelf all the way. Our villa was on the 5th hole and it was fun to watch the golfers in the morning. The service is impeccable. Our room was not ready when we got there but it was a short wait and they gave us a complimentary drink while waiting. The landscaping is serene and the golf course was one of the best my husband ever played. We made us of the workout facility and the spa. A great and relaxing time. Do not miss the sunsets!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

The views & natural beauty of this resort are stunning and just what you want to see. However, the resort itself feels quite dated. A stale smell was very noticeable in the room. We had a Sonoran Casita. Bed was soft and I found it comfy, but I would imagine many people would find it too soft. Lighting, tile work, bathtub are super outdated. The TV was far from the bed so watching it while lounging in the bed was not really comfortable. Ceiling fan was difficult to adjust.

I "heard" that outside fires are not allowed during the time I was there due to fire dangers....I understand that. However, it would be nice to at least put some candles in the gorgeous outdoor fireplaces rather than just leaving them empty & dark. It would have added to the atmosphere....could have even used the "fake" candles if necessary. There was a campfire at a private function one night so I'm not sure what the "rule" is but I do know that any type of fire pit or campfire is great for gathering groups & certainly would have been a plus....

Service at the spa pool following a pricey massage was just average at best. I expect some extras at this level property...maybe a chilled towel perhaps? The beverage/food server came by only 2 times during a 4 hour afternoon. The spa is "nice" but again, I expect more for this level. There was no part of the massage experience that elevated it above the run of the mill experience....other than the price, that is. Neither pool area had a "wow" factor.

Food was "good". Not fabulous, not bad. There was not much music around the property....I realize it is a low-key resort but it sort of felt "dead".

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank traveltina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carefree
Troon North
Four Seasons Resort Scottsdale at Troon North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Desert Ridge
JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa
The Phoenician, Scottsdale
#20 of 75 in Scottsdale
2,200 reviews
Sanctuary Camelback Mountain
#1 of 5 in Paradise Valley
1,786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boulders Resort & Spa, Curio Collection by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boulders Resort & Spa, Curio Collection by Hilton

Address: 34631 N Tom Darlington Dr, Carefree, AZ 85262-3721
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Carefree
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Carefree
Price Range: £170 - £480 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Boulders Resort & Spa, Curio Collection by Hilton 5*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to a secluded haven amid the natural splendor of painted desert sand, towering cacti, and clear, blue sky - The Boulders. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, Prestigia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Boulders Resort & Spa, Curio Collection by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Boulders, a Waldorf Astoria Hotel Carefree
The Waldorf Astoria Collection Carefree
The Boulders Resort And Golden Door Spa
Boulders Resort & Spa, Curio Collection By Hilton Carefree, Arizona
The Boulders Resort Luxury
Boulder Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing