We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good for breakfast”

Black Mountain Coffee Shop
Ranked #14 of 28 Restaurants in Carefree
Price range: US$6 - US$12
Cuisines: Fast food
Description: Black Mountain Coffee Shop Completely remodeled Kitchen, Restaurant Dining Room, and Outdoor Dining Patio, Seating capacity of 94 Persons, We are the original restaurant to Carefree which makes us the Oldest Name in Town of Carefree!. This is where the locals hang out and have breakfast on a daily basis. Best breakfast and lunch in town at the most affordable prices around for the area. Normal food without all the Hoopla or over pricing! We do sell Coffee Mugs! perfect gift for the Tourist's to take home. Freshly Made Food for each order. Best Biscuits and Gravy in the Area, Homemade soups, salads, Homemade Cinnamon Rolls, Try make your own Omelet on our menu option! French Toast, Eggs, Salads, Kale salads, BLT's, Hamburgers, Patty Melt, Vienna Italian Beef Sandwiches, Vienna beef Chicago Hot Dogs, French fry's, Onion Rings, Chili, Pork Tenderloin Sandwiches, Chicken Fritter Steaks, Steaks & Eggs, Hash Browns, Home fries, Chicken Filets, Ham Steaks, Ice-cream,
Restaurant details
Description: Black Mountain Coffee Shop Completely remodeled Kitchen, Restaurant Dining Room, and Outdoor Dining Patio, Seating capacity of 94 Persons, We are the original restaurant to Carefree which makes us the Oldest Name in Town of Carefree!. This is where the locals hang out and have breakfast on a daily basis. Best breakfast and lunch in town at the most affordable prices around for the area. Normal food without all the Hoopla or over pricing! We do sell Coffee Mugs! perfect gift for the Tourist's to take home. Freshly Made Food for each order. Best Biscuits and Gravy in the Area, Homemade soups, salads, Homemade Cinnamon Rolls, Try make your own Omelet on our menu option! French Toast, Eggs, Salads, Kale salads, BLT's, Hamburgers, Patty Melt, Vienna Italian Beef Sandwiches, Vienna beef Chicago Hot Dogs, French fry's, Onion Rings, Chili, Pork Tenderloin Sandwiches, Chicken Fritter Steaks, Steaks & Eggs, Hash Browns, Home fries, Chicken Filets, Ham Steaks, Ice-cream,
edinburgh,scotland
Level Contributor
261 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“good for breakfast”
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Visited carefree mainly because of the name. Nice little "artisty: town . Very laid back.
Wanted breakfast and found this place before looking at the reviews as we could sit outside and enjoy the sunshine.
Varied menu and had biscuits and gravy . Huge portion and biscuits freshly made and crumbly . Wife had the chilli dog and this really looked tasty and got good ratings
No pressure . Take as long as you want at table and server kept refilling coffee
Lots of locals there
Recommended

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jonlam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    29
    14
    2
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Carefree
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
“Black Mountain Coffee Shop is GREAT!”
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Black Mountain Coffee Shop in Spanish Village near the Sundial in Carefree, AZ. is a fantastic ma and pa type restaurant. I've been going there for breakfast and lunch since the 70's and it is so good that you'll see many of the same people there day after day after day. I LOVE the breakfasts, the food comes out smokin" hot in large portions and good quality. These guys can really cook! Fast and efficient servers and moderate prices make this a good value for your buck. You'll never find a more personable owner than Shelly and she really keeps this place on the A+ level. Don't miss out on this, it's great!!
Russ C, Carefree, AZ.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Russ C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Simple and delicious”
Reviewed 6 August 2013

The reviews on-line made us realize this was a definite place to try for breakfast, and we were so glad we did. We've been there 3 mornings in a row. It is small with a few basic choices but more than ample for breakfast fare. The service is friendly and fast...yet you are not rushed out the door when you've finished eating. They gladly bring more coffee until you're ready to go. The food is fantastic...perfectly made eggs, huge fluffy pancakes that are absolutely delicious, homemade biscuits that are just as light and fluffy with sausage gravy that is very good (it was a bit "peppery" for my taste but very tasty). And the french toast is perfect as well. This quaint cafe beats the chain breakfast diners and over-priced resorts by a mile. It isn't a 99 cent breakfast but for roughly $10 a person, it's a breakfast that kept us going until dinner. We will definitely be back before we head home.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank funnybunny131313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cave Creek
Level Contributor
151 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“CUTE PLACE, GOOD FOOD, BETTER SERVICE.”
Reviewed 6 June 2013

This breakfast and lunch spot is typical of the area in that they only accept CASH. The prices are quite reasonable and the coffee is excellent. We were too late for breakfast, so we opted for the lunch special, pictured with this review. There is significant outdoor seating with mountain views, but in the summer, you will want to plant yourself inside. Cute decor and a rounded menu await. The servers are outgoing and on top of your needs. Definitely on our list of regular stops here. But if it is after 11:30, it is lunch menu time. The kitchen is too small to handle both.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MarcusCaveCreek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scottsdale az
Level Contributor
75 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Might be located at the corner or Ho and Hum Streets but anything but a ho hum diner”
Reviewed 25 May 2013

A hidden gem in the Spanish Village of Carefree but worthwhile to ferret out for delicious diner type fare. It was a hot day so we ate inside this hobbit hole of a place which is cooled, clean, cute and just right for a non rushed breakfast to linger over whether reading the newspaper or an ebook . Dog owners very welcome as there is a seating area outside where doggie parents can congregate with stainless steel water bowls provided near the tables so they can eat breakfast with their fur babies. The menu is retro and comforting with portions very large. The coffee is very hot and mellow and I would never think of not having milk in mine, I did have it sans-dairy and I didnt miss it and absolutely loved it. The menu is straight forward with only about 3 "plates" and omelets, and various usual breakfast offerings. Nothing, and I mean nothing is usual because everything is ESPECIALLY DELICIOUS made from scratch and offered with pride. The cinnabun is huge and slathered with just the right amount of frosting and begs to be ripped into curly ribbons with the most tasty cinnamon gooiness imaginable. Caution though, they are large so maybe sharing one is the way to go and then moving on to your plated breakfast is wise. Their biscuits are large and fluffy and the gravy is sooo good with little bits of sausage and rather than white an attractive creamy tan color. When you order your eggs here you can be sure they are perfect, just the way you want them. If all this breakfast heaven wasn't enough, they serve lunch. The outdoor seating is plentiful and many locals come here very regularly year after year. Nothing fancy but everything at this gem feels just perfectly spot on. We were served by a seasoned waitress dishing out excellent service and attention. The coffee was topped off nicely throughout the breakfast. We almost choked when handed the bill. The prices were rather low for a most satisfying and memorable breakfast attested to by the smiles of the tourists and millionaire cowboys grinning at the tables. All I can say is what a pleasure this visit was and I will be back many times as a regular. Open from 6 am and a perfect start to your day of traveling or having fun the area. Credit cards NOT taken at this establishment to keep prices low I guess.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank seri0ustraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Black Mountain Coffee Shop also viewed

Cave Creek, Central Arizona
Cave Creek, Central Arizona
 
Carefree, Central Arizona
Carefree, Central Arizona
 
Carefree, Central Arizona
Cave Creek, Central Arizona
 

Been to Black Mountain Coffee Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing