We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic. Stunning Desert surroundings”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Boulders Resort & Spa, Curio Collection by Hilton
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Carefree
Certificate of Excellence
New York City
Level 6 Contributor
274 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 624 helpful votes
“Fantastic. Stunning Desert surroundings”
Reviewed 18 September 2007

The Boulders is a world class resort. The casitas are adorned in southwestern furniture and art. The golf courses are unbelievably beautiful and challenging. I can't imagine better maintained courses. The golfing staff is so service oriented and professional. The many restaurants, while not Michelin star quality, are very nice and again all in wonderful settings.

The spa is world class with talented professionals. My wife enjoyed her work outs in a completely up to date gym and the various facials and massages were all excellent.

The tennis center is likewise excellent and very professional--but tennis is truly secondary to the golf.

The beds, pillows, linens are all first quality. Perhaps the most spectacular aspect of the Boulders were the gardens and landscaping. The desert is so beautiful, colorful and filled with strange varieties of plants and animals. This was the real treat of our vacation.

Finally, the sunsets were simply breathtaking. A glass of wine out on the veranda each evening with the fiery sky as a background was heavenly.

We'll be back gladly to the Boulders.

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank laabis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,156 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,428
    363
    185
    114
    66
See reviews for
370
1,083
84
228
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (386)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yuma, AZ
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2007

Loved this place and can't wait to go back and will tell everyone about it. First of all, when you arrive at the registration desk, you realize what tranquility is. So peaceful and beautiful rock formations. What a relaxing stay. The people here are so friendly. Once we went to the room, we didn't want to get back in the car and go into "town" so we walked to the shopping area in front of the resort. Had Ben and Jerry's and came back to the room and ordered room service. The beds were heavenly. Slept like a baby. Alway relaxed in the garden tub. We went to the pool the next day and marveled at the surroundings. What a nice place to spend some time. The golf course was nice too. We just loved all the little critters around the resort. When we called for anything, bellman or room service, we had great service. Gratituties are included in the price of the room, but we had great service and chose to tip additionally. We loved going into Cave Creek or Carefree to look around. We got a smokin' deal through Hotwire. I can't wait to go back someday!

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
Thank justmewonderinginyuma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2007

Natural beauty, great golf and tennis, superlative spa, and excellent service combine to make this a unique resort. Stayed in a three-bedroom villa with all the amenities. This is a resort for people who enjoy a natural habitat filled with birds, rabbits, roadrunners, lizards, and a few coyotes. Two spectacular golf courses and a very accommodating golf staff. You don't have to tip to get good service because a service charge covers most gratuities. Have been going to this resort for several years. Since it has changed ownership a couple of times in the past few years, The Boulders top management has struggled to maintain continuity in its upper echelon. The service used to be spectacular--now it is only very good. Money is being spent to upgrade the villas and the casitas. The tennis courts have been re-surfaced and the driving range has been expanded. There's new equipment in the fitness center too. A new top chef in Latilla, the gourmet restaurant on premises, has made Latilla a first-rate restaurant. There are two main pools for everyone, and a private pool for villa residents. Transportation on premises, provided by the staff, has slowed considerably. They used to pick you up within five minutes of a call, but now you can wait 20 or 30 minutes sometimes. This is not a posh or glitzy resort, but rather a classy "natural" place to play, relax and be pampered. If you are drawn to desert surroundings, like wildlife, play golf or tennis, and enjoy spa services, this may very well be the best resort for you in the United States.

  • Liked — Villas are beautiful houses
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Mervmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, PA
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2007

Hotel is very unique. Property is not 1 large hotel but many separate villas. These are built within the surrounding boulders and landscape so are very spread out. Two golf courses on-site as well as a shopping area and restaurants. The views were phenomenal and the property was well kept. There is not much around the property, the closest dining and activities are on-site.
Spa was not the best and prices seemed higher than other resorts I've visited. The spa was clean but staff was not very accomodating.
Rooms were large with fireplaces and service was great. However the walk to the rooms was far and at night the lighting up the pathways to the rooms was sparse. However there were golf carts that were utilized to shuttle visitors to their rooms.
Overall enjoyed my stay and would recommend it to others.

  • Liked — The views were out of this world
  • Disliked — darkness of pathways to rooms at night
  • Stayed January 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Mary_Phila_PA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
husum
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 August 2007

We, as a family; have had a fantastic experience staying at the Boulders. Coming from northern europe to Arizone is, in itself, quite an experience. The icing on the cake was most certainly our stay at the Boulders. The friendly and relaxing atmosphere, the beautiful surroundings, the delicious meals- every little detail (here a big thank you to the early morning staff- a coffee before an early morning pick-up, what thoughtfulness!! ) that makes life so enjoyable, contributed to making our stay a most memerable event. Thank you to all the Boulders staff for making it happen!!!

  • Liked — Absolutly everything!!!!!
  • Disliked — -----
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Melocarstens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sierra Vista, AZ
1 review
Reviewed 18 August 2007

My husband and I stayed at The Boulders for two nights to celebrate our 1st anniversary, since we never had a honeymoon.
The Boulders was an amazing place for us to stay. I was concerned that because it was a five-star resort that the staff would be "snooty" towards our lower-middle class income. Boy was I wrong! Everyone was so incredibley courteous and accomodating to all of our needs. We had a gorgeous room with a spectacular view of the beautiful golf course, we even got to see bunnies and quail up close. We got the couple's massage at the Golden Door Spa and it was so relaxing and nice to have my husband close by while we enjoyed being rubbed down and even got use of a private whirlpool. The room service was awesome but unfortunately we didn't get to dine in any of the restaurants. The views, the staff and the overall ambiance was truly a great luxury for us. We even got a great deal booking a package directly with the hotel that no other trip website could beat. I would most certainly reccomend The Boulders to anyone and definitely agree that it is a five-star classy resort.
-Nikole S., Sierra Vista, AZ

  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nikole0725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pinetop, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2007

stayed there for a weekend - wished it was a week - resort fee covers tipping for bellmen, etc. - spotted donkey pork tenderloin was to die for as well as the prickly pear margaritas - nice place without the kitsch and glitsch that so many hotel resorts do nowadays - spa and workout room are excellent as well (included in resort fee) - go there... you won't be disappointed in the least - staff friendly without being pretentious - an absolutely marvelous weekend getaway -

  • Liked — spa and QUIET
  • Disliked — internet access by front desk is 4.95 for 15 minutes - kinda weak....
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank podoho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carefree
Troon North
Four Seasons Resort Scottsdale at Troon North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boulders Resort & Spa, Curio Collection by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boulders Resort & Spa, Curio Collection by Hilton

Property: Boulders Resort & Spa, Curio Collection by Hilton
Address: 34631 N. Tom Darlington Drive, Carefree, AZ 85262
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Carefree
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Carefree
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Boulders Resort & Spa, Curio Collection by Hilton 5*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to a secluded haven amid the natural splendor of painted desert sand, towering cacti, and clear, blue sky - The Boulders. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Boulders Resort & Spa, Curio Collection by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Boulders, a Waldorf Astoria Hotel Carefree
The Waldorf Astoria Collection Carefree
The Boulders Resort And Golden Door Spa
Boulders Resort & Spa, Curio Collection By Hilton Carefree, Arizona
The Boulders Resort Luxury
Boulder Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing