We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Desert Oasis”

Cartwright's Modern Cuisine
Reserve with OpenTable
Cartwright's Modern Cuisine is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 79 Restaurants in Cave Creek
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Bar Scene
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Cartwright’s Modern Cuisine honors the spirit of Arizona’s ranching days with rustic yet upscale dining. Located on Saguaro Hill and overlooking Black Mountain and the Sonoran desert foothills, the restaurant’s ambience inside is as captivating as the setting outside. At Cartwright’s Modern Cuisine, a hacienda style dining room, enclosed patio and private wine room boast artistic touches such as straw-packed walls, sandstone and slate accents, woodwork from local mesquite, and a wood-burning fireplace in each room. The interior recalls the original ranch house built by Jackson (Manford) Cartwright in the early 1900s. His father, “Red” Cartwright, was a pioneering cattle rancher in Cave Creek in the late 1800s. The family ranch operated for three generations and more than a century, and is still in use today. Chefs continue this tradition with all-natural meats, including Arizona beef, Colorado range-fed lamb, and North American elk and buffalo slow-cooked over a crackling mesquite wood fire. Also enjoy fresh seafood, house-made bread and desserts, a Wine Spectator Award-winning wine list and fine whiskies, bourbons and Scotches. Cartwright’s is available for private events and off-site catering. Reservations are recommended.
Missoula, Montana
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Desert Oasis”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Companion restaurant to Tonto's at Rancho Manana has an excellent menu, solicitous servers and a wine list to suit all tastes and pocketbooks. Food was well prepared and presented; portions were generous. Service may have been a little too fast, as it seemed the moment we finished our appetizers, the main course appeared. We weren't in that much of a hurry!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank ChefJimG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    188
    84
    24
    16
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Want some local flavor? It doesn't get any better.”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

This is one of two restaurants in Cave Creek I always frequent with out of town guests, whether family, friends or business associates. The other is Bryan's Barbeque. Bryans is good for casual dining, Cartwrights is more formal.

Both the ambiance and the food make have a genuine high Sonoran Desert, Arizona flavor.
I've been a patron for over ten years and have yet to have a bad experience or meal. I can't think of too many restaurants I can say that about.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FatElvisimpersonator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“nice decor”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The best about this restaurant was the inside typical design of the West! Otherwise, the food was ok, portions ok, the local beers were very good but the service not so good... we were a group of 10 and they forgot about our separate bills... very long service to all pay our bills and the restaurant was empty...

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Genny26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Wayne, IN
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great variety for carnivores or vegans”
Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

Great atmosphere. Nice bar area but seating area very nice also. Nice variety of hummus and good salads. Great ribeye steak. 3 medallions of different tenderloins were the best we've ever tasted. Loved the side dish of a kind of sweet potato hash! Dessert fell short as mango strawberry chimichanga only had 1 strawberry, too little mango and an almost tasteless filling. For $11, a dessert should be fabulous!
Moscow Mule drink was a little bitter and light on the vodka. But would give this restaurant a second try.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank c0rgi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
237 reviews
158 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Very good service and creative, tasty menu well prepared”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Everything about this restaurant was enjoyable - food, service, atmosphere. A bit pricey but not more than would be charged for similar fare elsewhere. We've eaten there several times and usually I order the steak (ribeye - excellent, better than Mastro and Dominic's) but this time I was in the mood for fish. Normally, I would never order fish in a steakhouse but I took a chance. The Rainbow trout was delicious, cooked to perfection and the quinoa side was flavorful and fresh.

Service was attentive and informative. Cocktails were creative and delicious. Also, they have an espresso machine and can make cappuccino - something that is very hard to find in Scottsdale and environs.

The only negative about this place is that they don't have outdoor seating. This time of the year, it is such a treat to sit out under the stars and enjoy a great meal. However, you can't really hold that against them and the quality of the food and service makes up for problem. Inside, the atmosphere is warm and cozy - and there is a private dining area that holds about 12 people.

Give it a try - you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Coltsneck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cartwright's Modern Cuisine also viewed

Cave Creek, Central Arizona
Carefree, Central Arizona
 
Cave Creek, Central Arizona
 
Cave Creek, Central Arizona
Cave Creek, Central Arizona
 

Been to Cartwright's Modern Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing