We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Getaway Place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Boulders Resort & Spa, Curio Collection by Hilton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Boulders Resort & Spa, Curio Collection by Hilton
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Carefree
Certificate of Excellence
Fort McMurray, Canada
1 review
“Great Getaway Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

My wife and I stayed here for four days and thought it was heaven on earth. The grounds were immaculate, the casita was spacious and clean, all of the staff were very polite and eager to help. The feel of the resort was more relaxing and private than a typical hotel. The large rock formations spread throughout the grounds were amazing as were the golf courses. Would go back again and highly recommend it to couples or families.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Helpful?
Thank Melinda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,999 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,353
    330
    163
    101
    52
See reviews for
334
1,005
78
214
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (369)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greenacres, Washington
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

This was our second trip to the Boulders, and all I can say is wow! We had originally booked our trip at another resort in the Phoenix area, but only managed to stay one night before wanting to move. The Boulders is quiet, secluded, and just what we needed to relax. The property is beautiful, and the service outstanding. They have added a text feature upon check-in; if you need anything you can send a text and they respond within seconds. We love the spa pool and it's over 18 age requirement; for those of us without kids it's nice to be able to enjoy a pool and have it be quiet. The food at the spa pool is also outstanding.

Room Tip: We were in room 285 which was a stand-alone casita. Very private with a lovely patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Danica P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBouldersCarefree, Manager at Boulders Resort & Spa, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear Danica P,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us in the serene and breathtaking high Sonoran Desert. We hope you enjoyed our new texting service to make your stay more enjoyable (and mobile). We are glad to hear that you also enjoyed our wonderful Waldorf Astoria Spa facilities which include our 18 and over Spa Pool, and our delectable spa cuisine at the Spa Café. Did you get the opportunity to try one of our many fitness classes that are complimentary for our resort guests? We hope you did!

Thank you again for sharing your experience with us, and we look forward to welcoming your return for a third time around!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

The Boulders is about 15-20 minutes north of Scottsdale, which gives the property a more secluded, genuine and altogether special vibe compared to the homogenized, seen-it-all-before resorts that dot the Phoenix area. It is a true 5-star resort, and because it is further out in the desert, away from shopping malls, poodles and drive-throughs, the vibe is decidedly more Carefree, and less Scottsdale.

From the moment you pull up at the main lodge, the resort staff is attentive and friendly, and upon actually checking into your room, you find a warm and cozy timber-framed cottage with spacious bathroom and closets, a sitting area with wood-burning fire and comfy bed(s).

Paths connect blocks of cottages to the resort's facilities, so be prepared to walk a little bit. The desert views in the day and brilliant stars at night are your reward.

There are 2 golf courses; both are kept in great shape with the North (if I remember correctly) being the longer course. It incorporates the desert as a natural hazard more often, making it slightly more memorable. Several dining and lounge options are on the property or within walking distance, and there were nightly singer-with-guitar sessions in the lounge, offering a fitting end to a hot day. The only complaint is that the lounge was consistently under-staffed: it took a long time to both place an order and to receive it.

I will be back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alex M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

We recently stayed at the Boulders in Carefree AZ and it was an amazing and luxurious stay. The Casita room was gorgeous, the ground were impeccable and the pool area stunning. It was the most relaxing vacation ever! It is also expensive but worth every cent.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Helpful?
Thank Denise Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ontario, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

We really loved this place, everyone was so very friendly and helpful in every way..would definitely go back.. the grounds are very beautiful and well kept. I had a great experience at the spa..very nice place to have a massage and facial..very attentive the staff was there..and the restaurant service was great and so was the staff there very friendly.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Helpful?
Thank Miguel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
70 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

Many resorts claim to be 5 star and I always wonder how much some of them pay to get that !! The Boulders is a true 5 star resort. Everything from check in to check out is of top quality. It is pricey but if you want the best, stay here..

Room Tip: There all good, no worrys
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kkmail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

My wife and I stayed at a one bedroom villa..it's a separate unit with a garage, very modern, 2 baths. You can sit out on the covered patio at anytime and it's so quite, no motorcycles, no cars racing around, no dogs barking. The only thing you would hear beside the birds would be a electric golf cart every now and then. It had 3 tv's which we never turned on. If you want to get away and relax in comfort..this is the place!

Room Tip: We have stayed in the casitas, one bedroom villas and a 3 bedroom house.the villas and houses and in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mccleskd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBouldersCarefree, Manager at Boulders Resort & Spa, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Dear Mccleskd. Thank you for sharing your experience with us! We are glad to hear that you and your wife enjoyed your stay with us in our spacious one-bedroom villa. We are glad our serene desert locale provided you and your wife a quiet and relaxing getaway. We hope you were able to enjoy our championship golf, world-class tennis facilities, and our top-notch spa services. Thank you again, and we look forward to welcoming your return to The Boulders.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carefree
Sanctuary Camelback Mountain
#1 of 5 in Paradise Valley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Troon North
Four Seasons Resort Scottsdale at Troon North
Camelback East
Royal Palms Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boulders Resort & Spa, Curio Collection by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boulders Resort & Spa, Curio Collection by Hilton

Property: Boulders Resort & Spa, Curio Collection by Hilton
Address: 34631 N. Tom Darlington Drive, Carefree, AZ 85263
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Carefree
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Carefree
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Boulders Resort & Spa, Curio Collection by Hilton 5*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to a secluded haven amid the natural splendor of painted desert sand, towering cacti, and clear, blue sky - The Boulders. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hilton Hotels Direct, Agoda, TravelUp and Hotels.com so you can book your Boulders Resort & Spa, Curio Collection by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Boulders, a Waldorf Astoria Hotel Carefree
The Waldorf Astoria Collection Carefree
The Boulders Resort And Golden Door Spa
Boulders Resort & Spa, Curio Collection By Hilton Carefree, Arizona
The Boulders Resort Luxury
Boulder Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing