We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great getaway spot”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Boulders Resort & Spa, Curio Collection by Hilton
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Carefree
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 August 2014

My fiance and I went here this past weekend and we had a wonderful time. The resort is tucked away about a 40 minute ride from Phoenix airport. From the moment you reach the gate you feel the warm welcome. The room itself is very nice. We were a little worried when we were brought to our room and the bellhop brought out his flashlight and was searching for "little critters". It made us feel slightly uncomfortable for a little. Besides that the room was good. We walked around the resort a lot. They have a nature path, I recommend walking it in the morning to look at all the beautiful plants. If you don't like walking they always have shuttles driving around the resort. We were always asked every time we were out walking, but politely declined.
The spa looked wonderful... the prices were a little expensive, but not a surprise since it's a Waldorf. The gym is located in the spa... good equipment and clean. They also have a pool behind the spa... we never went to that one, but it looked very nice. We went to the pool the one day behind the main lobby. The chairs are very comfortable. There are servers that are continuously walking around if you would like drinks or food brought to you while you are lounging. I had one of there drinks... pricy for the size of the drink you actually get since its mainly ice.
We were skeptical to eat at the restaurants on the resort since reading all the reviews. We still have mixed feelings. Probably the best restaurant was the Spotted Donkey. We ate there twice.. it was over-priced for Mexican food, but it was at least good and the service was good. I wouldn't recommend The Grill. We were so disappointed. The food was hard and over cooked and the staff seemed more interested in other things. I would have given them the benefit of doubt, but we heard the tables around us complaining as well. The lady next to us stopped eating her food, called the waitress over and said " I know it's off season, but this is not acceptable", as she tapped her rock hard sandwich bread and broke her dry french fry in half. We felt the same exact way, but was so famished we needed to eat something. So maybe when it's season this restaurant will be better?
We played a round of 9 on the north golf course. The views and course were great. The rental clubs weren't bad. I would recommend it just so you can see the course, even if you don't like playing golf. The view from the 9th hole is beautiful!
So over-all I would definitely recommend it. However, if you have kids you should probably consider a different resort. Although there were a couple children there, they are very out-of-place. Especially noticed this at the pool... it is quite, people are relaxing, drinking, etc. Just trust me, everyone looks at you like, why are they here. It could have just been that family since the father was yelling at his child...it was very awkward, the pool was full and every person was watching. So my recommendation, let this be a wonderful romantic getaway for you :)

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Tiffani N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBouldersCarefree, Manager at Boulders Resort & Spa, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Dear Tiffani N,

Thank you for sharing your romantic weekend getaway experience! We hope you enjoyed all our beautiful resort has to offer from our four pools, world-class Golf, and 33,000 square foot Waldorf Astoria Spa. For your next visit to The Boulders, if you are coming during “off season” we have amazing specials at the spa for you and your fiance to enjoy, as well as amazing rates for our breathtaking courses. And please accept our sincerest apologies for any inconvenience you may have experienced dining at our restaurants and lounges, we are grateful for your honest feedback and assure you we will address the issues you so kindly brought to our attention.

Best Regards,
The Boulders Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,212)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,066 - 1,072 of 2,212 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2014

We truly enjoyed our trip to the Boulders. This was one of our "staycations" in the Phoenix Metro area. The resort itself has the most stunning landscape of mountains and saguaros. The Boulders is more like a desert paradise than a hotel. It is quintessential Arizona.. The casitas are very large and our room had a great view. We heard nothing but the sounds of birds. My husband and I were totally relaxed and did not want to go back home - only 30 minutes away. The food was very good. The staff extremely friendly and helpful. Next time, we will try the spa. I would highly recommend the Boulders if you are looking for true relaxation in the desert.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank swiftlysaid38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBouldersCarefree, Manager at Boulders Resort & Spa, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Dear swiftlysaid38,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your “staycation” at The Boulders. We hope you were able to experience all our 33,000 acre resort has to offer from spacious accommodations, to breathtaking views of the high Sonoran Desert, to our world-class golf and our amazing Waldorf Astoria Spa. We will share your kind words with our staff as we strive to exceed our guests expectations in service. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming your return.

Best Regards,
The Boulders Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

Nothing in the valley equals the Boulders, people come from all over the world to take advantage of its peaceful enviroment. All the rooms are Casitas scattered around the main area as well as their world famous Spa and golf courses.
You can look forward to viewing all the stacks of natural boulders and on occasion desert wildlife on premise.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank robert f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBouldersCarefree, Manager at Boulders Resort & Spa, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Dear robert f,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us! We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your peaceful stay with us at The Boulders. We hope you were able to experience our world-class golf, amazing spa facilities, and enjoy the flora and fauna that live here at The Boulders.

Best Regards,
The Boulders Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

We were looking for a place to relax and enjoy family time and we found it; this place was amazing; it had everything we needed; the staff was nice, the place and rooms were clean and the meals and drinks were delicious. Great place to go hiking or hi just relax.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
Thank Supermom926
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014

This was our first desert vacation and the property of The Boulders was beautiful. The spa and the yoga classes were also top notch, as was the swimming pool nearby. The downer was the hotel food, which was average at best. Because we were there at the end of May, there were few area restaurants open. It was amazingly cheap due to the off-season pricing.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank KathLor1927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Boulders from 08/19/14-08/21/14. We arrived, parked our car at the valet and went inside to check in. The lobby area had two check-in desks, a small bar, two kinds of infused water, restaurant and a concierge, There is a beautiful large fireplace in the lobby and another one outside. The main pool and hot tub is also located behind the building. I can only imagine how nice those fireplaces must be in the winter. In the summer months it is illegal to have fires in both the outside and inside fireplaces. Check in went smoothly and we were given casita number 279, a king room with a desert view. The valet loaded our luggage on to a golf cart and drove us to our room. On the way to the room the valet informed us about the hotel. The resort will seem huge and does take some getting used to but you'll find out that it isn't that difficult to navigate. At check-in you will be given a map of the resort to help you find your way if needed. The valet showed us into our room and also informed us about the room and how to reach valet if we needed a ride somewhere in the resort or to have our car retrieved. The room itself is huge, it has a king bed, a sitting area with two leather chairs, a desk, fireplace, walk-in closet, a large bathroom with separate tub and shower and two sinks. There was also a safe, hair dryer, luggage stand, and a patio with a table, two chairs and a lounge chair. We had a nice view of the dessert and the mountains off in the distance. A road runs behind the room in the distance which you can barely see or hear. This particular room is very close to the spa, which has an adults only pool and hot tub. During the summer months some of the restaurants aren't open or have reduced hours. Make sure you call to find out if they are open before you go. No one told us about this and one night we wanted to go to the Grille and only found it was closed when we got the lobby. If you don't want an expensive meal at the restaurant you can sit by the bar and get a burger for 15 bucks. We would have liked to know about this option as well but again, no one told us. If you like rye whiskey they have a nice rock candy and spice infused rye whiskey drink for 8 dollars. This is a bargain considering a beer is 7 dollars. There is a shuttle you can take to the Spotted Donkey, a Mexican restaurant. We ate there one night and had the fajitas, two margheritas, chips and salsa. The food was good but the bill was $80 which I thought was a bit high for what we got. Another thing to be aware of, is that housekeeping will not change your sheets for 3 night unless you put a card on the bed indicating you want them changed. That's fine, but someone should let the customer know this. We had no idea and would have preferred to have ours changed. We never did because we didn't know until the last day when we happened to see the card. The grounds are really fun just to walk around in. There is a sunset viewing area you can walk to and take some beautiful pictures. Make sure you have your camera out and on at all times while walking the grounds. While there we saw a coyote, road runner, rabbits, deer, and several types of other birds. While walking around, we also noticed that the valet employees drive rather quickly. I know that they are very busy and have a lot of customers to help but they need to drive slower with everyone walking around especially children. There is a resort fee at the Boulders which covers valet tips and use of the fitness room and the locker room amenities. These amenities include a steam room, sauna, showers, warming pool, and relaxation area. The spa itself is huge about 30,000 square feet I believe. I really enjoyed using it. We spent all our time at the adults only pool. It wasn't crowded, the pool is good size, there is water and ice, and a hot tub. If you want peace and quiet this is a great place to go. There is pool side service and you can get food or a drink here. The food you get a the spa is geared towards being healthy and is good. We had oatmeal in the morning and chicken wraps and salad for lunch. We didn't play golf but the golf course looked awesome. If you play golf you won't be disappointed. The positives of this resort overwhelm the negatives I pointed out. I would definitely come back and stay longer if I do.

Room Tip: If you like the spa, and want to use the adults only pool, get a room on that end of the resort, so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jellyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014

We met some friends here for a weekend getaway. Living in Central Phoenix I rarely get to see stars. I was able to see plenty out here! The casitas are nice and feel very private even though they are attached to several others. We saw a beautiful owl coming in. Loved watching the family of quail and jackrabbits on the back patio. The people upstairs also obviously liked the patio as we found ashes all over the furniture outside. The pools are on the smallish side. There are three of them, we visited two. The one outside the main lodge had very comfortable furniture but was a bit noisy. The one by the spa was less noisy and the chairs were nice but not cushy. Our dinner reservations were messed up twice. Annoying but it worked out. The spa was fabulous and the workout room was nice. Lockers are great. The grounds were beautiful and the staff helpful and friendly. We will be returning!!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Missy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carefree
Troon North
Four Seasons Resort Scottsdale at Troon North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boulders Resort & Spa, Curio Collection by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boulders Resort & Spa, Curio Collection by Hilton

Address: 34631 N. Tom Darlington Drive, Carefree, AZ 85262
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Carefree
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Carefree
Price Range: £236 - £474 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Boulders Resort & Spa, Curio Collection by Hilton 5*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to a secluded haven amid the natural splendor of painted desert sand, towering cacti, and clear, blue sky - The Boulders. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Expedia, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Boulders Resort & Spa, Curio Collection by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Boulders, a Waldorf Astoria Hotel Carefree
The Waldorf Astoria Collection Carefree
The Boulders Resort And Golden Door Spa
Boulders Resort & Spa, Curio Collection By Hilton Carefree, Arizona
The Boulders Resort Luxury
Boulder Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing